We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocrity does not fit the Renaissance brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Ranked #119 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mediocrity does not fit the Renaissance brand”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had high hopes before visiting the Vienna Renaissance, based on other reviews and the website. I was deeply disappointed to see a run-down hotel with mediocre staff (not very friendly at check-in) and a mediocre location: It is quite a walk to any of the Vienna sights that you may want to see. As for the run-down aspect: When walking down the hallway in one of the not-refurbished floors, you can imagine cold-war agents gunning down each other and dying on the very dirty carpet that you are now walking on. The worst thing for a business traveler is the absence of wifi. The work-arounds are an old-school cable in the room or wifi in the lobby. Again, not something you expect from a Renaissance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the renovated rooms. There are rumors that these even have wifi!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Drobig, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to take the opportunity to genuinely thank you for your visit at the Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel and for your time to share your experiences gained with us on TripAdvisor.

It is dear to our heart that each guest feels as comfortable as possible in our hotel. Unfortunately we have learnt that we were unable to fulfil your needs and expectations.

You were disappointed with the Internet service on offer and from the service received at check in. Furthermore you were unpleased with our hallways and with the location of our hotel.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused. We genuinely regret that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest. The service you received is not the Renaissance way to take care of our guests as we strive to create extraordinary hotel experiences for them. Furthermore we would like to let you know that we are currently in the final planning phase together with our owner to update and modify our internet offer for our guests to improve our standards and services accordingly.

Dear valued guest, we do still remain in the hope to soon welcome you back to our property to make your next stay with us a memorable and unforgettable one.


With kind regards from Vienna,


Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    520
    219
    76
    23
See reviews for
254
437
68
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our group were all highly impressed with most of the facilities in this hotel Great location. Friendly, welcoming staff. One of the most comfortable beds i've ever slept in. A lovely breakfast buffet (although food was a little on the cold side). A few negatives. Charged a ridiculous amount to use wifi. The spa facilities (which i assume were outsourced) had rude staff, and charged seperately to use the sauna and steam room, although pool was free. Overall i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located to a train station from where we took our train for a 20 minutes ride to the airport. The hotel lobby is airy, elegant and welcoming, and the staff is ready for answering any questions, handing out maps etc. We booked a double superior room and entering it , were pleasantly surprised by its spaciousness, with a large foyer, and then the room, a bedroom with a day area even bigger. The style is a bit 1970s, but we talk about quality furnishings that reflect well the old world. The bathroom was also spacious and like the room, absolutely spotless. If the hotel is in the old Riding school building, the lounge is in a modern long building just across from the main entrance and it's well supplied for breakfast and a light delicious dinner. We appreciated very much the offerings, the seating choices and impeccable service.
We'll definitely be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was in a great location. Direct train from the airport. We were able to walk everywhere from here. The rooms are a little dated in the original building, but nothing terrible.

The lobby was beautiful and we ended each evening there with a nightcap (group of 6).

After walking around Vienna and seeing other hotels, I would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

As this was our 3rd visit to Vienna we decided to choose a different hotel that would offer us extras like a club lounge and superior rooms. The hotel itself is very easy to find being only 20 minutes from the airport and handy for the railway station and tram route into the city.
This was a very special trip for us as we would be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary plus my birthday of which my Husband had made the hotel aware before we arrived.
Our reservation was for a junior suite and on arrival we were shown to room 710 in the main building which on the door had displayed Business Suite - need I say more. Not the most romantic of rooms, but at least we had a huge desk to put our laptop on ! I have never stayed in such a basically decorated room with magnolia paint on all 4 walls and not a picture in sight. Definitely NO wow factor. Considering the hotel knew it was couple who would be occupying the room they weren't very generous with their bathroom 'goodies' leaving only one small soap and one shampoo /conditioner. The mini bar had a half used bottle of sparkling water in it which we did make the hotel aware of. A request was made for a kettle which was delivered to the room.
No wi-Fi in the room so could only use my iPad in the lobby and club lounge. Not ideal for making personal calls etc.
On a positive note the club lounge was very nice with plenty to eat and drink throughout the day and evening although no spirits were offered. Our bed was huge and very comfy and the suite was lovely and quiet.
Prior to our arrival my Husband had contacted the hotel and asked for the room to be decorated for our special day and a small cake/ sparkling wine be put in there, he offered to pay for this and on check out it had been added to our bill although there was no decoration or acknowledgement of our celebrations at all from the hotel. Normally I wouldn't have made a comment about this as I have no idea what their policy is regarding ' special touches' for celebrating guests and perhaps in the past at other hotels we have just been spoilt . However I was saddened to read about another guest who said the hotel had delivered a bottle to her room on her birthday and it had been an unexpected surprise !
As we checked out we explained to the Duty a Manager who was at the desk that things could have been better and the suite was a disappointment .......he said if we ever return to the hotel he would offer a better room. Sadly it just wasn't the most memorable hotel stay we had hoped .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BJJNCyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights for a work convention and it is well situated and a nice hotel. Really good breakfast and a small but friendly bar in the lobby area. However as a business hotel the wifi is expensive and only in the lobby. Bizarre but no access in the rooms!!! You can't market yourself as a business hotel if you don't provide the facilities.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Drobig, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting the Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel and for sharing your feedback. It is highly appreciated and we would like to thank you for the kind words received.

Unfortunately we have learnt that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us to the fullest. You highly appreciated the situation of our hotel, as well as the breakfast and the bar facility. Unfortunately you were not content with the internet offer, as you were unable to work properly.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused. We would like to inform you that we take your feedback seriously.

We do remain in the hope that we are able to welcome you back at our hotel to make our next stay with us a memorable and unforgettable one.


With kind regards,


Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week at a conference and for some "touristing". The hotel itself is very grand and imposing but as always it is the little things that let down. Whilst room was basically as expected it did not have those extra touched you would expect plus bed was not very comfortable and A/C was not very adjustable. The staff however were great. Restaurant served a good selection for breakfast - didn't eat in evenings as some walkable local pub/restaurants. Major bugbear for me "again" is the internet/ wifi - you have to pay for it everywhere! I'm sorry but no hotel should charge for this any more as if they put it in for the staff there is no/little extra cost to supply for guests - do hotels charge extra for using water, electricity and TV I don't think so! Also, it had been "billed" as central and is definitely not - takes taxi rides of Euro8-10 each way to get to central Vienna. Nothing really bad but the acid test is would I stay here again when visiting Vienna ... No, as there better hotels at similar prices that are actually in central Vienna.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Drobig, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel for your last visit at Vienna and for taking your time to share the experiences you gained.

We have learnt that you enjoyed your stay with us, although some amenities and services did not meet your expectations and needs. A few issues occurred.

As you mentioned the little things do make a difference and that is the reason why we take your feedback seriously to improve our standards and services accordingly.

On behalf of the entire team we would like to state our sincere apologies on all inconveniences caused.
As the past cannot be changed, we do remain in the hope that you accept our apologies and that we are able to welcome you back at our hotel to make your next stay with us a memorable and unforgettable one.

With kind regards,

Alexandra Drobig
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#79 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#75 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Landstraße
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
Lindner Hotel Am Belvedere
#106 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Property: Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
Address: Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#90 Family Hotel in Vienna
#92 Business Hotel in Vienna
#107 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former military riding school from 1850, the neo-classical Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel is located conveniently to public transportation, the airport and famous attractions. The baroque Belvedere Palace with its impressive Klimt collection is just a short walk away. All guest rooms were renovated in 2013 and feature elegant design details, air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, a large work space, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV and bed dressed with fluffy pillows, down duvets and crisp linens. This hotel offers numerous dining options throughout the day. Enjoy a full American breakfast buffet, sample traditional Austrian dishes and seasonal specialties at the rustic Arsenal; or sip cocktails late into the night at the Lobby Bar. The City Garden is host to the hotel's popular City Barbecue, where diners can enjoy chef favorites, grill on their own or just relax in the lounge. Both business and leisure guests will enjoy the indoor pool with adjacent sunbathing-area and the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing