We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just not a luxerious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Ranked #84 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just not a luxerious hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here three nights during New Year. I was actually expectinga luxerious hotel but already entering the lobby I was disappointed. Beside the entrance there is betting shop which is connected to the lobby and the lobby has a big souvenir shop which Americans will love as they can get all their European Souvenirs there.

The hotel room are good. The service at the reception was also good. The location is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    627
    225
    59
    28
See reviews for
500
473
87
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Typical nice clean high class Marriott Hotel, location was good, can walk to Stephanplatz plaza thru the back roads, also just right across the Strauss statue at Stadtpark. McDonalds and Japanese restaurant are nearby. Front desk and door man were all friendly and very nice. Only thing, their rate doesn't include free breakfast. Rooms were huge and clean. Will stay here again. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinoisresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott in january. It was a nice experience, but then we stayed at the seventh floor (executive floor), because we had some travel vouchers. Accordingly, we had a lot included in our price, which we would otherwise have to pay for individually. Make sure you know what is included in the price, to avoid unpleasant surprises.

The main thing about The Vienna Marriott is that it is an American hotel. Whether this is a good or bad thing depends on your preferences.

The location is excellent. On the ringstrasse opposite the Stadtpark, so only a short walk from the city center, or Wien Mitte station. There is a large atrium inside the hotel, with various stores and boutiqes, as well as hairdresser, juvelier and travel agency. The hotel futures several restaurants, so you won't go hungry. There is also entertainment here several times a week. You almost don't need to leave the hotel...

The interior is American, a little bit eighties or Dallas-styled, but everything looks clean and fresh and new. The staff all speak english and they are were nice. They make a lot of pomp and circumstance with everything, which is nice, but of course this depends on what you like. There is a lot of courtesy-phrases and saying hello to everyone. The cleaning staff don't want to do anything wrong, so they almost didn't touch anything in our room. They took away empty bottles (they need to be completely empty) and things from the garbage can. They did not move glasses and cups if there were leftovers in them, instead, they helpfully put coasters over the unfinished glasses.
The breakfast was just ok for a top-end hotel. There is a large amount of fruit to choose from, and eggs and pancakes could be ordered from a counter. The coffee had to be ordered from the waiters, and tastes like american coffee. The selection of hams and cheeses was small, but the selection of pastries was large. The view from the breakfast room in january was reminicent of a view over central park, so that's another bonus.

Since we stayed in the executive floor, we had access to the executive lounge. There is breakfast, strudel and dinner available as well as alcoholic drinks in the evening. The dinner was usually pasta with some kind of sauce. There was a coffee-machine and lots of different soft drinks available all hours.

So all in all it was a stay with mixed emotions. For me, being norwegian, this American experience was almost a bit too much, but if you like cruise ships, I can heartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreasSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Enjoy the stay in the city. the lounge is awesome.... full meals and drinks! downtown location works well for dinners and walks. CHAMPS bar for a quick meal and plenty of televisions. The room is quiet and clean. Housekeeping does come a bit early. Its location,location and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p-mshires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

You get what u pay for. At 300+ usd a nite, this property is not cheap. But if you're in town to pamper yourself, this is one nice property. Location is good. The breakfast spread is one of the best amongst high end chain hotels. It has a very nice spread and the dining experience is very luxurious. It does get very busy, and you may have to wait for some items, like eggs, and what not. the executive or club floor is nice with evening hor d'oeuvres, drinks, free internet. The room has a real nice bed; somewhat a little more luxurious than the regular marriott. Everything is nice, and well maintained, and they treat their gold members well. No penny pinching. Breakfast was offred for free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LL608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was my second time at this hotel. I stayed there about 18 months ago for a business trip and it was a great experience. On that trip I was upgraded to a suite and truly enjoyed the hotel. This trip I chose it because of the positive experience I had last time. I didn't get upgraded (though I tried) but did have a very nice room that was modern, clean and comfortable. After walking all over the city on my last night, I finally decided to have dinner at the evening buffet on the mezzanine. I was blown away with not only the assortment of fine foods presented buffet style but in a way that made it so appealing. Even better, the food was great and I indulged myself on as many dishes as possible. I was even more impressed that the chef kept walking around to make sure everything looked great. The wait staff was a bit slow but it looked like they were understaffed so I won't penalize their efforts because they did try hard to accommodate my every request. I highly recommend this hotel and definitely have dinner there one night as you'll truly enjoy it.

Room Tip: Definitely try the dinner buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staff super helpful. Brilliant for us travelling with two young kids. Clean room, great breakfast. Great value. Only negative was wifi not free in room and expensive laundry costs. Close to metro tram. Awesome time at this hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 362 in Vienna
2,783 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
624 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#73 of 362 in Vienna
1,864 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 362 in Vienna
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vienna Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Marriott Hotel

Property: Vienna Marriott Hotel
Address: Parkring 12a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Vienna
#52 Family Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#63 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vienna Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna Marriott Hotel awaits you with warm Viennese geniality in an inviting and international atmosphere. Being situated in the heart of Vienna, all of the city's major attractions lie within walking distance and can easily be reached by foot. St. Stephen's Cathedral, the State Opera, theaters and numerous of the famous museums reveal themselves while you are strolling the elegant Ring Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vienna Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vienna
Vienna Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing