We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, large rooms, very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #94 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
332 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“clean, large rooms, very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Royal for a business trip. Rooms were very nice and clean, services within the hotel were fine. Helpfulness of staff, especially at the front desk, was outstanding.
Good location.
I wanted to buy some Austrian soccer jerseys for my sons and the desk clerk thought that this was a great idea. Describe how to get to a sports apparel store on the other side of town using the subway. Turned out to be very easy - surprisingly so.
Explored much of old town on foot - lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest 2005 Travel Lover,

thank you so much for your nice words.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Royal and hope to welcome you soon again in one of our Kremslehner Hotels.

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    349
    86
    32
    43
See reviews for
165
234
99
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is impossible to think of better location than hotel Royal in Vienna! It is located next Stephan Cathedral and Kertnerstrasse and Graben. What can be better! The hotel is very traditional with good breakfast and very friendly staff/ The only two thing that seem strange in Royal - just awful old pillows, and absence of any programmes but in German in the old-fashion TV. The rest is wonderful - a lot places to see and to eat nearby/

Room Tip: my room was facing Singerstrasse street, it was O.K.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest Victoria P,

thank you very much for you kind feedback.

We are happy that you had a great time and have enjoyed your stay in Vienna!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Vienna!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Its a good hotel, its near subway, bus station, when I got to this hotel they give me one smoking room, but I don`t smoke, so I ask to change at the reception, it was a good thing because the first room they gave me, was very small, with a heavy smoke odor, and without a view, I don`t know why they give me this room because on the time of the book, I put a note saying that I wish to have one non smoking room. I think its because the price I payed 320 euros for 5 days, and in each room they have the price on the wall, and on the first room the price was like 100 e something euros. On the second room the Price was 300 or 350 I don`t remember... But the lady at the reception was very nice, she change the minute that I ask. The second room that I got it was a big room, for 2 people, the bed its very low to the floor, so when you gonna law down if you are a tall person it fell like you are sitting on the floor... and I am a small person, but its a comfortable bed, its actually 2 single beds push together, and in the middle of the night the beds move on the middle... the hotel don`t have anything like gym, sauna etc, its just the hotel with 2 restaurants, you pay for the location, so if you wanna a hotel with sauna, pool, etc.. this is not for you. Because its very central, near the dome, and big stores you can get everything near the hotel, its a very good location, and from the train station to the hotel by taxi its not expensive. I eat in one of the restaurants the firenze I think near the reception, I eat a pasta was very good, the price a litlle bit expensive, everything in Wien is expensive I think it was because it was off season, I don`t know but wien its nice, but its a very expensive city. In front of the hotel there is a Macdonalds and they stay open until 1 am or 2 am, every day when they cleam my room they left chocalates on my pillow, was a nice gesture, the breakfast its very good, you get your own pot of coffee, and they have everything on breakfast, jams, fruits, cereals, a lot of breads, eggs, bacon, sausage, juices, teas, everthing... One thing, the wall are paper thin, I could hear the person next to my room walking in their room, turning on the tv, talking, one day when I was on the skype with my sister, someone nock on the wall! I think its because the floor are made of wood, so when someone on the other room walk you could hear, its very unnerving... I even hear someone snoring one night. Would I be back? I like so much the location that if I get the same price I would be back yes. And they give internet code for you use internet on your room. bytheway You need to leave an extra money like 50 euros in the reception in case you use the minibar, if you don`t use they give the money back. They staff are friendly, they give you maps, know locations when you ask, its a good hotel. Will be back. One thing I forget the bath... the showerhead its in the middle of the tub, and for the water to fall on you its terrible, because if you turn on it falls from the tub, and if you try to position for the sides it does not stay, so you have to hold the shower head.

Room Tip: My room was 14 on the 6 floor, its a front room, you can see the macdonalds, if you wanna to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank albavsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest Albavsilva,

thank you very much for your feedback.

It is good the read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Royal. We are deeply grateful for such specified reviews.

All advice given from you will be discussed and will help us to find better solutions for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Royal soon and remain with

kind regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

For sure you would find much better hotels nearby, with a great probability of being well treated.... at least for the big money you are paying if not for a simple GUEST status. Not speaking about the comfort, cleanness and poor breakfast.
If you are not lucky enough to find at the front desk the well educated kind of employees, probably you will experience the worst conversation ever for a check in.
I'm not gonna give many details,the fact is that they have two kind of employees: some of them with big lacks of education, English language skills and professional capabilities. They are also aggressive when they are confronted .
I can't imagine any reason a manager of a so respectable chain hotel, would keep such kind of people at the front desk. I bet there were many complains, actually I've seen them written here on TripAdvisor.
15 of January 2013 after 8 PM shift . There were witnesses too , petrified of the scene I've been through...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rusticromania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest RusticRomania,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our Hotel Royal.

We were very disappointed to hear that you had reasons to complain - especially as customer service and staff friendliness is our utmost aim!

We heard that there were problems upon your check-in in regards to the garage, as the travel agency you booked did not inform you about our provided garage service. As all Viennese inner city hotels, we do not have our own garage but do offer a partnership with a special valet parking service, which is known to all agencies we work with!

We are very sorry that this misunderstanding occured and would like to apologise if our receptionist did not explain the procedure properly and in the correct manner.

On the side, we would like to stress that all our staff do speak English and that we do select them carefully.

We talked to the respective receptionist, who would sincerely like to apologise if she affronted you in any way.

We hope to welcome you another time to prove our professionalism.

Yours
sincerely

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had read some reviews about the hotel before I booked so I had seen other people who were removed to a sister hotel named Graben hotel. I was prepared of the fact that maybe we had to move too. When we arrived at Hotel Royal we were told that they were rebuilding and because of that there were no rooms left. They apologized and told us we would get an upgraded room and a man escorted us to Graben and carried my luggage. It was not long and we got a bigger room with bathtub so we didn't mind at all. In the room were two chocolat cakes that were their speciality, with a letter were they once again apologized the inconvenience. I think they solved the situation in a good way.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank asepaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest Asepaasen,

thank you for your nice review, although you were moved to our Graben Hotel.

Unfortunately we were forced by unforeseen circumstances, we had to change the windows very quickly, to relocate you to our Graben Hotel.

We are happy that you still enjoyed you stay with us and that you accepted our apology, we really tried to find the best solution in this situation!

We hope to welcome you soon again

kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

it was amazing to stay on the top floor in a beautifully renovated room. we loved the fact that it was right on Stepah;s Dom Square, close to shopping, restuarants, subway and all conveniences. the breakfast was great and the restaurant in the lobby area served a wonderful dinner menu as well

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest STinMB,

it was a pleasure for us to read your nice comment on tripadvisor, thank you very much for that!

It is very important for us that our guest are satisfied about their stay.

I will forward your feedback to our employees and hope that you will stay again with us in the future!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Best location for going everywhere within or out of the city. Metro at your footstep as well as everything.
Room was clean and spacious. Although it was at the front of the hotel, no noise was heard.
Breakfast was very good, with loads of things to choose from.
The only downside for me was that smoking is no longer allowed in the hotel, but i managed to survive.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophivosCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest SophivosCyprus,

thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us!

We are happy that you had a great time and have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Royal.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again,

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#75 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#146 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#100 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Singerstrasse 3 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#70 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#102 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel Vienna
Hotel Royal Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing