We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 star - no way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Ranked #179 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“4 star - no way”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Since years now we come back to this hotel and only by it s location - we had been living for years. Very often we closed eyes to not see the continously degradiation of this place. But now one thing is clear we will not come back again - what a lousy unfriendly service ( we come arround 4 times a year !!) a smelly loud room ( i expressed in my booking i want a quiet room) the hotelrooms and beds are warn out and the whole place used by countless bus groups - no this was definitifly the last time especially in vienna where are so many new and nice cosy places !!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM75016Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    216
    117
    40
    29
See reviews for
87
183
45
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel is clean, not noisy and situated in nice district, but a bit far from city centre and most of Vienna atractions. Service was over average, but food (breakfast) was rather average. Prices are acceptable. SPA is included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
283 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very much enjoyed our 3 week stay at derag living hotel ... Our Elisabethstrasse apartment was comfortable, nice kitchen, good shower in a roomy updated bathroom, safe, courteous twice weekly maid service appreciated...we felt very much at home and safe in the first district with convenient gourmet grocery right around the corner....a good value for those of us opera fans! Transportation options handy, beautiful walks along kartnerstrasse filled with shops and restaurants. We can highly recommend this venue and would search out this hotel facility in other cities. The office staff (24 hour) was always cordial, welcoming & helpful.

Room Tip: Perfect location for attendance at Stadtsoper performances :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was surprised to find a cooker in our room with two hot plates. You could live here a while and cook simple meals. A small bathroom (shower only) but quite adequate. No BBC World on the TV. Beds comfortable, Welcome teas/coffees/beer and bottled water for the first night which is a nice touch. The restaurant on the ground floor is good. The hotel is next to a Billa supermarket and the ATMs are minutes away. Use your card to open the doors if bank closed.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a busy road in town but it's double glazed. Get the tram around the corner which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonDavid_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The reception staff were helpful and polite. On arriving in our room was pleasantly surprised to fine cooking facilities available. Also in fridge were two bottles of water and two bottles of lager, which were free. Breakfast had good continental selection with deliciious bacon. A ten minute walk took us to a nearby villiage with large choice of restaurants. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chardex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Staff at reception were polite and helpful. The rooms are quite unusual, it's more like an apartment (your own flat). You have a small kitchen and in the fridge you get 2 bottles of water and beer and there was a safe for you to put your personal things in. The breakfast was fantastic, you had so much to choose from and it was lovely. One of my favourite continental breakfasts while travelling in Europe.

The hotel is outside the city centre, however there's a metro station about 5 minutes away (if you turn left outside the hotel and keep walking straight on) you'll find it and you can buy your ticket there. There's a McDonald's restaurant (less then a minutes walk from the hotel) if you turn left, you can get the No 38 tram (on the same side as McDonald's) and it's 12 stops until you get into the city centre (roughly about 20 minutes). Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copalis Beach, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I did lots of searching for a hotel near the Opera, and found this one. It was nicely-priced, but with few reviews. I took the chance, and I'm happy. It's practically across the street from the opera house and the Karlzptatz metro station. Very close to the Succession building, the market, etc. There's a lot of cranes overhead, re-constructing the adjacent hotel buildings, so I'm wondering if this place will still be nicely-priced much longer. Our room was huge, clean, modern. It had a kitchen with full dishes, pans, cutlery; frig; hob; microwave; dining table; a huge couch; large double bed; desk; chairs. The only thing missing was coffee (there was a coffee maker but no coffee). There was even two free beers in the frig (note said "free")The front desk staff were young and polite and spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boba543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#156 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#54 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Senator Hotel Vienna
Senator Hotel Vienna
#188 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#202 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#63 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph

Property: Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Address: Sieveringer Strasse 4, Vienna 1190, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Dobling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#127 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Franz Joseph Vienna
Kaiser Franz Joseph Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing