We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great. Location good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #71 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great. Location good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I have ordered the Graben Hotel without any knowledge about its prime location and when we arrived it was during the night so we just noticed that it was excellent choose when we got out in the morning, after very good breakfast that we had, the stephanplatz was one minute walk, the heart of the city, just near the underground, and the room was clean every day , the stuff was very helpful they helped us with every inquiry that we asked and needed, will recommend to everyone .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YARON S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing our lovely Graben Hotel, a few minutes walk from St. Stephan’s cathedral during your last stay in Vienna.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house, especially the really central location, the tasty breakfast, the very professional an friendly staff as well as the cleanness of the hotel and the rooms.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends! Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards from Vienna

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    314
    69
    26
    25
See reviews for
112
236
89
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed in the Graben for a few days with friends. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and very helpful staff. Conveniently placed for access to all the city centre attractions and opposite a fine coffee house too. Would certainly use this one again.....and again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apw799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel upon your visit in Vienna.

With pleasure we read, that you liked our hotel, especially its very central location, our gorgeous breakfast and the comfortable room. We would be very pleased to welcome you again, … and again, …

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ive stayed at the Graben hotel for 4 days and I have to say, it was worth it. The room was a bit small but thats not a big deal as I came to vienna to discover the city and not to stay in my room. The staff was suuuuuuuuper friendly. and the room was cleaned every day. The included breakfast buffet was also very nice and had several choices to take :) I just had issues with the supplied pillow ( to high and to hard) but thats just me.I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to go shopping or discover the city. I for sure will come back to this hotel if I come to vienna again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higherlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear, that we could exceed your expectation, especially with the friendliness of our staff and will forward the compliments to them! Thank you again!

Looking forward to your soon return visit!

Kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family



Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel twice in February and had two different experiences. First time room was ok, not too big, clean. Second time I was on 7tf floor in tiny room with roof windows and just too small for me. Rooms are clean, TV is very small. First time staff was great, second time totally different experience. Gave me wrong information, at breakfast were very rude. Breakfast was modest. This hotel has great location in centre, but garage is expensive - 35 € per night

Room Tip: Avoid room on 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nibu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor after your stay in our Graben Hotel.

We are sorry to hear that during your second stay you were not as satisfied as the first time. Please inform us about your room wishes next time you plan to travel to Vienna.
All our rooms are different and we would be happy to assist you in any possible way.

Regarding the garage, the garage is a public one, independent from the hotel as well as the prices. We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna and remain

with kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 5 days, and enjoyed every minute of it! First and most important, the location: it's just around the corner of Vienna's "heart" - St. Stephan'sdom, and less than a minute from the U Bahn station (Vienna's Subway) that will get you anywhere you'd like around the city.
Regarding to the staff and service - it was nothing less than excellent. The entire staff were super-friendly and welcoming, and extremely helpful with every questions we had. We also got recommendations on good cafe's and shopping centers.
The hotel room itself was pretty standard, it had all the equipment you need in a hotel room - free WIFI, TV, hair-dryer, fridge, etc.
The breakfast buffet offered a diverse and tasteful selection.
If we'll get the chance to come back to Vienna - we'll definitely stay again in Graben Hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room that has a street-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeravHelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved our Graben Hotel, especially its really central location, the nice rooms, our great costumer service, the tasty breakfast, … . Such nice and appreciative comments, that’s exactly what keeps us going.

Thank you also for your compliments regarding our professional and very friendly staff. We sincerely hope to welcome you soon again in one of our hotels. Please recommend us to your friends

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very nice european hotel. Fully renovated, wifi in the room works and bed was very comfortable. Best was the staff. All are very professional, helpful and friendly. Location is perfect in the center on old Vienna on a quiet side street. Literally steps to Stephanpslatz! The included breakfast was good and certainly provided enough choices for everyone to start their day.
Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room, gives a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your very nice feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our services, especially the very central location, our perfect amenities, the professionalism and friendliness of our staff, and the tasty breakfast. Please recommend us also to your friends.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back to our Hotel.
Your Kremslehner family and the Graben Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very good location to visit the city, very nice interior (Art Deco) and good breakfast. If I ever visit Vienna again, I will certainly go to the same hotel. Also good to know, just opposite the hotel you have one of the famous cafés in Vienna, 'Hawelka', very nice atmosphere!

Room Tip: Rooms at streetside can be noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Anne!
Thank ypu for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be glad to welcome you back soon to our beautiful city. Regards your Kremslehner family and the Graben Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#98 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#149 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#34 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pension Domizil
Pension Domizil
#103 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing