We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, Boutique Approach”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #87 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

You're within 30ft of the main walking area in central Vienna, an air conditioned room, wifi, and most of all - quiet! While other reviews call the rooms "small", you should instead think of them being efficient and well appointed. Hotel staff was very accommodating and the morning breakfast a good start to the day.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest Harold S,

thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at our Graben Hotel.

We are delighted to see your comments about our perfect amenities, our beautiful hotel and we are extremely thankful to read that our team was very friendly.

Thank you again for posting a review on TripAdvisor! We look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 711 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is nice enough, but there are certainly nicer hotels in the city center of Vienna. My main problem with the hotel was the Wifi. I was on the third floor and there was NO wifi! I had to walk down to the second floor to get a signal, and I had to walk down to the lobby to have a good signal. So if you like to have internet in your room, you may want to ask for a first floor room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest Logan H,

thank your for taking the time to post a feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear, that we did not exceed your expectation. After consulting our technical team, we had a problem with our W-LAN during your stay in your florr (3rd). It was out of order for one day, and then caused some problems in the third floor for another 2 days. We are sorry to hear, that this caused you some inconvenience.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights on our return trip from the UK to NZ. It was a pleasant interlude. Room was very spacious and very quiet and well maintained.
Location was really great for the activities we wanted to undertake.
Staff were very helpful and booking a trip on the Danube through Reception was not a problem.
Breakfast of very good quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest Robert A,

thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel for your last trip to Vienna.

We are delighted to hear, that we could exceed your expectation and that you appreciated your stay in our hotel, especially our good amenities and the friendliness of our staff.

Thank you for posting your experiences at TripAdvisor. Hoping to welcome you soon again in one of our Kremslehner Hotels in Vienna.

Best regards.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Despite his very good location it is not an alternative for spending your time here.
Rooms are very small and is you are experience a hot day, they don't have air condition in all the rooms. A turbo fan can be offered but it is not the same thing. Don't sped your time in the room go and visit the proximity. Fair breakfast . This is not a real 4 stars hotel, maybe 3 stars will be more appropriate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a feedback after your stay at Graben Hotel. We are sorry to hear, that we did not meet your expectations but are at the same time very astonished about your review.

Our Hotel Graben has been established in 1918 and due to his special architecture all our rooms are different in size and form and have an individual style, mainly furnished in Art Nouveau. We are really sorry that the room assigned to you during your stay seemed to small to you, but we assure you that all of our rooms, even the smallest one respond to the high standards for 4-star hotels which is yearly checked through a hotel commission.

In 2013 from January until April we refurbished all rooms from scratch, including installing an air condition for all rooms. Therefore we cannot understand your claim that we do not have an air condition at all?

Dear Guest we are really sorry for all inconveniences your were faced to and sincerely want to apologize. We would be very happy if you could give us a chance next time you visit Vienna.

Please contact us, we would be very glad to assign you a very nice (and more spacious ) room which surely will find your pleasure.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Graben Hotel. A very nice hotel on a perfect location. Very pleasant staff. Wonderfull breakfast.
The hotel was renovated,just recently, to become a modern hotel with a fast elevator and wireless internet connection in every room.
The room we have stayed in ( standart double) was big enough and very clean. We also got, a very good price, comparing to all other 4 stars hotels in near the same location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank your very much for choosing Graben Hotel for your recent stay in Vienna. We are happy to hear that we could exceed your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for sharing your impressions and especially for recommending our Hotel to other TripAdvisor readers! Looking forward to your return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent location, very good service, rooms were very clean. One day we had a small leakage in 1 of the bathrooms, which was repaired immediately. Airco worked very well, although a bit noisy, but very welcome as the outside temperatures were high (up to 39°C) during our trip. Also breakfast was very good with a lot of choices, and the Italian restaurant of the hotel was good as well. Overall, we had a very good time in the Graben Hotel, and if we decide to come back to Vienna again, we will book the same hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your trip to Vienna and loved our little charming Graben Hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your good experiences and posting your review on TripAdvisor. We would be very happy to welcome you again, next time your visit Vienna.

Best regards from Vienna!


Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room and bath were small, but certainly workable. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the location is excellent. If you want a hotel with some old world charm and a good value, I would recommend The Hotel Graben.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel and it wasn't a problem. The hotel is situated on a sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkp85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank your so much for posting your nice review on TripoAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Graben Hotel and would recommend it to other voyagers. Looking forward to your return visit.
Best regards from Vienna!
Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#109 of 359 in Vienna
836 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#168 of 359 in Vienna
605 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 359 in Vienna
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,159 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 359 in Vienna
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $139 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing