We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PIzzeria Trattoria Santo Stefano - Hotel Graben”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #76 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“PIzzeria Trattoria Santo Stefano - Hotel Graben”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was taken to the PIzzeria Trattoria Santo Stefano at the Hotel Graben by a friend who lives in Vienna. We were looking for a traditional Italian-style restaurant and we were not disappointed.

We did not have a reservation but were soon shown to a comfortable table against one of the walls and received excellent service from the pleasant staff.

We had a simple but most enjoyable meal of minestrone soup and some excellent pasta dishes, all washed down with some Peroni beer and a nice glass of Chianti.

One of the attractions of this place, other than the ambience, service and excellent food was its central location. Dorotheergasse is only a very short distance from St Stephan's Cathedral and is a perfect spot for a casual meal when visiting the old city of Vienna. I will certainly return the next time I am there.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the Graben, but I can recommend the PIzzeria Trattoria Santo Stefano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear, that you loved our Trattoria Santo Stefano in the heart of Vienna with its Italian Menu and our very professional and friendly staff…

We would be very happy to welcome you again, next time you visit our capital.

Best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    329
    71
    26
    27
See reviews for
122
252
90
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kielce, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everything was ok but we were moved from the hotel Royal due to overbooking. Fortunatelly hotel Graben was located very close to Royal and the porters carried our bags, However I think that hotel's staff must be careful with overbooking. Not every guest will be so indulgent like us. Anyway the service was very good as well as the breakfasts. The room a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariusz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are very sorry that we had to relocate you from our Hotel Royal to our Graben Hotel. The Graben Hotel as well as the Hotel Royal are both in property of the Kremslehner group Hotels and only a few minutes in walking. We apologize again for the inconveniences and are very delighted to hear that everything was OK at Graben Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our Hotels and remain

with best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

A good hotel in a central location. The staff were friendly and helpful especially the girls serving breakfast which was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. My only complaints would be the uncomfortable beds and lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. My room was fairly basic but spotlessly clean and obviously quite recently updated. despite being right in the middle of the city it was very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40sueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Graben Hotel, especially our very friendly staff, the tasty breakfast and the cleanness of our facilities.

Regarding the mattress, wewould have been happy to change it, if we would have known it. Please contact reception immediately ´, then we are able to improve your stay instantly.

We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna and remain

with best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location is perfect - 10 min walk to the Opera, which is where most tours start, and walkable everywhere if you are planning to visit mostly tourist sites. Plenty of restaurant options within minutes, too. The front desk staff is absolutely great - Marta B. helped us make some arrangements before we arrived, and was extremely professional, friendly and welcoming. Everyone we met at the hotel, including the hard-working breakfast staff, spoke excellent English and made us feel welcome. They even prepared a special surprise for me on my birthday.:) The room was small, which was a surprise - the pictures make the rooms appear larger. However, the staff and the location more than made up for the small room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheburashka109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that we could exceed your expectation. Thank you for complimenting our perfect location and our very friendly staff both at the reception and in the restaurant.

We will pass your compliments on to them. Please inform us, next time you’ll come to Vienna. We would be very happy to provide you a larger room …

Thank you again for recommending us.

Best regards form Vienna.


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

An interesting hotel,

Pros:

Location is excellent, literally central vienna on your doorstep
Staff are very friendly, always there to greet with a smile, and extremely helpful
Breakfast was fantastic, great variety typically continental, and had a vienniese feel to it with all the pastries
The complimentaty chocolates are a nice touch
The shower is great
Good internet

BUT the,

Cons:

The bed is genuinely rock hard
The rooms feel old
The room was extremely dusty
They charge for ironing and someone will do it for you, the only hotel where I have come accross such policy, I was there for a conference and the idea that I couldnt iron my shirt and trousers the night before and had to wait for someone to do it for me at a surplus cost in the morning was insane and left a bad taste in my mouth.

Really though I would give it a 3 and a half and would still reccomend it to people who want to explore the city for a few days as you cant beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your detailed feedback after your stay at our Graben Hotel.

We are delighted to hear, that you loved the central location, our very professional and friendly staff, the tasty breakfast, etc.

Regarding the negative points, we are sorry to hear, that you feel the bed was too hard and the room dusty and want sincerely apologise for the inconveniences. As we do have different mattresses, please inform reception next time you stay with us, we eill be happy to change it immediately.

Ironing can be ordered through the reception with an extra charge, as we do want to keep the fire hazard as small as possible.

We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna and remain

with kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is just off the main Graben street and 30 seconds from the main underground station, so very centrally located for a good walking tour of the city. The wifi wasnt working in the rooms which was very annoying as I was on business. The hotel took a long tme to accept anything was wrong and over 24hours to fix the problem. Once the wifi was sorted I have nothing to complain about the hotel. However it upset me that they would not accept that anything was wrong, and also you have to keep putting in a code and password everytime you go out and in, its a real pain. I think they should stop being so uptight about wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing a review after your stay at our Graben Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you had some problems with the internet connection and would sincerely like to apologize. Regarding the internet password, unfortunately we have to use them to protect us against internet abuser. Again, please apologize if this caused you some inconvenience.

Thank you for mentioning our really central location, we hope that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in our Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again, next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were very disappointed with the service we received at this hotel. We’d booked and prepaid months earlier on Expedia for two large ‘Superior’ double rooms for ourselves and our daughter and her husband as we were staying for several nights. However when we arrived we found our room wasn’t the spacious room we were expecting but was quite small and cramped. Much of the space we had was taken up with a huge, useless old wardrobe with doors that screeched loudly. It took up so much room on one wall there was hardly any space for our suitcases. After being disappointed with the size of our supposedly Superior room, we checked out our daughter’s room – it was even smaller! Our son-in-law has a wheelchair and there wasn’t anywhere to put it without tripping over it and they could barely move. When we asked the receptionist to confirm that these were indeed the Superior rooms we had booked and paid for, she said yes but finally admitted that our daughter’s room wasn’t. However there was no apology. She merely blamed it on the booking staff and said they would look at changing the room the next day.

Also be warned there is construction going on in the building next door to the hotel. It starts very early in the morning around 6am and is very loud at times. Incredibly when our daughter and her husband were given a new room the following day it was at the end of the hotel right next door to the construction where the noise is the loudest. Needless to say they were woken early and it was very difficult for our son-in-law to rest during the day. However at least their new room was a large one – in fact much bigger than our so-called ‘Superior’ room. It had much better furniture as well including two big armchairs and a desk chair. When we checked the hotel website, we found that the furniture and photo of a Standard room matched ours exactly. We had two of the tiniest curved chairs I’ve ever seen that we could barely sit in. On request our chairs were later replaced with armchairs though they had to be crammed in making the room even more cramped.

We were quite taken aback by the attitude of the manageress. We expected that the hotel would assure us that there would be a refund on the the Superior rate paid for the night our daughter and son-in-law actually spent in the inferior Standard room. But no! When we asked, we got all sorts of fob off answers. We were astounded considering that the hotel had had our money for 8 months. Eventually, after 5 days we were finally told that the difference would be refunded.

On the positive side, the location of the hotel is great with easy access to the Graben and the underground. And the breakfast buffet was excellent. A great range of food with the addition of scrambled eggs and either sausages, ham or bacon each morning. We were very impressed with that. And the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and welcoming. But we can echo the comments of an earlier poster who said the manageress was rude to them. We heard her being very rude to an old man asking for directions one morning. Another time she snapped at us to shut the front doors while our daughter was trying to manoeuvre her husband in his wheelchair through them. Unbelievable!

Despite the positive points, we wouldn’t book this hotel again. We would prefer to stay somewhere that offers a friendlier attitude and better service.

Room Tip: If booking a Superior check what size it really is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for informing us about the happenings at our Graben Hotel, during your last stay in Vienna. We are really very sorry to hear about your problems and apologize for all inconveniences your were faced to. After checking with all concerned departments, please find our comments as follows:

As written in your Email you booked through Expedia 2 Double Superior Rooms. Unfortunately, due to a mistake from our reservation department your daughter and her husband were assigned by mistake only to a Double Standard Room. After claiming at reception our receptionist checked again and had to admit that a mistake had been made. We spoke to her, and she told us, that she did apologize for the inconveniences. She was really very sorry and asked us to apologize again, if you had the impression, that she did not mind. She did, really! Regarding your son-in-law, unfortunately we did not know, that he has a wheelchair. Even if our Graben Hotel is not a specially handicapped equipped hotel we would have assigned your daughter and her husband a larger room from the beginning.

Regarding the size and the furniture of our rooms, we want to assure you, that the rooms respond to the signalized room categories, which is strictly controlled by a hotel commission. We are really sorry if the size of the Double Superior room seemed too small to you.

Regarding the construction noise from our neighbour, we want to apologize too, … unfortunately we are not able to affect the construction works in the city or from our neighbours. We asked them to postpone the noisy works … and they start in the morning only at 9 am.

Regarding the refund for the first night. As the booking was made through Expedia, the refund was made directly to them. We charged Expedia for the first night the price of a Double Standard Room as occupied instead of a Double Superior Room. You have to receive a refund directly from Expedia.

At least, we want to thank you for also mentioning the positive points, like the perfect location, the excellent breakfast and the very friendly staff in the restaurant.

Dear guest, we are really sorry, that we could not exceed your expectation and hope that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#97 of 360 in Vienna
795 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#165 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 360 in Vienna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#51 of 360 in Vienna
684 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#170 of 360 in Vienna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing