We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a type of Hotel I liked.. with some sense of history.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Prinz Eugen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Ranked #131 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was a type of Hotel I liked.. with some sense of history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel staff was very very friendly, rooms-beds-and-sheets all are neat and white-clean. Shower is excellent, really enjoyed it ) my room was with balcony. All issues like
needle and thread, wall-mounted iron and fan are available in the room.

The breakfast.. It was great!! Food is a special requirement for me and this was such a great bufet, which was included in price of the accommodation!

Hotel is very close to Südtiroler Platz metro station (5 min walk), which is on red central line and takes just 15 minutes by metro (2 stations) to get to city center

Internet is available for ~9 euros in the rooms, but it is free at lobby. However you have to change wifi pass every half an hour. I knew about this from comments even before travel, so I was fine with this ))

Highly recommend and will stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Mariella Thomas, General Manager at Hotel Prinz Eugen, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor and for staying in our Hotel Prinz Eugen.
We are very pleased that you liked your room, the breakfast and all our staff.
We are working on a free- internet system for all over the place!
Whenever you will visit Vienna again, it will be a great pleasure to welcoming you again at our hotel,
With best regards
Mariella Thomas and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    463
    166
    35
    20
See reviews for
132
452
88
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel!!! The breakfast was huge and delicious!Sausages,bacon,omelet,cakes,cirials,yougurt,coffee,juices,tea,croissant and many others! The bathroom was also very clean. 5 minutes walk to sudtiroler U-bahn station, so it's very easy and fast to get to city center. Last but not least, the staff of the hotel was very kind and helpful. Overall, a good choice!

Helpful?
Thank nikgen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night. I traveled for one week in Zagreb, Vienna, Prague, Budapest and Belgrade. Definitely on of the best hotels I stayed. Pity it was for only one night. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast had plenty of variety. The staff also was very polite and helpful. The location was also very good. You could reach the Belvedere in 5 min of walking and further on go to Karlsplatz and wherever you want. Definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iris_siri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is close to tram and U lines and was very easy to access the city centre. We dined near the hotel each night and got a drink in the bar in the hotel, which was served by a lovely barman. The staff on reception left a lot to be desired and were not the least bit helpful. The staff did not want to answer any questions and you got the distinct impression that they could not wait for you to leave the reception as to not have to deal with you, it is a shame because it lets the hotel down. The breakfast was good. Our room was away from the main road outside and were glad as this is very busy. The room is comfortable, basic and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carryonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent three nights here and were very comfortable. There is easy access into the centre of Vienna and Belvedere, which is a must to visit is a five minute walk away. The room was not large but adequate and the same could be said for the bathroom. Clean towels every day. Very good breakfast and helpful staff. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which is something we like. Some local restaurants and cafe's. When the new station is finished I suspect it will become very busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this hotel through British Airways when arranging a flight.

The reasons for doing so were the location of this hotel close to the centre of the city and the facilities we expect of a 4 star hotel.

There is a breakfast room but no dining room. But, as there are plenty of local restaurants and cafes this presents little problem.

The bedroom was a good size and the on-suite bathroom was (mostly) clean. The shower is in the bath and there is no bidet.

The rooms facing the front of the hotel have small balconies, but the Wiedner Gurtel road is often quite busy and the view is of a major construction project (the new main railway station for Vienna). So, unless you are oblivious to road noise and dust, a balcony is not a major consideration. The sound-proofing of the French widows is very good and our sleep was not disturbed by any noise from the outside. Enthusiastic love-making from the room on the floor above was very audible, however.

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the city.

The Sudtiroler Platz Ubahn on the U1 line is a couple of blocks away. Buses and trams pass by. The Belvedere Palace is on the doorstep. The Schweizergarten and the Arsenal with its Heeresgeschichtliches Museum (the Austrian equivalent of the Imperial War Museum) is over the road.

The city centre is a 15 minute downhill stroll.

The hotel is located in a residential area.

There are plenty of cafes and restaurants close to the hotel, which is necessary as the hotel does not have a restaurant, and only serves breakfast. The hotel has a small bar, with a very knowledgeable barman, Stephen, who helpfully suggested things to do and see.

There are lots of shops nearby to cater for the needs of the residents of the apartment blocks, including small supermarkets. For those wanting late night entertainment, there is the Piccolo Bar a few doors along Wiedner Gurtel from the hotel entrance. It is apparently open between 2000hrs to 0500hrs, and its website suggests the ambience and the entertainment provided will not suit all tastes!

There is splendid traditional restaurant, Sperl, which is a couple of minutes walk away, and is mostly patronised by locals. Sperl is like one of the heuriger inns of Grinzing transplanted to the city. The courtyard dining area has vines and 150 years of history. The beef tartare there is really excellent. All the dishes are large and filling, so we found that one course was enough for supper. We found it to be excellent value, friendly and authentic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Concordat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although located very near to Central Station construction site, the Prinz Eugen Hotel has some very strong points when choosing:
- very close (2-3 min) to Belvedere Palace
- very close means of transportation (tram, train, subway)
- friendly and professional staff
- a few local restaurants nearby
- clean rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AZIMUT Vienna Delta Hotel
#174 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Wieden
Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prinz Eugen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz Eugen

Property: Hotel Prinz Eugen
Address: Wiedner Guertel 14, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#138 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinz Eugen 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in Embassy District, opposite city air terminal & 100 meters Sudbahnhof train station, near Belvedere Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Prinz Eugen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinz Eugen Hotel
Prinz Eugen Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing