We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Breakfast Included”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Prinz Eugen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Ranked #133 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location, Breakfast Included”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I chose the Hotel Prinz Eugen for my week-long stay to Vienna because when I surveyed the available flight-hotel options through Hotwire, this was the least expensive hotel that met my criteria: Breakfast included, reasonable price, near public transportation, decent reviews on Tripadvisor.

Location: The Hotel Prinz Eugen isn't located near any attractions other than the Belvedere, the Heeresgeschichtliches Museum (Museum of Military History), and the Botanical Garden of the University of Vienna. Its location (in the 4th district) was quiet during my stay - there is a small pharmacy a couple of doors over, a gentleman's club, and some small businesses and restaurants, but for the most part the area seemed to be quiet residential. This may change with the construction of the major train station across the street.

However, the Hotel Prinz Eugen is well-situated for public transportation. The 18, O, and D trams are accessible, as is the U1 Südtiroler Platz U-Bahn stop. Also, the station has the Südtiroler Platz/Hauptbanhof S-Bahn stop, making it possible for you to take a train from the airport to the hotel (change to the S7 train at the Rennweg station).

Rooms: We actually had 2 rooms during our stay. We spent 1 night in a room and came back the next evening to find all of our possessions had been moved to another room (bras, toiletries, medications, suitcases - everything other than what was in the room's safe) by the daytime staff without our permission. We were informed of this move by a piece of paper slammed on the door handle with a scrawled note in German. The nighttime staff had no idea what had happened and it took nearly 20 minutes to sort it out. That was kind of jarring. The room they moved us to was the same size - no upgrade for the embarrassment or inconvenience. Actually, the new room was a downgrade because we no longer had a balcony.

The bed was comfortable, the thermostat was controllable, and the room was clean. The room and bathroom were a little small but that is how things are in Europe. The provided shampoo was mounted on the wall in a hard-to-use squeeze bottle.

Breakfast: There was a good spread provided. Pork meats and cheese slices, scrambled eggs, a variety of breads, Nutella and jams, granola, plain yogurt, cereals, dried and fresh fruits, trail mix, teas, coffee, hot water.

Other: The wi-fi was very slow and only free for half an hour a day.

I would stay in this hotel if I was in Vienna again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank DavenGVAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    475
    169
    35
    21
See reviews for
136
465
89
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Just came back from Vienna and 5 days in Prinz Eugen. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were good size and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with nice choice of items. Free wifi. The staff was very helpful and did an excellent job. Very good transportation to and from the hotel - the underground station (U1) close by and also the tram stop. The main thing was the value - we had a very good deal. Will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lidguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

is a nice place. near to the the metrou ( u1). only 5-7 ,minutes far from the city center. is very clean. breakfast is very good. nice staff. internet all the time. everything is excelent. near is palace belvedere and military museum!

Room Tip: room in the back of the hotel is quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragonfly_smc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
227 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great hotel, offering clean and spacious rooms with private bathroom, TV, AC and Minibar.
Rooms at the front side also have a balcony.
Breakfast is very good, inclusing a with a wide variety of items.
The hotel is located near Belvedere and Vienna's main railway station, approx. 2 km / 1.25 miles South of Vienna's city center. Underground/Subway is only 300 m from the hotel, three stops from the famous Stephansdom.
Coming from the airport, take the S7 train (S-bahn) to the Rennweg Station, from there take the tramway (Strassenbahn) line 0 for three stops. From 2014/2015 there will be a direct train from the airport to the main rainlway station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from 4 days in hotel. Free wi-fi throughout. 24 hour free pass issued at desk. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Real fruit, not tinned. Large room. No issues with noise. We were on the fifth floor. Stayed here five years ago, nearly put off returning by some of reviews here. Glad I did not believe some of them. Would recommend it to friends. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I've been there 2 weeks ago. The room was spacious and clean but nothing really special. Let's say that there are better 4 stars around there. The only bad thing is that they don't have parking. You can park in front for 10 minutes only for the check-in and then move the car and park very far from the hotel. When it's rainy and cold not really pleasant.
Overall I suggest it if you don't have high expectations and you don't drive a car!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have spent four days in Prinz Eugen hotel and I have to admit it's a bit of a dissapointment especially with a price of excellence given to it by Tripadvisor. I want to be fair so I have a basic feeling that Vienna hotels those in the midprice range are poor. Starting from the beginning its a great communication point however its not an amazing location. You have a number of trams, buses and subway, your are just few stops away from cities finest but you are in front of Central station, facing huge street, surrounded by local game bars. Hotel itself, you get the feeling it's like early 90s, no too clean nor renovated. We've got a very small room, descent bathroom, clean just minimum. We havent slept well because of the noise from the corridor and rooms next to ours, you could hear every single sound. The breakfast was a minimum the same with the reception service. Not very much to complain but nothing to be very content about. So the overall feeling is if you get good rate and dont expect much go for it but it is definetely not a 4star hotel as marked in the description. It's an honest 3star. In general next time in Vienna I would go for private room or apartment rather than a hotel and a wonderful breakfast in the city.

Room Tip: If you choose a room it is crucial to stay out from the front street which is extremely noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alek b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Azimut Hotel Vienna
#176 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinz Eugen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz Eugen

Property: Hotel Prinz Eugen
Address: Wiedner Guertel 14, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#138 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinz Eugen 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in Embassy District, opposite city air terminal & 100 meters Sudbahnhof train station, near Belvedere Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Prinz Eugen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinz Eugen Hotel
Prinz Eugen Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing