We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Terrible Receptionist”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #82 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel mid October . We choose this hotel after reading all the good reviews here. The location is excellent, easy to get around most of the main attractions. The room is clean and nice and breakfast is excellent. However, when we arrived in the afternoon, we were greated by the most rude and snobbish receptionist we had ever met in all our hotel stays around the world. She never greet us nor give us a local map, practically throw the keys to us ! When we checked out, it's the same staff and when we paid exactly the amount in cash, her eyes roll ! This makes us wonder are all Wieners like that ? Or perhaps this hotel does not welcome Asians. Please state it in the web. Do not worry, we are here as tourist and not to stay in your country! Perhaps should send the receptionist for a customer service course.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank autumnfurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your experience in our Graben Hotel. First of all we would sincerely like to apologize for what happened.

We checked with our front office staff and want to inform you that the front office manager herself did the check- in as well as the check-out! She did not remember the situation but was really surprised about the complaint. She assured us that she did not mean to be rude or impolite to you, and if you had this impression she really wants to apologize.

All our Kremslehner Hotels are 4* hotels and we assure you that we have a really international clientele, and also a lot of Asian guests. Our front office manager herself is a foreigner and absolutely not xenophobic.

Please apologize again for all inconveniences you were faced to at Graben Hotel. We hope, that you could anyhow enjoy your stay in Vienna and would be very pleased to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 732 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Location, location, location. The hotel is in an excellent location, just two minutes walk from St Stephens in the heart of the main shopping area, with all the main sites, such as the Hapsburg residence/Spanish riding school & opera all within a few minutes walk & the subway is also two minutes walk. The hotel is very clean, the staff professional and helpful and there is the bonus of the Italian restaurant on the ground floor. A downside for the hotel is the lack of a bar/lounge area to relax after a day sight, granted there are cafes/bars near the hotel, but a night cap before heading to bed would be preferable. As mentioned the major pluspoint is the location, make sure you purchase the 3 day travel pass, useful for visiting all the main sites; the subway is clean and has plenty of cameras. Vienna is a very pleasant place to visit, though there are not the wow sites of Rome and it is easy to get a little bored of visiting stately homes/residences. A cheap alternative to a taxi from the hotel is the CATS shuttle train, though it is a fair walk up to the hotel. All in all, Vienna is worth a visit and will look very special when covered with snow.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keeponexporing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review after your stay at Graben Hotel. We are very happy to read, that you enjoyed the stay in our house and that you loved the location! Thank you also for mentioning our very professional and friendly staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our hotels.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was one of the nicest small hotels we stayed in Europe so far. The location was terrific right off of the pedestrian street near St Stephan's Cathedral. The u-Bahn is a few steps away and there's lots of nice restaurants and shops everywhere. Try the small restaurant across the street (
For great local food and atmosphere.
The hotel rooms are a nice size with two twins put together or separated. The breakfast which was included was terrific with lots of fresh breads and pastries as well as meats, cheeses, eggs and sausage, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee and a nice selection of teas.
We would have loved to stay here longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Guest Avram,

thank your for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved our small Graben Hotel in the very centre of Vienna, especially our rooms and our delicious breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location ,shopping area and restaurant very near ,close to St Stephen cathedral, and near to Opera,but small room ,small bathroom not level of 4 star ,small lobby,breakfast not bad staff not very helpful,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Haider B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

it was a great place , neat , excellent breakfast and helpful staff. for a business trip or a short visit to town , this is a great place to reserve, Gala hotels gave me also the best rates on the internet

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Sadek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest Sadek,

thank you for your nice feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that everything was fine, that you appreciated the location, the breakfast and our staff. We would be happy to welcome you back again in the future!

Best regards from Vienna


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very very convenient. 4* Vienna perhaps more like 3* UK but it was great for us, a group of 3 couples.
Rooms functional, clean and very adequate for a City break. Staff excellent. Plenty of food and variety for breakfast.
Italian restaurant next door, good value and good service.
Anyone going to Vienna should consider this Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFMeriden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest PF Meriden,

thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel for your last trip to Vienna.
We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our amenities, especially our great customer service. Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Graben Hotel is located just off Graben Strasse which is a large pedestrian street with
lots of high-end shopping and very close to the St. Stephen's Cathedral. The room was small but quiet and clean and had a refrigerator. Breakfasts are very nice with everything you'd possibly want. My only complaint was the young woman's attitude when we checked in. When we asked for the quiet room she laughed at us and said sarcastically that "it was a little late to be making that type of request"! She proceeded to put us in a room directly across from the elevator which was exactly what we didn't want! My husband went down to ask for another room and she put us in a room on the top floor at the end of the hall. All of the rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the young woman from Hungary who gave us great suggestions for our next stop in Budapest.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back side and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest Dabrah,

thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel Graben, especially the location in the very centre of Vienna, nearby the Stefan’s Cathedral and other tourist attractions.

We are very disappointed to read about the behaviour of our receptionist at your arrival. We spoke to our front office manager as well as to our receptionist about her behaviour and your complaint and we really would like to apologize – she usually is a very friendly and polite person and we do not really know what happened that day, … She assured us that she did not intend to be impolite to you and also wants sincerely to apologize.

As business owner we all are dependant on human performance and unfortunately the behaviour of the staff is not always as perfect as it should be. Mistakes happen and our guests are the ones who suffer most – we feel really very, very sorry about that.

Thank you again for telling us about your impressions at Graben Hotel. We will make sure that this will not happen again!

We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Familly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#102 of 359 in Vienna
865 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#161 of 359 in Vienna
410 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#31 of 359 in Vienna
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#152 of 359 in Vienna
279 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,225 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#39 of 359 in Vienna
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $110 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing