We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
Ranked #14 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel is a short walk from Wien Westbahnhof. The hotel offers a 10% discount for travellers who have arrived by train.
The hotel has a photovoltaic panel on the street front above the entrance. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is non-smoking inside but smoking appears to be permitted in the garden courtyard which makes it annoying for non-smokers to enjoy the garden.
The hotel pushes its ecofriendly credentials in all aspects from its lavender cultivation on the roof to its solar water heater and photovoltaic panels.
The room numbers are a bit puzzling eg room 522 is on the second floor of the hotel but there is another wing that operates like a hostel.
The room was very clean and functional. The toilet and shower are separate and have frosted glass doors, There is a hand basin next to the shower and toilet. No tea making facilities in room but tea and coffee and cakes and apples are available near reception.
The bed was very comfortable and power points were near the bed for easy access for my sleep apnea machine to be plugged in.
Two computers are available for guest use in the reception area and free Wifi is also available.
Breakfast included the wide range of cereals, yogurt,breads,cheeses etc that we had come to find in European breakfast buffets.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyRandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

Recently spent four nights. Room was compact but attractive and comfortable. Good selection for breakfast. On a quiet street, but very close to the train/subway station, so convenient for arrival/departure and a short subway ride to the heart of the city. Reasonable price (with discount for arrival/departure by train). My room was on the first floor, above the courtyard, so there were some noise issues, but overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Usually when I see the "eco-friendly" label on a hotel that either means bare basics or extremely expensive. I was thrilled that this hotel was neither!

Room:
Pros:
Very space efficient. We had a twin room and the beds were head to head so no awkward rolling on your friend. Well-appointed design elements, everything looked new and clean. TV with several good international channels. We had a room overlooking the rooftop lavender field and it was nice and quiet.
Cons:
The eco-friendly air-circulation system didn't quite work for us during our hot and humid stay. We couldn't figure out how to use the air conditioning and so it was hot at night. Also the bathroom is configured oddly and thankfully we were good enough friends to not worry about privacy but it's definitely more for couples and families (glazed glass doors and no private dressing area except behind a fairly sheer curtain)

Services:
Free wifi--good strength
Computers in the lobby--saw plenty of others using them
Luggage storage--secure and easy

Breakfast:
Pros:
Wide selection of meats, cheeses, egg dishes, yogurt, fruit, breads and sandwich spreads. Tea, juice and coffee as well. We ate in the lovely garden area but you can also dine in their dinning area.
Cons:
Come early. Although the food never ran out, the selection got smaller.

Location:
Three blocks from the Westbahnhof and less than a block from a major tram stop that takes you into the center of town. It was quiet, good for making train connections, but not walkable to the center (if that is a must, for us it wasn't)

Overall, really nice hotel and I will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: Book one facing the garden, it's worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I spent 6 days at this hotel just recently. The hotel is close to Westbahnhof station however it is still a quiet and peaceful area. There is a supermarket directly across the road which is very handy.

The hotel is large and very clean. The common areas are pleasant to look at and the breakfast is excellent. My main complaint would be the comfort level of the room. The mattress was very hard, the single pillow flat and lumpy, there was only one blanket and the towels were like sandpaper. The thing that really caused poor sleep was the flimsy curtain which let far too much sunlight in the room very early in the morning - it was impossible to sleep past 5am.

I rate the hotel as average because it was so clean and the staff were lovely however if I ever go back to Vienna I would probably stay somewhere else next time in order to get a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passepartout55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudia1plot, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback and comment. We would like to take the advantage and respond: Regarding the mattress, the towels and the pillow: it is very difficult to meet every single person’s exact comfort level. We tried to find a comfort level that suits the majority of our guests and we are very sorry we could not meet yours. It happened quite often that guests want to find out where we bought the mattresses because they slept so well:-).

Regarding the pillows, in order to meet all our guests’ needs we do have other, larger pillows which we provide. A pity we didn’t know you would have liked one, as it is easier to react on the spot. We always try our best to make all our guests feel comfortable.

Coming to the curtains: We are aware that there are few rooms with curtains that are not ideal. We believe you probably stayed in room 310? Since you also mentioned the curtains upon check out, we took this as an opportunity to discuss possible changes and are currently evaluating the different options for improvement.

All the best and kind regards from Vienna,
Claudia Plot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Very nice and consequent concept hotel. Nice and clean rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
In short, a really good choice

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flobar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

From emailing before i arrived with card problems to actually checking out i found the service really friendly and professional. i like very modern and contempory designs and this hotel provided me with what i wanted. the beds are very comfy, loved the bathroom design, loved the free choc on arrival, loved breakfast (although it is really busy before 9am with all the business people), loved the apples on the bedside table.

location is ideal when travelling from the airport (less than 5 minutes walk from west bahnhof (drop off point for the airport bus) and this is about 10 minues on the u-bahn to the touristy places). quiet neighbourhood. had a garden room and it was the quietest hotel room i have stayed in.

free wireless was quick. all in all the biggest issue i had was the curtains which did let in a lot of light in the morning but next time i will have eye mask. i will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tyler-hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Located close to citycenter but you need to walk 10 minutes to main square. Rooms are small and bed is not very comfortable. Breakfast was very good we enjoyed it very much. Staff is nice but could be more helpful. Our room didn't have fridge and it was a bit problem as we couldn't store milk food for our baby. General impression is good but price is too high as for the hotel quality.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrenaZaher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,676 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#9 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $97 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing