We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #65 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A very nice base to explore the city from - others commenting on how far away it was, but it's really not once you get on the metro. We liked being a little way out of town, and still get everywhere we wanted to go.

Breakfast buffet is fantastic if included in your stay. The made-to-order omelettes are highly recommended!

Room very comfortable and great size. Quite uninspiring decor and a bit out dated - also, did smell a little bit musty to start off with, so perhaps hadn't been properly aired out for a while. Bar area small but pleasant. Staff all very nice and helpful throughout.

Used the pool a few times, which is nice for being on the upper floors. Swimming in the evening and looking out onto a cityscape was pretty cool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MezzaLupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Wien Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Renaissance hotel is located a bit far from the town centre. But it is just steps away from Mielding station and 15 mins walk to Schonbrunn Palace. We stayed there under the group booking for our tour.

The rooms were very old. Some floor tiles in my bathroom were cracked. The towels provided were far from white and washed thin. The piles of carpet in the room were thinned out in the walked area.

There was always a line in the reception area because guests needed information which they can easily looked up from the Internet. This hotel is the only hotel that provides a limited 30 mis of free wifi for EACH STAY FROM the LOBBY. All other hotels in our Eastern European trip provided free wifi throughout the stay in our own room.

The hotel said there is free access from the one computer provided in the lobby area, but that computer never works. So the lobby sitting area was filled with guests, sitting and standing using the laptops, lining up to ask questions, and frustrated because sometimes by the time they reached the receptionist, their 30 min limit was due... Though the 2 receptionists were trying to be patient n helpful, they were so busy n tired from answering the trivial questions n trying to authorize the guests for another 30 mins because the first 30 mins never worked.....

We were lucky because we discovered we had unlimited free wifi access in our own room with our Marriot Gold rewards. But I felt sorry for the over worked staff who has to act patient.
There is no kettle or coffee pot in the room n hot water from the room service is for €3.5 plus tax. Fortunately the bar keeper is willing to fill my thermo for free. He has to walk a long way to the kitchen to get it for me, which I appreciated.

The breakfast was ok but not worth raving. We had much better breakfasts in Warsaw n Budapest.

Room Tip: It's located in a busy street, try to avoid rooms facing the traffic, it's very noisy. Becau...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldenHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room was comfortable and quiet. The hotel is across an intersection from an underground train station. Eight minutes is all it takes to get to the central sights. Breakfast is pricey, instead you can find lots of snacks all over town. One interesting feature is the co-ed clothing-not-allowed sauna, sun and steam on the top floor, near the textile required swimming pool.

Room Tip: A room with windows facing the inner courtyard is the quietest choice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanfredrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Originally from Vienna, I stayed at this hotel recently when visiting my home town.
The hotel is located along one of Vienna's main radial roads, the "Linke Wienzeile". Located just across U4 subway stop "Meidling Hauptstrasse" you can easily reach the city centre, the famous Naschmarkt and get from and to the airport easily. The building is rather unattractive from the outside but surprises with elegance and style on the inside.
We arrived around 10am (as mentioned in our reservation on the hotel's website) and our rooms were not yet ready (check in is at 3pm). Request for an early check in was not granted by the front desk agent which did not leave a great first impression. Even if the hotel was full the night before they should have had a room available within an hour at the very latest. We could leave the luggage behind and kill some time...
The rooms are functional and clean and already a few years from the last renovation. The beds are absolutely amazing. I slept extremely well (and not just because I just had traveled for 24 hours...). The lobby seems renovated and quite appealing. So does the restaurant & bar.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing. I have not seen many buffets with a better selection of good quality food items. The staff was a little overwhelmed though as it was busy and they did not seem very coordinated. Coffee was served at the table which is not very advantageous when it's busy. The friendly server brought coffee but had not thought about milk so we had to wait some more. Not a big deal but certainly some room for additional training of staff.
We did not have time to check out the pool unfortunately so I am looking forward to coming back and trying it out the next time. By then the hotel will hopefully offer free Internet.

Room Tip: select room facing the courtyard of the building to avoid possible noise from traffic.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revell_bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff made my stay memorable and the clean quality rooms only helped. Plenty of restaurants and transport options nearby and only a couple of stops n the metro to the central city. This property is good value in my book and if I'm in Vienna again I will hope to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here over the new year period, i booked it as i had experience other renissance hotels and this was a bit below that standard, more a good 3 stars then a 4 stars

the room was rather small, and pretty old to a level where you almost question the cleanliness.

location was great, a hort walk from everything, tram takes you where u want....

service was ok, not people fighting to help you, then again i did find the locals a bit cold, so might not be a hotel problem really

as of now i would say it is more its location then anything, they need to review it all and refurbish it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had three people in two rooms for two nights in August 2013, using Marriott Reward points. There was a heat spell at the time, so the working and effective air conditioning was greatly appreciated. Lunch was excellent, especially the weinerschnitzel. The buffet breakfast was good quality with great variety.
The room had reasonable space. The beds were comfortable and the showers decent. Essentially zero English language TV.
The desk staff was friendly, helpful and efficient.
The location was great, about two minutes from a great underground station (use the underground), and thus 20 minutes or less from nearly everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 361 in Vienna
614 reviews
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hotel Schani Wien
#38 of 361 in Vienna
724 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#102 of 361 in Vienna
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#50 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $79 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas at our hotel in Vienna, Austria have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing