We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central placed, but to expensive for what they offered”
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Graben Hotel
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very central placed, but to expensive for what they offered”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed there one night in March 2012.
It is 40 minutes far from airport with the car.
Rooms are on average level: clean but with the impression and smell of very old.
The floorboards creaked and overall it was a feeling from 50 century.
Breakfast was good (food and drinks), but the breakfast room is similar with the rooms.
Staff was friendly, nothing to criticize them. Also they prepared very quickly the check in and check out and very helpful with information and taxi reservation.
The strongest point for this hotel is that is very central placed, very close to Stefan's Dome.
The good think is that I survived, I was a single night there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xdmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest Xdmat,

thank you for your review from which we understand that your sentiments towards our establishment are not the best.
We are very sorry that you do not enjoyed your stay with us. We have to tell you that a lot has been changed since you stayed with us - we have been refurbishing our Trattoria during the summer time - so it is brand new by now.
In the upcoming months we are going to invest further in our Graben hotel and we will refurbish most of our rooms.In case you return to Vienna, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back to change your opinion.
Best regards your Kremslehner family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    330
    72
    26
    27
See reviews for
122
253
91
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We found the Graben Hotel in a central location for visiting central Vienna. It was clean, friendly, their own restaurant was excellent serving pizza, homemade pasta and other Italian dishes. Ok the room was narrow and ok the shower room was small but the bed was comfortable and the room clean. For a city centre location I could put up with a couple of things to have the handiness of being able to walk to all the main visitor sites and the tourist bus. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety and types.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50karen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear 50Karen_12,

thank you for your review about your stay at our Graben Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the food at our Trattoria Santo Sefano.It is very rewarding and motivating for our team to get feedback like yours.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!
Your Kremslehner family and the Graben Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I know enough not to be surprised at tiny hotel rooms in Europe, but this one was so ridiculous, Worse, the bathroom was dangerous. Not that we bumped our heads getting off the toilet, or that we bumped our toes opening the bathroom door, but inside the shower there was a web of hot pipes mounted on the wall. It was near impossible not to burn a body part while showering! The top of the mattress was below my knee, and I'm only 5'1". The tiny old TV is mounted at ceiling height AT THE TOP OF THE BED! How does that work? The short little bed was comfortable enough once you fell into it, but the room was boiling hot from the stupid pipes in the shower. Sleep wasn't easy. They did have an excellent breakfast and friendly staff, and - Yes, it's steps to the Graben if you want to shop, but honestly, reserve closer to the sights - up on the Ringstrasse, or Mariahilferstrasse.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTMknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest mtm 12529,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with the tripadvisor community.
Feedback is very essential for us, it gives us the chance to improve our quality and service.
We are really sorry for the issues with the room! Given that we decided to refurbish the Graben Hotel from January 2013- April 2013. We will do all rooms completely new!
We would be happy to present you the Graben Hotel completely new in May 2013!
Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Of course you can, but not as "cheap".
I love this place, old fashioned, in the heart of the city, everything is just around the corner, breakfast is yummy, rooms are clean, beds are just great...and I got great deal on web booking so it was really good decision to book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepidCRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest IntrepidCRO,

thank you for staying with us!
We are happy that youhad a great time in our Graben Hotel.
It is a pleasure for us that you liked our hotel and the location so much!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The graben is great location but the room (number27) is very old, terrible old carpet and outdated furniture. The bell boy wasn't even around to get the baggage from the street 50m away. Then after that we find out there is no air conditioning in the room. We are told "it's not included in your price". For such a terrible room with no AC, 300euros per night is very much overpriced for this hotel room. Would NOT recommend at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioCanadaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear OntarioCanadaJohn ,

thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us to improve our service.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you!

All our rooms (even the smallest one) respect the strict guidelines for 4*hotels, not each of our rooms offer an air condition but if we had known about your wish we would have provided you a room with one. Please tell us upon your next visit, if we can improve your stay in any way.

Because of the congress in Vienna, the rates of the hotels are higher than normal.

It is a pity that you did not enjoy your stay with us! We are very sorry for that!
We hope to prove por professionalism upon your next stay with us.

Please contact me directly to assist you with your booking

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingli malta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The Graben is perfect to stay at. The underground station is a few steps away and for the price you cannot find a more central hotel. Rooms are clean and our room had a bathroom and a seperate room for the toilet which is very conveniant. The decor could be updated but the rooms are still charming. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0minab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest r0minab,

thank you for your kind words posted on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback about your stay at our Graben Hotel and are happy that you felt at home with us!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and it would be a pleasure for us to assist you with your next booking personally.

Kind regards,

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

stayed 4 nights @ the graben after taking the train in from prague (tip if you're taking the same route: get off @ simmering & take the U3 to stephansplatz; if you go all the way into the main station you'll need to change 2 subway lines).

finding the hotel from their email directions upon exiting stephansplatz station from the "graben" exit wasn't so easy the 1st time, but basically when you come up the escalators to street level, look immediately ahead & to the left for a semi-circle "BUFFET" sign hanging @ 2nd story height & the hotel is just down that little tiny street.

check-in was super easy & i'd already prepaid the room (€90/nt!) so there wasn't going to be any surprises later on. free wifi is accessed via wifi vouchers that you just have to request from the front desk.

the room we had was on a high floor which was super quiet with the windows open & a view over the rooftops. the room was rather decent sized, especially for europe. the a/c was very good (make sure the windows are closed tight or it won't turn on) when needed and for the rare times it rained, the front desk had umbrellas on loan.

however, there was only a couple of armchairs & a small round side table as extra furniture and only one luggage rack so the other one had to be laid out on the floor. no desk, no hot water kettle or tea/coffee. there was a small safe for documents but it would be very difficult to fit any electronics in there so we locked most things in our suitcases.

the beds were on the medium-firm side, the pillows were quite large & also on the firm side, which i personally quite like!

due to allergies, we'd requested a room on a non-smoking floor w/a parquet wood floor. i really appreciate that the hotel was able to accommodate both of those requests.

the bathroom is also a decent size, with an integrated counter/sink (lots of space for toiletries), a mirror w/shelf and our shower was a pie-shaped enclosed one w/sliding doors that was big enough where there was no elbow-banging on the sides. there was zero water leakage onto the floor of the bathroom itself, which was amazing considering the shower pressure was nearly like a fire hydrant! i have actually never been in a shower as powerful as that where i actually needed to turn it down and i LIKE having strong water pressure!

btw, if anybody likes using a smaller face/wash towel, bring your own as the hotel doesn't supply small towels.

breakfast was fabulous! there's a tea station where you can choose your own tea & make a pot for your table, but you need to request coffee & milk. there's a hot selection of scrambled eggs and bacon, then various cold items: cereals, breads, fruits (whole & salad), sandwich meats, cheeses, yogurts & juices. there's definitely enough to satisfy anyone's appetite!

the breakfast was served in their restaurant, which @ night serves italian food. at first i was skeptical about the place but had a meal there & quite enjoyed it! the price was very very reasonable and although service was slow, it was pleasant.

the hotel's location is mega mega handy. the graben is the main street which is perpendicular to dorotheergasse & the stephansplatz underground station is 100m, just around the corner.

obviously stephansdom itself is right there as well, and if you want some water or other things you forgot, keep walking down graben towards the "AIDA" cafe, where it then turns into singerstrasse. after the mcd there's a supermarket called "billa". closed on sundays, btw!

the hofburg is an easy 10min walk away & the museumsquartier is just beyond that.

for any coffee addicts, there's a starbucks one block over on braunerstrasse, but if you want the old-world feel, pop across from the hotel to cafe hawelka for a coffee and an order of buchteln!!!!!!!!!!!

all in all, for the price, i was very pleased with our stay @ the graben & think it's very competitive with the surrounding area's hotels.

Room Tip: we were able to get a room on a high floor, away from the elevator, on a non-smoking floor & a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AWC886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest AWC886,

thank you very much for posting your Feedback at Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to read your nice comments and that you have enjoyed your stay at our Graben Hotel.
Usually we only get comments if something went wrong during the journey.
All the more we want to say "thank you" for your kind words we will forward them to our staff.
As a family run business we are proud of mostly having long-serving employees and we know how important it is to be able to rely on them.
We do our best to satisfy our guests and remain our authencity.
We hope we can offer you soon again our hospitality and would be more than happy to assist you personally with your next reservation and we will find a bigger room for you!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 360 in Vienna
797 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#164 of 360 in Vienna
587 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 360 in Vienna
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
DO & CO Hotel Vienna
#48 of 360 in Vienna
685 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Wandl
Hotel Wandl
#172 of 360 in Vienna
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Property: Graben Hotel
Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#75 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing