We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Green Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #12 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Green Hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Very modern and cutting-edge. Cozy. Great housekeepers. Zen. Clean. Solar water heating. Tasty breakfast. Friendly staff. Large showers. The hotel owner is like the "Steve Jobs of Hotels". I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvd_ca_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    310
    59
    15
    4
See reviews for
225
662
112
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pro:
Cordial staff
Nice, spacious, clean room
Amazing bed
Only EUR 30 for an afternoon check-out :)

Con:
Location isn't ideal as there is little in the way of nearby nice bars / restaurants. Taxi into town EUR 10-15.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It all started out so nicely. We arrived on a Friday and checked into the hotel with no problems. As we went to our room (Room 2), I noticed that it was very close to the lobby and wondered if that would be a problem. One of our children managed to find some chocolate which had been dropped by the previous occupants of the room on floor…hmmm…did vacuuming occur when the room was cleaned? A drink dispensing machine (2 metres away from our room door) and the left luggage room (door immediately adjacent to our room door) were also noted. The first night passed uneventfully.

That was until about 6:30am on Saturday morning when the door to the left luggage room started being opened and slammed closed. This happened about 6 times in 30 minutes before we gave up on sleeping and decided to go for breakfast. The breakfast was excellent... I would rate it in the top 10 of breakfast buffets I have ever experienced. The service was friendly and the quality was good (so it was not all bad at the hotel).

After a day in Vienna we returned to the hotel and retired for the night. There were many people in the lobby and the noise level was high. At about 10:00pm we called the front desk to complain about the noise and were assured that the people in the lobby would be asked to tone it down. Perhaps they were asked to do that but there was no change in the volume. I can see the point of the people in the lobby as they were in the lobby where noise should be acceptable. The location of Room 2 is the problem. IT SHOULD NOT BE A HOTEL ROOM. On any particular night there is the potential for a high level of noise from the lobby. This is enhanced by the fact the hotel sells wine for guests to have in the lobby and of course the drink dispensing machine is located near Room 2 and adjacent to the lobby. Imagine a full lobby and lots of people either drinking wine or obtaining drinks from the machine (large banging sound when this occurs). It was impossible to sleep. Then imagine how happy you would be if there was a party going on in the room next to yours and you could not sleep.

I went to the Front Desk to complain in person at about 11:00pm. The receptionist on duty was completely useless and incompetent to put it mildly. The standard response to my complaints was that she “could not do anything” about the noise. Hmmmm…let’s see….we are paying for our stay at this hotel and cannot sleep because of excessive noise in the lobby and this is somehow deemed acceptable by the person on duty. Absolutely ridiculous! Even more insulting was her sneering smile that showed me she really did not care. I eventually got the receptionist to call the front desk manager. She was somewhat helpful. Initially she stated that we would not have to pay for the night’s stay. Fair enough however this did still not solve the excessive noise problem and there was no possibility of sleeping. Finally, she said that she would tell the receptionist that the people in the lobby would have to leave (again not those people’s fault but the fault of the hotel for even considering Room 2 as being in an acceptable location). She also said she would like to meet us in person the next morning. At approximately 12:30am the noise finally stopped and we were able to sleep.

That was until 6:30am when once again the door to the left luggage room was in full operation… I counted 14 slams in 30 minutes ….not so good for continuing to sleep.
Breakfast was again good and then we met with the front desk manager. She apologized for our horrible experience and seemed to be very genuine. She said that she could not offer us the 100% off on the room for the previous night but 50% instead (I’m still a bit puzzled as to why that came about). In addition, she offered to move our family into a junior suite for the next night with the only problem being that the four of us would all be in the same room instead of two separate sleeping rooms). I did not hesitate as I thought this arrangement could not possibly be worse than what we endured the previous night.

The junior suite was nice however the hairball on the bathroom floor again made me wonder about the thoroughness of the cleaning staff. The sleep was uneventful although the bed that was setup for the children was just some folded down reclining chairs (that is the best description I can provide) and not really beds. They did not fold entirely flat which led to a not so pleasant sleep experience for our children.

We actually considered leaving our luggage at the hotel but decided the train station would be better. We checked out and again received an apology from the front desk manager. We also received an email from the General Manager who also apologized for our unpleasant experience.

That is the way it was…. not a very pleasant experience to say the least. If you are thinking of staying here ....make sure Room 2 is not assigned to you.

Room Tip: Demand a different room if the hotel tries to put you in Room 2. The lobby noise and left baggage r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Manager at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mr Wayne,

Thank you for stating your feedback on tripadvisor! I am deeply sorry about your disappointment regarding your stay with us. I fully understand that a good night sleep is the least you can expect when staying in a hotel.

Please rest assured that your case was discussed in our team meetings in depth and we have already implemented some changes in order to avoid such uncomfortable situations in the future. We have now got a new luggage room in the basement, wide away from any hotel rooms and improvements on the vending machine have also been made. We would have liked to offer you a room change into a different (family) room on this Saturday night, but were unfortunately fully booked, the best possible alternative was to offer you an upgrade into our Junior Suite for the following night, as our second family room was also occupied.

Regarding the payment of your room I am sure that it must have been a misunderstanding. Our Front Office Manager assured you that she would find a solution regarding the room rate for the night. When you met her the next morning, she explained that a full refund was not possible but that she could offer you a 50% discount on the room rate of the night.

Please accept our apologies also regarding the lack of cleanliness in both rooms, which is certainly not our standard at all. We would all be very grateful if you consider giving us another opportunity to prove that we can do much better. Should you visit Vienna again in the future, please arrange your next reservation directly through my office.

Kind regards,
Claudia Plot
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Quiet, pretty and environmentally friendly
Great location-we travelled by train and it was only a 4/5 minutes walk from the Westbahnhof.
Excelent breakfast with organic food
Early check-in [10:00 am]
Very friendly staff [they changed our twin room with a double one]

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in the garden; the furniture is old and the rooms are not well equipped [not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mircea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Manager at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mircea,

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I would like to mention that our hotel consists of 2 parts, the passive house in which all rooms are designed in a modern way with a bathroom openly integrated into the room, as well as the town-house, where each room is different. We have modern rooms and traditional rooms in which we try to combine traditional furniture with a modern touch. It is a challenge for us to meet all our guests' tastes and if we know immediately we always try to find the room that best suits you. We apologise that we didn't meet your taste this time, but we already made a note about it for your next visit:-). The room categories "garden" and "classic" are available in both parts of the hotel.

Kind regards,
Claudia Plot
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Comfortable room, excelent breakfast, gentle staff, good location close to Underground station. I had a very good time there. In the last day we left the hotel very early, before breakfast time, and they kindly provided us some food to take. Recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed in November 2012 for just over EUR118 a night.

Great location-we travelled by train and it was only a 4/5 minutes walk through a decent area from the Hauptbahnhof. 10 minutes on foot from Mariahilfer Strasse, half an hour on foot to Museum Quarter. Very well connected to public transport. Supermarket across the street.

Very pleasant service. All staff were friendly and helpful.

Room was a good size for the price. Clean, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. We had a great nights sleep, very little outside noise despite being on the street.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregBrown77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It's perfect: quiet, comfortable, pretty and environmentally friendly. We loved our spacious room, a blissfully comfortable bed and a surprisingly large shower cabine, fitted into a small, yet practical bathroom. The breakfast buffet was another wonderful experience: a fiesta of organic food and Austrian specialities (including mouth watering spreads and a variety of teas and infusions). If I could think of one complaint, it would be really bad coffee served with the breakfast. You had to pay extra (and quite a lot of it) for a decent thing. If you're looking for a nice dinner (the hotel does not have a restaurant), I would highly recommend a Croatian place just around the corner. The hotel is located just minutes from West Bahnhoff, where buses from the airport arrive. Price vs. quality? Excellent - particularly in a rather expensive city like Vienna. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zephyrsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear „zephyrsong“,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us!

We would also like to thank you for your sincere feedback about the breakfast coffee and we apologize that it did not meet your taste! We offer our guests a fair-trade coffee, included in the breakfast rate. Alternatively we serve an organic coffee for the Viennese coffee specialities such as espresso or mélange, which come at an extra charge between € 2.20 and € 2.60.

If you decide to come to Vienna again, we would be very pleased to welcome you!

Best regards

Stefania Aloia
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
821 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 360 in Vienna
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,370 reviews
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Property: Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing