We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Ranked #175 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for business travelers”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

First of all, the rooms are very small. Feels more like a closet than a hotel room. The air-conditioner does not go lower than 21 degrees Celcius. 3 separate request for a fan provided no result. Opening the window would be OK except that the room faced the front road where there is a lot of road noise. The stool as part of the fold-down desk is not suitable for business travelers that may have to work for extended time on a laptop. Getting from this hotel to town requires a tram ride for about 20 minutes just to get back into town. Breakfast was not included even with the corporate rate.
There were quite a few tour groups from different countries. If you just need a place to sleep and have all transportation arranged, I suppose it is OK.
The front desk personnel were quite helpful. I would say that was the best part of stay.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms facing the front of the hotel due to traffic and loading/unloading from bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    224
    122
    40
    30
See reviews for
93
191
49
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

the reason for my heading is the hotel is lovely there is nothing i didnt likee about it. The foyer is very impressive rooms little dated but very clean. The staff were very helpful and all spoke english. The location of the hotel is very convenient with shops and restaurants all around. Trams run from just round the corner, we took a ride up to Grinding a small village which you can walk to in 30 mins [up hill]. The village itself is very pleasant with nice restaurants and bars we were made very welcome had a lovely meal and walked back.The only let down with this hotel is the catering side is franchised out it is a big let down, meal was appalling. We ask for wine list and were told red or white take your choice.

Room Tip: ones with balcony have no air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hullhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here in August and October 2011 with my son, and found it to be a very convenient location just outside the centre of Vienna with good public transport connections (bus and tram stops right outside and round the corner from hotel). The hotel itself is comfortable enough but quite dated in the decor (which may be part of the attraction if you like that sort of thing!). Lots of portait artwork on display of the Kaiser Franz-Joseph and his family. The apartment style rooms at the back of the hotel are good value for money. For the first trip we had a balcony on the upper level with a good view. The apartments are fitted with sink, cooker and microwave, but the ones at the front are smaller so try to get a back room. The staff are freindly and welcoming. They give out a voucher for one free breakfast when you chevck-in. The hotel restaurant closes quite early and there are only a few other restaurants within walking distance but you'l get much more choice of menu if you take a taxi or bus closer to central Vienna. The internet is only free for the first 30 mins. The gymn sauna and steam room are OK but fairly basic.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel was in a nice area of Vienna at near the Vienna Woods. The room was clean and spacious and had a balcony. The TV in the room was a bit dated but worked. Overall the hotel and food was good. However we were told the time that we had to eat, we weren't allowed to go for breakfast until 8.15 am and normally we would have gone about 7 am. However we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janicep313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year for 2 nights it was comfortable and with good staff then,
So decided too spend 4 days sight seeing in Vienna and staying at the hotel again,although it is some way out of the city set in a quiet residential area the transport links are superb and very cheap (72 hr unlimited travel ticket which covers all U bahn,S bahn, tram & bus services within the city costs 14.50 euros per person ) so travel is very quick and easy to use, although if it is your first time in Vienna a good transport map is essential. But back to the hotel there must be a few new staff in the reception area as they did not seem so efficient as they where on our first visit.
The room which we had booked had a useful little kitchen area and small balcony and was at the rear of the hotel overlooking the garden. The air conditioning needs updating as it is very weak!. Nice coffee shop which we used for breakfast as the hotel breakfast although excellent was expensive (15.00 euros each).

The hotel bar opens 20.00 until 03.00 am and a word of warning if you do not smoke. SMOKING
IS ALLOWED in the bar as it measures below 50 sq metres ( strange rule!)
There is a restaurant called " Zum Clement" I have decided to review this in the restaurant section of Trip Advisor as the service is superb.

Room Tip: you can only book apartments if you stay over 4 days. T.he rooms at the front tend to be a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doitdreckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia Antipolis, France
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

A nice hotel away from the city center but within easy reach by car and /or tramway. The hotel is only a 20 minute walk (or faster by tram) from Grinzing, a lively wine tavern area of Vienna surrounded by forests and vineyards (northwest of Vienna). The hotel itself is quiet, clean, and convenient (although there is only one hour of free Internet per day).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SundayNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a superb hotel. Lives up to its 4* rating. Staff were very helpful, rooms excellent - breakfast well organised and first rate. My stay in this hotel was very pleasant.
Cannot comment on Swimming pool or fitness centre as I did not have time to use them.
Would certainly recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#64 of 361 in Vienna
277 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#155 of 361 in Vienna
369 reviews
Dobling
Hotel Schild
Hotel Schild
#286 of 361 in Vienna
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph

Property: Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Address: Sieveringer Strasse 4, Vienna 1190, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Dobling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#126 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Franz Joseph Vienna
Kaiser Franz Joseph Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing