We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected!”
Review of Hilton Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Vienna
Ranked #111 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Weymouth,DorsetUK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our Christmas river cruise with Viking was brought to an abrupt halt at Regensburg due to the flooding of the Danube. This eventually entailed us being taken by coach to Vienna and then Budapest.
The hotel at Vienna handled the arrival of nearly 200 passengers from two river cruise ships on an emergency booking with considerable ability. This was helped by the assistance of Viking staff who had accompanied us. Baggage was already in our rooms when we arrived. The hotel is first class. The surroundings are attractive for a city centre hotel and the rooms were everything one has been led to expect from Hilton.
Two double beds and space to spare. The bathroom was excellent with all the usual attractive toiletries. Goodness knows what it cost Viking but we were very grateful to them for the efforts they made to make up for our disappointment.
The meals were buffet style with hot and cold available in a room set aside for our very large group. The choice was extensive and temptingly tasteful. Because of our arrangements with Viking, wine was included with the meal. The wine served, red and white, was middle of the range but certainly satisfied our tastes.
I would certainly recommend the hotel for a longer stay as it appears to have everything one could wish for. The staff were extremely helpful. WiFi was available in public rooms.
One could almost hope for a repeat of the river trip under the same circumstances!

Room Tip: I doouibt if they have any rooms to avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    1,208
    406
    133
    65
See reviews for
505
1,007
210
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

stayed 4 nights over new year-very enjoyable time had by myself and partner-all staff very helpfull-new years eve buffet had eveything you could ask for-oysters,veal,salmon,halibut, etc-all washed down with as much austrian wine as you could drink

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchmakermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the Hilton Vienna.

I was thrilled to learn that you very much enjoyed your stay with us. I also very much appreciated your positive feedback on our New Years Eve buffet.

Dear Guest, it was a great pleasure to learn that we made your stay a special one and I truly hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The location is really great very close to the center of Viena. Excellent view, very polite personnel and the breakfast was just yammy with very good capuchino coffee. I strongly recommend it for Christmas in Viena!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arismari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for your great review of your recent stay at the Hilton Vienna.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciated the friendliness of our team members, our breakfast selection and the location close to the city centre.

I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed on business for 4 nights at beginning of October. Overall the room was comfortable, clean with coffee facilities but a little small. Public areas are spacious with good decor but service a little slow. Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and it was reasonable, but nothing special. If I came back as a tourist I would not stay here as it has no personality! For business it does the job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curvy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was nice. Breakfast was ridiculously overpriced. The manager sent us a bottle of prosecco as we were on part of our honeymoon. The rooms were fine. You had to pay for Internet which was a bit of a shock being in a 5* Hilton hotel!
Great location. Ten min walk to most places. The city at christmas is just magical. The hotel had an amazing tree in the lobby no then downsized it. Not sure why but both were lovely. Overall ok for the price just disappointed with breakfast being so over priced and the Internet

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We spent here 4 days. Very good location to reach the city center and very clean rooms...but no free WiFi!!! Come on, we are in 2013 and you cannot ask to pay for WiFi access in a 5-star luxury hotel. Great breakfast, even if expensive!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio711020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteldirektor, Manager at Hilton Vienna, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

With pleasure I read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and that our services and facilities met your expectations. I also very much appreciated your positive feedback on our breakfast offer.

Further to your remarks on the internet fees, it is my pleasure to inform you that we recently improved our internet connection and now offer free Wi-Fi in our public areas.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for your feedback and I truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Hilton Vienna

Ronald Diesenreiter
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wonderful location, short walk to most everything. The room was fantastic! Spacious, comfortable and had a coffee pot in the room. Nice flat screen TV as well. We were situated on the 5th floor overlooking one of the main streets but away from noise. The Lobby was large and plenty of places to sit. and relax. .We had breakfast included in our package and that is a must when traveling to Vienna. Vienna is a beautiful city but the food is extremely expensive by most standards, so a good hearty breakfast is a must if you are going out for the day. I have stayed in several Hilton Hotels worldwide and this one fits very near the top.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trojanguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#76 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#79 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vienna

Property: Hilton Vienna
Address: Am Stadtpark 1 | A-1030 Vienna, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Vienna
#46 Business Hotel in Vienna
#64 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#79 Family Hotel in Vienna
#81 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring contemporary decor, the award-winning Hilton Vienna hotel is one of Austria's premier hotels. Set in the heart of Vienna, the hotel is just 16 minutes from Vienna International Airport by the city airport train. The main sights and most fashionable shopping streets are within walking distance.Relax in our comfortable guest rooms and enjoy a high standard of amenities. Located on the higher floors of the hotel, the Executive rooms offer breathtaking views over Vienna and exclusive Executive Lounge access with complimentary continental breakfast, drinks and snacks. Upgrade to a bright suite for extra space and excellent views from the private balcony. Try innovative Austrian cuisine on the alfresco terrace of S'PARKS restaurant or enjoy Austrian wines and Viennese coffees at the Lobby Bar & Lounge at this Vienna hotel. Work out in the well-equipped gym or unwind in the sauna, steam bath and relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vienna Hotel Vienna
Hilton International Vienna
Vienna Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing