We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic hotel but good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #76 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“basic hotel but good location”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel is just off the main Graben street and 30 seconds from the main underground station, so very centrally located for a good walking tour of the city. The wifi wasnt working in the rooms which was very annoying as I was on business. The hotel took a long tme to accept anything was wrong and over 24hours to fix the problem. Once the wifi was sorted I have nothing to complain about the hotel. However it upset me that they would not accept that anything was wrong, and also you have to keep putting in a code and password everytime you go out and in, its a real pain. I think they should stop being so uptight about wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modest613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing a review after your stay at our Graben Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you had some problems with the internet connection and would sincerely like to apologize. Regarding the internet password, unfortunately we have to use them to protect us against internet abuser. Again, please apologize if this caused you some inconvenience.

Thank you for mentioning our really central location, we hope that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in our Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again, next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards


Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    320
    69
    26
    26
See reviews for
115
240
89
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were very disappointed with the service we received at this hotel. We’d booked and prepaid months earlier on Expedia for two large ‘Superior’ double rooms for ourselves and our daughter and her husband as we were staying for several nights. However when we arrived we found our room wasn’t the spacious room we were expecting but was quite small and cramped. Much of the space we had was taken up with a huge, useless old wardrobe with doors that screeched loudly. It took up so much room on one wall there was hardly any space for our suitcases. After being disappointed with the size of our supposedly Superior room, we checked out our daughter’s room – it was even smaller! Our son-in-law has a wheelchair and there wasn’t anywhere to put it without tripping over it and they could barely move. When we asked the receptionist to confirm that these were indeed the Superior rooms we had booked and paid for, she said yes but finally admitted that our daughter’s room wasn’t. However there was no apology. She merely blamed it on the booking staff and said they would look at changing the room the next day.

Also be warned there is construction going on in the building next door to the hotel. It starts very early in the morning around 6am and is very loud at times. Incredibly when our daughter and her husband were given a new room the following day it was at the end of the hotel right next door to the construction where the noise is the loudest. Needless to say they were woken early and it was very difficult for our son-in-law to rest during the day. However at least their new room was a large one – in fact much bigger than our so-called ‘Superior’ room. It had much better furniture as well including two big armchairs and a desk chair. When we checked the hotel website, we found that the furniture and photo of a Standard room matched ours exactly. We had two of the tiniest curved chairs I’ve ever seen that we could barely sit in. On request our chairs were later replaced with armchairs though they had to be crammed in making the room even more cramped.

We were quite taken aback by the attitude of the manageress. We expected that the hotel would assure us that there would be a refund on the the Superior rate paid for the night our daughter and son-in-law actually spent in the inferior Standard room. But no! When we asked, we got all sorts of fob off answers. We were astounded considering that the hotel had had our money for 8 months. Eventually, after 5 days we were finally told that the difference would be refunded.

On the positive side, the location of the hotel is great with easy access to the Graben and the underground. And the breakfast buffet was excellent. A great range of food with the addition of scrambled eggs and either sausages, ham or bacon each morning. We were very impressed with that. And the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant and welcoming. But we can echo the comments of an earlier poster who said the manageress was rude to them. We heard her being very rude to an old man asking for directions one morning. Another time she snapped at us to shut the front doors while our daughter was trying to manoeuvre her husband in his wheelchair through them. Unbelievable!

Despite the positive points, we wouldn’t book this hotel again. We would prefer to stay somewhere that offers a friendlier attitude and better service.

Room Tip: If booking a Superior check what size it really is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for informing us about the happenings at our Graben Hotel, during your last stay in Vienna. We are really very sorry to hear about your problems and apologize for all inconveniences your were faced to. After checking with all concerned departments, please find our comments as follows:

As written in your Email you booked through Expedia 2 Double Superior Rooms. Unfortunately, due to a mistake from our reservation department your daughter and her husband were assigned by mistake only to a Double Standard Room. After claiming at reception our receptionist checked again and had to admit that a mistake had been made. We spoke to her, and she told us, that she did apologize for the inconveniences. She was really very sorry and asked us to apologize again, if you had the impression, that she did not mind. She did, really! Regarding your son-in-law, unfortunately we did not know, that he has a wheelchair. Even if our Graben Hotel is not a specially handicapped equipped hotel we would have assigned your daughter and her husband a larger room from the beginning.

Regarding the size and the furniture of our rooms, we want to assure you, that the rooms respond to the signalized room categories, which is strictly controlled by a hotel commission. We are really sorry if the size of the Double Superior room seemed too small to you.

Regarding the construction noise from our neighbour, we want to apologize too, … unfortunately we are not able to affect the construction works in the city or from our neighbours. We asked them to postpone the noisy works … and they start in the morning only at 9 am.

Regarding the refund for the first night. As the booking was made through Expedia, the refund was made directly to them. We charged Expedia for the first night the price of a Double Standard Room as occupied instead of a Double Superior Room. You have to receive a refund directly from Expedia.

At least, we want to thank you for also mentioning the positive points, like the perfect location, the excellent breakfast and the very friendly staff in the restaurant.

Dear guest, we are really sorry, that we could not exceed your expectation and hope that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I have ordered the Graben Hotel without any knowledge about its prime location and when we arrived it was during the night so we just noticed that it was excellent choose when we got out in the morning, after very good breakfast that we had, the stephanplatz was one minute walk, the heart of the city, just near the underground, and the room was clean every day , the stuff was very helpful they helped us with every inquiry that we asked and needed, will recommend to everyone .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YARON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing our lovely Graben Hotel, a few minutes walk from St. Stephan’s cathedral during your last stay in Vienna.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house, especially the really central location, the tasty breakfast, the very professional an friendly staff as well as the cleanness of the hotel and the rooms.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends! Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in the Graben for a few days with friends. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and very helpful staff. Conveniently placed for access to all the city centre attractions and opposite a fine coffee house too. Would certainly use this one again.....and again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apw799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel upon your visit in Vienna.

With pleasure we read, that you liked our hotel, especially its very central location, our gorgeous breakfast and the comfortable room. We would be very pleased to welcome you again, … and again, …

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ive stayed at the Graben hotel for 4 days and I have to say, it was worth it. The room was a bit small but thats not a big deal as I came to vienna to discover the city and not to stay in my room. The staff was suuuuuuuuper friendly. and the room was cleaned every day. The included breakfast buffet was also very nice and had several choices to take :) I just had issues with the supplied pillow ( to high and to hard) but thats just me.I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to go shopping or discover the city. I for sure will come back to this hotel if I come to vienna again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higherlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear, that we could exceed your expectation, especially with the friendliness of our staff and will forward the compliments to them! Thank you again!

Looking forward to your soon return visit!

Kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family



Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice in February and had two different experiences. First time room was ok, not too big, clean. Second time I was on 7tf floor in tiny room with roof windows and just too small for me. Rooms are clean, TV is very small. First time staff was great, second time totally different experience. Gave me wrong information, at breakfast were very rude. Breakfast was modest. This hotel has great location in centre, but garage is expensive - 35 € per night

Room Tip: Avoid room on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nibu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in our Graben Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that during your second stay you were not as satisfied as the first time. Please inform us about your room wishes next time you plan to travel to Vienna.
All our rooms are different and we would be happy to assist you in any possible way.

Regarding the garage, the garage is a public one, independent from the hotel as well as the prices. We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna and remain

with kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 5 days, and enjoyed every minute of it! First and most important, the location: it's just around the corner of Vienna's "heart" - St. Stephan'sdom, and less than a minute from the U Bahn station (Vienna's Subway) that will get you anywhere you'd like around the city.
Regarding to the staff and service - it was nothing less than excellent. The entire staff were super-friendly and welcoming, and extremely helpful with every questions we had. We also got recommendations on good cafe's and shopping centers.
The hotel room itself was pretty standard, it had all the equipment you need in a hotel room - free WIFI, TV, hair-dryer, fridge, etc.
The breakfast buffet offered a diverse and tasteful selection.
If we'll get the chance to come back to Vienna - we'll definitely stay again in Graben Hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that has a street-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeravHelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved our Graben Hotel, especially its really central location, the nice rooms, our great costumer service, the tasty breakfast, … . Such nice and appreciative comments, that’s exactly what keeps us going.

Thank you also for your compliments regarding our professional and very friendly staff. We sincerely hope to welcome you soon again in one of our hotels. Please recommend us to your friends

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#98 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#144 of 362 in Vienna
566 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#36 of 362 in Vienna
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#105 of 362 in Vienna
252 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#10 of 362 in Vienna
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing