We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location in City Centre”
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #33 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Vienna and we stayed at this hotel based on recommendations on TripAdvisor. We agree with all of the reviews. The location is perfect for touring the historical sites of Vienna. The hotel service and staff were excellent. The breakfast buffet each morning was very nice. The hotel was completely booked and we encountered only one day when we had to wait for a table. We used the hotel's chauffeur service to and from the airport. This service was on time and very professional. The only negative feedback on the hotel is no bar/lounge or restaurant in the hotel. There are however, plenty of bars and restaurants within the same block of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captmorgan1Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 904 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my second stay, previously a week in April 1986.
This time for two weeks.
As the trip was very important in terms of my family background, the service I received was greatly appreciated and I intend to return for another two weeks next year.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Central location, lovely hotel, large room, friendly staff - all that one would want in a hotel during a holiday. The location is perfect, just off Kartnerstrasse, the main shopping street. This means that all the tourist spots in the city centre are within walking distance. The metro is close by, as are many cafes. The breakfast could do with a little more variety, but I guess that's a matter of opinion. Overall, the perfect choice for a short holiday in Vienna!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MavDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were thrilled with our choice of hotel. Our room (a Superior Double room) was bright and airy. The paintwork and soft furnishings were in pristine condition. I had asked for a quiet room at the back and this request was met. The King bed was large and comfortable. There was a desk with chair plus 2 more chairs and a small table. There was ample cupboard space with shelves and plenty of coat hangers. There was a good long mirror and in the well lit bathroom there was a small make up mirror which I always appreciate. The bathroom also had ample bench area to put toiletries on. There was a shower as well as a large bath. The shower had good pressure. They don't supply soaps but use soap dispensers so if you like soap, as I do, bring your own. Also they don't supply face washers so bring your own if that is important to you. The hairdryer was fairly useless and I was glad I had brought my own.
We found the service excellent although I must say, I had booked a transfer through the hotel and no one was there to meet us at the airport after our 27 hour flight which was a bit of a downer! We rang the Hotel and they were very apologetic about the mix-up and sent a taxi straight away.
We found the location of the hotel fantastic. This is a really important factor for us when choosing a hotel. It makes for a relaxing holiday when all sights and transport are close by. It may cost more to stay in the centre of cities but it is worth it. We only had 4 nights in this wonderful city and didn't want to waste time commuting to the centre all the time.
The breakfast room was lovely and there was plenty of choice.
We found Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth a fantastic choice for us. The room and facilities were big enough so that we could spread out and store all our luggage and possessions rather than live out of a suitcase (because there's nowhere to put anything!)
We would definitely stay there again if we were ever lucky enough to visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvtuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. The room was spacious and although the main pedestrian mall is within 100 metres the windows when closed block out all noise. Reception was good and angie in the breakfast room was a whiz at knowing your particular preferences. The metro was 1 minute walk or 10 minutes to the next line. A beautifully decorated and presented hotel. One minor point is to clarify the difference between sent out washing and dry cleaning. Our washing was dry cleaned and the bill was large. Otherwise this was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth exceeded all our expectations.Check in took about 3 minutes.
We stayed there for 6 nights. We booked a superior room there was more than sufficient sitting area plus a desk. Bathroom was clean with both bath & seperate shower. The location was quite. The breakfasts were more than sufficent.
Location was superb 2 minute walk to pedestrian area and 4 minutes to Stephandom
Would highly recommend

Room Tip: Our room 313 was great. No swimming pool and breakfast only which was more than sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is in the heart of Vienna. Only 2 blocks from St. Stephan's Cathedral and the metro station. Our room was perfect with a oversize tub with shower in the bathroom. Breakfast was included and the food quality and selection was wonderful ... complete with a very friendly wait staff . Hotel desk staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again and recommend to friends and family. The location was PERFECT! 3 nights in mid September 2013

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor (Second floor American) just above the entrance to the hotel. We found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve33328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,182 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#160 of 359 in Vienna
621 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#87 of 359 in Vienna
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,121 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#18 of 359 in Vienna
590 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 359 in Vienna
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $149 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing