We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ageing old dear in need of some work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ageing old dear in need of some work”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I feel bad rating this place as 'average' but equally I couldn't rate it was 'very good' either. Its inbetween.

Firstly, the location, very well connected to the excellent and easy to navigate metro. Otherwise its a bit boring. Its not in the thick of things and its a bit grey but its not far away and the market is nearby.

The lobby is pleasant, American feel and the reception staff were friendly. Because of status we asked about a room upgrade but this wasn't available for several hours so we took a standard room. Annoying but at least the internet was still free. The room itself was tired and pretty far away from the lifts. No view and the privacy curtains were hanging off their rails, not a great look. Old style TV and small bathroom just made the place feel like it needs a really good refresh. Naff pictures and floral curtains need to be binned immediately.

What saves this old dear from a proper negative review is the truly great breakfast. A huge selection of international breakfast stuffs made it a great experience. It was included in the rate we got and was very much worth it.

I personally think if you get a cheap rate then you won't be disappointed but I reckon there's nicer out there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    508
    158
    47
    25
See reviews for
177
408
74
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed three days at this Renaissance hotel. It was an overall great experience with no issues encountered. Great friendly staff, clean rooms, and excellent food in the restaurant. The only thing I would change is the pay wifi and the times complimentary tea and coffee are offered. I will definitely consider this hotel the next time I'm in Wien!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsonnier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very nice place for a good 4 star experience.

The nicest thing I remember is that I had no complaints.

Their excellent breakfast deserves a special mention. A bit far away from the "city" though.

Good service. Safe bet.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rrohan189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Arrived to the rather threadbare room just after 11pm tired and hungry. The mini bar was empty, you have to purchase items from the shop in reception and no coffee or tea maker in the room. No problem, I'll ring room service. Great choice of cheese on toast or goulash after 11pm. OK, cheese on toast it is. "Sorry the kitchen is closed". That leaves me 30 minutes of free internet (I am not kidding) to write a review.

The other reviews about the drab decor are spot on. Its reminiscent of an East German hotel before the wall came down.

Awful atmosphere at checkin: "we must have your passport number its the Austrian law". So much for the borderless European Union.
How do these places get awarded 4 stars? I won't be back.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shorthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located right across the street from the U4 stop U4 Meidling Hauptstrasse.

From airport by CAT (City Airport Train) to Wien-Mitte (it’s the only stop) and U4 to hotel was 35 minutes. CAT was 19 Euro round trip and U4 is 2 Euro one-way. The CAT runs every 30 minutes. As you exit the U4 train, walk in the opposite direct the train was moving, go up the escalator and outside you will see the Renaissance (it’s a pinkish / grey building with red trim)

A list of items missing from the rooms:
• Bedside power outlets
• Iron and ironing board – but there is a pants press in the closet. By request Housekeeping will deliver an iron and board
• Coffe / tea / hot water pot
• Curved shower curtain bar
• Robes or slippers
• Desktop outlets (they are at floor level)
• Good desk chair - Desk chair is nothing more than a banquet chair
• In room complimentary bottle water

There is no club lounge, breakfast is at the restaurant. It’s a buffet with a great variety of items. Impossible to walk away hungry.

TV is old CRT with no HDMI inputs

At the U-Bahn station you will find small cafe's, Doner kebab, pizza, news stand, mini supermarket and such.

Hotel has consistent lower rates compared with other major brands in Vienna. I’m guessing this has to do with the age of the property.

Hotel is not in the ideal tourist area, but this is not a problem as the Vienna U-Bahn (underground railway) is right across the street from the hotel. The U-Bahn is easy to use and reaches all the major areas you would want. I would not stay away from this property due to its location.

This hotel does a lot of bus tour business. I had a bad experience one morning at breakfast where I couldn’t get a seat, while seats where open. The Asian tour guide said the section was reserved for their group. Restaurant staff shrugged and said sorry come back later.

Outside of the restaurant, staff are exceptional, helpful and ready to assist.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for five nights. The breakfast is really quite nice although it shuts down more or less on the minute they say it ends, so don't get there too late. I had breakfast and wifi free (I'm a frequent Marriott customer) so those seemed nice enough. The published prices for both seemed a bit excessive, I doubt I would've paid 20+ Euros for breakfast (anywhere, really). The lobby and bar are very nice, the rooms are ok. My main issue was the lack of ventilation. No bathroom fan, and a weak AC/Fan unit. Luckily it was nice weather and I could leave the window open most of the time instead. The location is actually great. Meidling bus and u-bahn station is across the street, a couple blocks north is a separate tram line that goes into the city center. There are 5 or 6 supermarkets within a couple blocks and a green and clean (self serve laundromat) near the Meidling station. There's also an assortment of restaurants around although they are mostly closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,179 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance looks a little dated from outside but is a lot nicer inside. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, rooms are a decent size, clean comfortable and good bathroom . Leave the window closed if you are on an outside room as the traffic is very noisy early in the morning. 18 euros for breakfast is ridiculous, charging for wifi is mean and expensive and there are cafes and bars right outside which are a lot cheaper. The pool on the top floor is small but has great views over the city, a sauna and a steam room. There is a U metro station on line 4 just across the road.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Hotel Lucia
#54 of 360 in Vienna
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Property: Renaissance Wien Hotel
Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, the Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. The Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing