We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #73 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked the hotel on the internet and paid in advance (i never use a credit card). The location of the hotel is superb and that also is the one and only plus.
At arrival (i was cold, sick and tired) the receptionist had to cash another 30 euro's for guarantee. Since i only had 15 it was not enough for her (her behavior reminds me of those WW-II movies).
OK struggled to the ATM and after finally arriving at the room the 30 euro's seems to be the value of the complete room interior. Bed too small, the wardrobe had about the equal size as the shower. Seen the smallest TV ever (fortunately it was a color). And the interior was very very outdated and ready for the trash dump.
However my behavior was also not very polite to the receptionist, i apologized later on. She said it was not a problem, often she has bigger incidents with guests at her front desk ?!?!

Never again for me! Price value is not in balance and there are many other and for sure better hotels in the near of Stephans platz

Room Tip: Better not take ANY room in this institute
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacques v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest Jacques1606,

Thank you for your review.
The feedback of our guest is very important for us to help improve our standards.

We are very sorry to hear that you had reasons to complain.

All guests are asked upon Check In if they want to leave as a deposit 30 Euro in cash or a credit card for their extras: minibar, telephone, Restaurant...
It is not mistrust, but an international procedure to guarantee for the extras, if a guest does not have time to check out at reception.
Every guest gets an Informational Invoice about the deposit. We are sorry if you felt mistreated.

Regarding the room interior: Graben Hotel will get refurbished from January until April 2013, 4 floors will be renovated completely. All other floors have been refurbished 2 years ago.

We will be happy to show you our new Graben Hotel in May.

Best regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    329
    71
    26
    27
See reviews for
122
252
90
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently stayed for 2 nights at this Hotel. Staff were very helpful. Porter was such a lovely helpful man who cares so much about the Hotel and having everything tidy and in order at the front desk area. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean. Bed very comfortable. Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice and freshly made coffee brought to your table. Best location with a fantastic shopping area at your doorstep. We would definitely stay there again.

Pamela and Richard
Melbourne
Australia

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Pamela and Richard,

thank you so much for your lovely review!

We are greatful for your positive feedback concerning our staff and our breakfast!

It is nice to read that we suceeded in providing a good service to you!

As a family run business we are proud of our mostly long-serving employees and we know how important it is to be able to rely on them.

We hope we can offer you soon again our hospitality and would be more than happy to assist you personally with your next reservation!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fantastic location. Walking distance to all major sites and close to underground! Friendly staff that speak English and they are extremely helpful! Great breakfast! Room and bathroom are quite small when foldout is added- but really when your on holidays how much time do you really spend in the room! Very attractive male receptionist!

We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Febbs,

it was really a pleasure to read your comment on tripadvisor!

Our reception team feels very flattered because of your very nice words.

I am very happy that you had a great stay with us and hope you will come back in the future!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just came back from a week at the Graben Hotel. It is situated in the best location you can ask for, within walking distance from every site and attraction. Breakfast is very rich, with planty of choices. rooms are huge with lots of storage space, the beds are very very comfortable. Service is very good, the hotel is very cosy. When I first read all the reviews here, I was a little bit worried that there would be problems with my reservation, but all in all it turend out that there was nothing to worry about. I would recommend it to everyone who wants to go to Vienna and stay right in the middle of evrything.

Room Tip: We stayed at room #23 - huge and spacious with large windows to the front. great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundun0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest Dundun0101,

thank you very much for your positive feedback!

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our Graben Hotel and that we exceeded your ecpectations. It is always nice to see that we are on the right way in satisfying our guests, thank you for that.

I will be happy to assist you with your next reservation directly.

Hope to see you soon again

Yours sincerely

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

in Vienna again, for Christmas shopping ! we love Vienna in summer and winter times ! and the Graben hotel is , for us, the best location !( 3rd time ) a few steps from U-bahn, a short walk to the Ring and all attractions, and in winter, there is not only the Rathaus christmas shopping but try also the Freyung and Am Hof xmas villages ! for room, breakfast, service ... we will come back ! we have been told about renovation works ....we can't wait to see the results ! all the best for you, in 2013 !

Room Tip: room 27, at the end of the floor, large and quiet room ! but mind you ....no view ! one of the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiianchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest hawaiianchris,

thank you for taking the time and sharing your impressions with us!
We are very happy that we could exeed your expectations and you had a great time.
The whole Graben-Team is looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fantastic location, clean room and bathroom and helpful staff make this a great place to stay . The buffet breakfast was full of good food and serivice was excellent. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest Kelly V,

it is very nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your next one!

We are happy that you felt at home and that you liked your room and the location so much!

Thank you for your great compliments, we are looking forward to welcome you again!

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Hotel has a fantastic location - not more than 100-300 m away from Stephan's Dome, main shopping/pedestrian street, Opera House, metro station and many other buildings and Institutions (Hofburg etc.)
This makes sightseeing, business meetings, shopping etc.more than convenient.
The hotel staff was very kind upon arrival and during the stay.
The room was overlooking the street but no noise in the night. It room was clean, comfortable bed, clean and adequate bathroom - the furniture was maybe not the most modern but neither the style of the hotel is. I thought it was a nice touch that the hotel staircase was used to display actually a picture/graphics exhibition.. The hotel is a part of hotel chain which also owns a chain of restaurants. And one of the restaurants is immediate adjacent/connected to the hotel. They had some good bargain lunch offers. Breakfast was included and it was quite good. All in all - next trip to Vienna I am in Graben. Price of approx.100 EUR is not too much for the location and the rest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ledeya,

thank you very much for your wonderful review!
Every time we are delighted to get such kind comments- thank you very much for taking the time to let us know!
We always do our best to satisfy our customers and it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Your Kremslehner family and the Graben Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#100 of 360 in Vienna
796 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#164 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 360 in Vienna
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#51 of 360 in Vienna
684 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#173 of 360 in Vienna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing