We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #72 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Patna
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is a convenient and a comfortable place to stay in Vienna. Centrally located - railway station is just across the road. Some of the famous museums in Vienna are at a walking distance. There are restaurants and shopping malls close by.

Room Tip: Avoid the room towards the railway station to avoid the noise of the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sudhirkjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    514
    159
    47
    25
See reviews for
184
412
75
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is situated near metro station and in walk distance from Schonbrunn. It's not best hotel to explore Wien itself as city center is rather far.
Rooms are rather typical, nothing special. But clean and have everything you need.
Breakfast is very good.
People on reception were nice but not very fast...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniska336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Things that were good: the Breakfast Buffet, the location, the price (if you book early).
Things not so good: Front desk needs more education on bus schedules, "hop on/hop off" and some other minor things.

The restaurant was very good. The young gentleman who waited on us was very good and attentive. Would recommend this place for people who know Vienna but not for first timers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsimunic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

having stayed in many Renaissance Hotels around the world I was very disappointed to when I stayed at this particular hotel. The property is very outdated and old and dire need of a renovation. The rooms were are so outdated and rundown and questionable on the cleanliness. My bathroom was very dirty and the tub was very dirty. For the price that we paid, I would have thought we were staying in a 5 star but this property is more of a 3 star.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A very nice base to explore the city from - others commenting on how far away it was, but it's really not once you get on the metro. We liked being a little way out of town, and still get everywhere we wanted to go.

Breakfast buffet is fantastic if included in your stay. The made-to-order omelettes are highly recommended!

Room very comfortable and great size. Quite uninspiring decor and a bit out dated - also, did smell a little bit musty to start off with, so perhaps hadn't been properly aired out for a while. Bar area small but pleasant. Staff all very nice and helpful throughout.

Used the pool a few times, which is nice for being on the upper floors. Swimming in the evening and looking out onto a cityscape was pretty cool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MezzaLupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Renaissance hotel is located a bit far from the town centre. But it is just steps away from Mielding station and 15 mins walk to Schonbrunn Palace. We stayed there under the group booking for our tour.

The rooms were very old. Some floor tiles in my bathroom were cracked. The towels provided were far from white and washed thin. The piles of carpet in the room were thinned out in the walked area.

There was always a line in the reception area because guests needed information which they can easily looked up from the Internet. This hotel is the only hotel that provides a limited 30 mis of free wifi for EACH STAY FROM the LOBBY. All other hotels in our Eastern European trip provided free wifi throughout the stay in our own room.

The hotel said there is free access from the one computer provided in the lobby area, but that computer never works. So the lobby sitting area was filled with guests, sitting and standing using the laptops, lining up to ask questions, and frustrated because sometimes by the time they reached the receptionist, their 30 min limit was due... Though the 2 receptionists were trying to be patient n helpful, they were so busy n tired from answering the trivial questions n trying to authorize the guests for another 30 mins because the first 30 mins never worked.....

We were lucky because we discovered we had unlimited free wifi access in our own room with our Marriot Gold rewards. But I felt sorry for the over worked staff who has to act patient.
There is no kettle or coffee pot in the room n hot water from the room service is for €3.5 plus tax. Fortunately the bar keeper is willing to fill my thermo for free. He has to walk a long way to the kitchen to get it for me, which I appreciated.

The breakfast was ok but not worth raving. We had much better breakfasts in Warsaw n Budapest.

Room Tip: It's located in a busy street, try to avoid rooms facing the traffic, it's very noisy. Becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room was comfortable and quiet. The hotel is across an intersection from an underground train station. Eight minutes is all it takes to get to the central sights. Breakfast is pricey, instead you can find lots of snacks all over town. One interesting feature is the co-ed clothing-not-allowed sauna, sun and steam on the top floor, near the textile required swimming pool.

Room Tip: A room with windows facing the inner courtyard is the quietest choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johanfredrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
601 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#34 of 361 in Vienna
710 reviews
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Property: Renaissance Wien Hotel
Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, the Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. The Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing