We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #100 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is all about location - and the view of St. Stephens cathedral roof from the smart roof terrace restaurant. All the main sights are a walk away - even Schonbrun for the more adventurous. Rooms are functional but the beds and pillows are awful. The breakfast room is a delight and breakfast itself is good. We tend to choose hotels with some tradition and charm and this hotel does the job nicely.We got the impression that the no smoking policy in Viennese bars and restaurants was a little lax so be warned.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive review.

We are happy to read that you enjoey our location as well as our Ristorante Settimo Cielo!

We hope to welcome you soon again

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    373
    88
    34
    44
See reviews for
177
248
102
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was nicely located at city center and steps away from the metro. Although the cathedral chimes didn't stop until 11 pm and started up again at 6 am. The bed was the worst I've slept in for my entire life (50 years!!)The pillows were terrible too. I slept with two blankets under me and still the bed was as hard as a rock. Didn't rest well. The rooms were sparse and old. Definitely low budget. But the staff was very sweet, helpful and always cheerful. Breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 219Kristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are sorry to hear that you had reasons to complain during your stay!
Unfortunately you did not come to reception to change the room! Upon your next stay in a Hotel, regardless which, please always mention at reception if there is anything they can do to improve your stay.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Vienna, nevertheless

Kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Full of old world charm in centre of city next to St. Stephens cathedral, lots of eating places, shops close by - within walking distance of most tourist destinations.The staff, particularly in the breakfast room, were friendly and cheerful. The breakfasts were good with a lovely variety on offer. Even tho’ close to cathedral bells it was a quiet hotel apart from a little noise first thing in the mornings, no traffic noise as in a pedestrianized area. Our room was clean and comfortable, would happily make a return visit. The café on the corner by hotel had great iced coffee with ice-cream and delicious cakes!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice reply on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Royal and would be very happy to welcome you soon again.

Sunny regards form Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramat gan, israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Royal in Vienna. The location couldn't have been better, right next to Stephan Cathedral and within walking distance to many of th main sights. The hotel is also right next to a subway station. In addition, I generally felt very safe walking around in the area near the hotel (or elsewhere in Vienna). The room was very clean and pleasant with a nice bathroom. The hotel is right on a busy street. I had the airconditioner on and did not open the window, so I did not hear any noise. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very good. The only two drawbacks were the following: Single rooms in European hotels are often very small with tiny single beds. This was not the case here. There were two single beds, but they were on wheels and kept moving, so in effect you ended up sleeping on a very narrow single bed, with a very narrow single blanket. Other than that, the bed was quite comforable.The second problem was the hight of the bathtub, which could certainly pose a safety problem for older and even younger travelers. The hotel has a nice Italian restaurant on the premises (with pictures of many famous customers, such as Placido Domingo), which came in handy since I arrved late and did not feel like going out looking for a place to eat late at night. The hotel also has also a rooftop bar. However, it was totally suffocating because of the smoke, so this was not an option for me. In Austria, smoking is allowed in many restaurants. In this case, there wasn't even a designated non-smokers' area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkirschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

than you very much for choosing our Hotel Royal.

We are delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay at Hotel Royal. We will pass your compliments and suggestions on for improvement to our team. Thank you again!

Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Four of us stayed at this hotel for a four night break and found it to be perfect for our needs. The location is superb and we thought it was very good value for money. We are seniors but I think it might not be modern enough for young people. It has obviously been very popular with very famous artists who have performed at the nearby Opera House and there is much musical history to be seen in the many photos around the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The first night we ate at the roof restaurant which was superb fine dining but very expensive. We were on the fifth floor and found that there was a little noise early in the morning which was our only slight complaint. Breakfast was very good indeed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less early morning noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest!
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Hotel Royal. We are very glad to hear that the situation of the hotel suited your needs and that our services met your expectations. Regarding the noise - as the Hotel is situated downtown sometimes noises occur that are out of our influences but are common in big cities.
We hope to welcome you soon back in one of our Kremslehner Hotels!
Your family Kremslehner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last March, it is in perfect location, The staff is great, the rooms are in very good conditions, very clean, good breakfast even though the breakfast room is a little small so it is crowded. I will definatley recomend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest!
Thank your for sharing your impressions of your stay at our Hotel Royal. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your days with us and hope you will return soon again!
Best regards from Vienna, your Kremslehner family and the Team of Hotel Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff are amazing - extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. On to the disappointment...the shampoo bottles were refills, not new. No clocks in the rooms. The beds were rock hard. This hotel is definitely not a 4 star and it's overpriced, even though it's centrally located, (stephenplatz).

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank coach888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for letting us know about your disappoinment regarding your stay at our Hotel Royal. We are sorry to hear that you did not like our hard matrasses - usually we get very satisfied comments about the quality of our beds. You should have informed our reception staff and we would have changed the matrasses immediately! We really regret this fact! Regarding the shampoo - we are very astonished that your shampoo was a refill, as every guest gets a new one. We will talk to our housekeeping department and make sure that this will never happen again! We dearly hope that you will give us a second chance to prove our professionalism to you! Best regards your family Kremslehner and the team of Hotel Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#73 of 360 in Vienna
689 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#164 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 360 in Vienna
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#51 of 360 in Vienna
684 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#102 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing