We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay, Not in Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Wien Hotel
Ranked #74 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, Not in Center”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our river cruise ship was unable to navigate to Vienna because of low water levels, so we found ourselves unexpectedly in this hotel for two days, along with 130 other cruise passengers. To its credit, the hotel handled this huge group very well, with a buffet dinner and the usual buffet breakfast. Reception was efficient and pleasant. Rooms were comfortable, with sufficient air conditioning for the August heat wave we were experiencing. Bathroom had all the facilities of a modern hotel. Neighborhood is undistinguished, and we found it worthwhile to buy a 24 hour card for the U-bahn, located just across the road from the hotel. The one major tourist destination nearby is Schoenbrunn Palace, one stop away by U-bahn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    512
    159
    47
    25
See reviews for
183
411
75
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The rooms are clean, but the furniture has seen much better days. The staff is kind and friendly. The breakfast buffet is good. The hotel is just in front of a subway station, 1 stop from Schönbrunn palace and about 6 stops from Karlsplatz (Opera).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzcMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased with my stay at this hotel. The room was nice and the staff friendly. There was a rooftop enclosed pool but an outdoor option. The only attraction the hotel was near was Schonbrun Palace but across the street from a subway and bus depot making it easily accessible to other sights. The subway system was very user friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmora2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was here for 1 night on business and had a pleasant stay. Nothing fantastic (though the breakfast was very good), it was a little dated, but it served its purpose and I slept well. The hotel bar was a comfortable place to hang out and had a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladensburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I'd read that the furniture in this hotel was old -- the furniture in my room was old AND ragged. The cushion on the one chair was so old it was thread-bare and shredded, with the foam stuffing exposed. It was so old, it would have been rejected by a Good Will or other second-hand store. The exercise area was very nice -- spacious sauna, locker rooms, small pool, sun deck, lounge and cafe. However, the only service I used was the exercise room and it was SO-O small and cramped, I had to stop using the machine and actually get up to let another guest get past me to the door. The equipment looked fairly new and was all operable, but there was much too much of it for the available space. If a mere 5-10 ft were taken from the adjacent lounge to enlarge the
exercise room, it would solve this space crisis. I declined the €25/day breakfast and instead used the fridge in the room to keep the yogurt, etc., that I bought in the health food grocery located in the complex where the Metro is. Except for being close to the Metro, the surrounding area had meager offerings in restaurants -- mostly Turkish carry-outs, 2-3 Italian restaurants, not much else if you wanted a nice meal or even vegetables with your meal. The bed was clean and comfortable, the location was right across the street from the Metro, the staff was friendly, and I got a fair rate ($96/day) -- these are the reasons why I endured the room decor. But if I'd read TripAdvisor hotel reviews, I'm sure I could have gotten these "plusses" without the serious "minuses." The "minuses" made this hotel so-o-o FAR below Marriott standards, I assumed Marriott had only recently acquired it, was renovating, but just hadn't gotten to rooms on the 4th floor. How disappointing when I was told it's been in the Marriott chain since the 1990s. The lobby was modern and attractive, but it was the total opposite in my room. This low standard was exaggerated when I watched the hotel channel on the tv in my room that high-lighted other hotels in Marriott's Renaissance chain -- most appeared to definitely be 4-star, but after leaving the lobby, this was 2-star, at best.

Room Tip: Wait until this hotel is brought up to Marriott standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyCamper821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Room was old with an ancient TV. Beds look clean. Breakfast was impressive with made to order eggs, banana pancakes, French toasts, sausages, chocolate croissants, juices...The hotel caters to tour groups therefore it was madness at breakfast from 6;30 am to 7:30 am. The metro station is nearby. Schonbrunn Palace is one metro stop away. There is a nice small restaurant across the small street from the hotel that serves delicious Austrian food for a very reasonable price. A few steps from the restaurant is small grocery store that sells fresh fruits and bottled water (2 litre for 1 euro).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyaltyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is the kind of hotel that is hard to rate properly.

The location is certainly not the best. Nothing is really in walking distance however u have a subway stop a 100 meters from the hotel (Line 4 / U4).

The property was built in the 80s and this clearly shows on the rooms. Not much renovation has been put into it.

Breakfast for 25 EUR is expensive but good.

Reception was friendly. I didnt get to see the pool but apparently they have one.

I got a 89EUR rate with breakfast included. That is certainly a deal for this hotel. But i would not pay more than 110EUR for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 361 in Vienna
711 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Hietzing
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Wien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Wien Hotel

Property: Renaissance Wien Hotel
Address: Ullmannstrasse 71, Vienna 1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#100 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#106 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Wien Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Rocking Baroque Hotel near Schönbrunn, the Renaissance Wien Hotel. Guest rooms, bathrooms and common areas have been completely redesigned and a new restaurant concept was implemented. The well-known pink facade was replaced by a modern and distinctive one, representing the relaunch from outside. Hotel facilities include 305 guest rooms and suites, a fitness centre with sauna, and an innovative restaurant that offers a culinary journey from Paris over Vienna to Constantinopel. The modern function meeting rooms provide the ideal place for meetings and weddings in Vienna. The Renaissance Wien Hotel offers the perfect location for exploring Vienna: Schönbrunn Palace is just a short walk away. The subway offers fast access to the city centre, Stadthalle or Westbahnhof train station. Book your stay already today and be one of the first explorers at the Renaissance Wien Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Renaissance Wien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing