We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, decent hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Ranked #176 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice, decent hotel.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Staff at reception were polite and helpful. The rooms are quite unusual, it's more like an apartment (your own flat). You have a small kitchen and in the fridge you get 2 bottles of water and beer and there was a safe for you to put your personal things in. The breakfast was fantastic, you had so much to choose from and it was lovely. One of my favourite continental breakfasts while travelling in Europe.

The hotel is outside the city centre, however there's a metro station about 5 minutes away (if you turn left outside the hotel and keep walking straight on) you'll find it and you can buy your ticket there. There's a McDonald's restaurant (less then a minutes walk from the hotel) if you turn left, you can get the No 38 tram (on the same side as McDonald's) and it's 12 stops until you get into the city centre (roughly about 20 minutes). Overall, a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    218
    118
    40
    30
See reviews for
88
186
47
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copalis Beach, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I did lots of searching for a hotel near the Opera, and found this one. It was nicely-priced, but with few reviews. I took the chance, and I'm happy. It's practically across the street from the opera house and the Karlzptatz metro station. Very close to the Succession building, the market, etc. There's a lot of cranes overhead, re-constructing the adjacent hotel buildings, so I'm wondering if this place will still be nicely-priced much longer. Our room was huge, clean, modern. It had a kitchen with full dishes, pans, cutlery; frig; hob; microwave; dining table; a huge couch; large double bed; desk; chairs. The only thing missing was coffee (there was a coffee maker but no coffee). There was even two free beers in the frig (note said "free")The front desk staff were young and polite and spoke good English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boba543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Hotel was part of a package tour but was an excellent choice. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The breakfast was crowded and the self-service servery was not well arranged so that it was a very hectic experience although the food was good. The evening meal in the hotel was provided by a second party and was not a good experience. Try one of the local restaurants instead. The public transport into Vienna centre was easy to negotiate and the bus stop is outside the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Pat_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We landed at this hotel as part of a New Market bus tour. The hotel is a little dated, but has a charm about it. Well located for a quick tram journey into the city centre. The breakfast is pretty military, but effective. We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights and the food was excellent, the waiter was also very funny, so we enjoyed it. I am not sure if we would stay here again, but that is because we would normally stay in the city centre.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twobikes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived at the Derag Kaiser Franz Josef Living Hotel to find a nice reception area. The area the hotel is situated was nice and close to transport links into Vienna city center.

The room on the other hand was not what we had arranged, or at least thought that the tour company had arranged for us.

We had paid for a 4 star hotel in the suburbs of Vienna, what we got was a run down room with the only saving graces being a small balcony and a full sized working fridge and wifi access in the room!

This is a hotel that I would never book personally and would never recommend this as an option for anyone travelling to Vienna!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel, there are much better for a similar price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

- spacious, clean rooms
- friendly, accurate staff
- good facilities (internet, kitchen, laundry)
- superb location, very central
- great business stay for a longer period of time
- good parking facilities in the vicinity of the building
- air conditioning not too noisy
- lift is rather slow and warm in summer. During rush hours often occupied.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed, just go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the past 10 years and find it ideal for us and very good value.This visit we arrived in 38 degree temperature so were very pleased to have a room with air conditioning which worked very well so we could sleep.The rooms features kitchen facilities and the fridge is essential at this time of the year. You can stock up with items from supermarkets closeby , we made our own breakfasts most days as the hotel breakfast although excellent is quite expensive for a long stay.Near to the hotel are many shops and eating places and connections by tram, train and bus to all parts of the city and airport are nearby.The staff are friendly and helpful .An extra bonus is the WiFi which is now free.

Room Tip: Room to the back of the hotel is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagittarian_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Landstraße
JUFA Hotel Wien City
JUFA Hotel Wien City
#65 of 360 in Vienna
764 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#154 of 360 in Vienna
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Senator Hotel Vienna
Senator Hotel Vienna
#188 of 360 in Vienna
846 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#55 of 360 in Vienna
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph

Property: Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Address: Sieveringer Strasse 4, Vienna 1190, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Dobling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#126 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Franz Joseph Vienna
Kaiser Franz Joseph Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing