We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Helpful Staff & Large Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #33 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Friendly, Helpful Staff & Large Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pros:
Friendly, helpful staff
Large rooms and bathrooms
Clean
Location close to back streets away from tourists

Cons:
Smoky hallways
Location too close to tacky, touristy area
Wi-fi - drops constantly or can't be found by device
No bar soap, cheap shampoo
No views from quieter rooms

The staff at the Hotel Kaiserin Elizabeth stand out as the best part of the hotel and enhanced our stay in Vienna. Like nearly everyone in the tourist areas of Vienna, they spoke excellent English. They helped us with restaurant reservations and recommended places where the locals go for lunch or dinner away from the tourist hordes. They also helped with directions, good advice on things to see (and to skip), and any other requests we had. I can't imagine how anyone would find fault with the service here; every front desk person was helpful and friendly throughout our stay, no matter what time of day it was or who was on duty.

Our room was very large even by American standards, with a walk-in closet, high ceilings, and a large bathroom with a double-vanity sink, a separate WC and a soaking tub. The king-sized bed was firm and comfortable, with just a slight gap in the middle. My only quibble with the bathroom was the lack of bar soap and shampoo (only a very pungent liquid soap/shampoo in a wall dispenser was provided). There was no shower curtain, of course, but the glass half-screen adequately kept the bathroom dry when using the shower.

The hotel itself offered a beautiful, elegant space to escape the crowds just outside. The lobby, sitting room, and breakfast room all succeeded in evoking old-world decor and charm. My only issue with the common areas was that the hallways outside the rooms could be smoky at times, even though our room was non-smoking. The smell of cigarette smoke also extended to the lobby area.

One other problem was the very poor wi-fi system. Connections were often unavailable and always had a very weak signal; when the network could be found, we had to log in with multiple pieces of information every time; and the signal often dropped after a few minutes, requiring another login. I also had trouble finding a signal in the breakfast room. Speaking of breakfast, the breakfast room was large and beautifully furnished, with the breakfast itself being a hearty buffet of meats, fried vegetables, pastries, and cheeses, along with some lighter options such as cereal and yogurt.

Depending on what you like, the hotel's location is either a plus or a slight minus. It is literally just a few steps from the must-see St. Stephan's Cathedral, but Stephansplatz, the area around the cathedral, is an assault on both senses and sensibilities. It is filled with an ugly mob of tourists, cheap souvenir stands, tourist-trap restaurants, panhandlers, and aggressive costumed Mozarts trying to entice tourists to attend musical performances of dubious quality. If you like being part of the horde, just turn right when you leave the building and join the masses. If you don't, you can turn left to find a pretty neighborhood of restaurants, cafes, shops, and churches that the tourists haven't found, as well as a back way to the cathedral.

This hotel has the potential to be a great one. They already have the staff, rooms, and decor, but they just need to do something about the wi-fi, provide more upscale soaps and shampoos, and move the smokers farther away (or go totally smoke-free).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    244
    32
    17
    9
See reviews for
140
320
147
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had 4 nights in Vienna recently and, prompted by good Trip Advisor reviews chose the Kaiserin Elizabeth. We chose well. We were met at the airport by a taxi, arranged by the hotel. This is well worth the fare. On our arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by friendly and professional staff who all spoke excellent English. When did I last have my bags taken up to the room by a porter, certainly not in a long time. What a treat! Our room was spacious and well appointed. Situated at the back of the hotel it was totally quiet. The bathroom was a good size and the bath was big. Towels were large and of good quality. The bed was roomy and very comfortable. I asked for the feather pillows to be removed and this happened straight away.
The breakfast room is stylish and attractively decorated. The buffet breakfast of a high quality. The situation of this hotel is terrific. All the main sights are within a 10-15 minute walk away and the U Bahn station situated in the next street.
The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. All requests were met with courtesey and prompt attention.The dining room staff and room cleaners were all equally friendly. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

One of the best hotels I've ever been to. Very Viennese aesthetically, excellent staff & services, great interiors, very clean, good facilities. I liked every single bit of this hotel. The only thing it lacks is the restaurant, but I wouldn't count this as a disadvantage because it gives you a push to walk around and choose from a vast variety of restaurants this city has to offer. After all, its location is so central that you can get everywhere quite easily. I would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziefizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We all are very impressed with the quality of this hotel. The rooms are up to date clean and beautiful! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone, in a very convient location. This is my 3rd visit to Vienna and this is my favorite place so far. Staff is friendly and know us all every time we comeback from an adventure. HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ksligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spent 4 nights here in August. I have traveled throughout Europe staying in 4 and 5 star hotels and feel this one was by far the most impressive hotel. I don't usually leave reviews but I had such a great expereince here that I wanted to share and maybe help make someone else's decsision on where to stay in Vienna a little easier. The rooms are well appointed, beds are comfy, free wifi throughout, the breakfast is delicious and the staff is extremely helpful. They also have a clothes line in the bathroom to hang your laundry and the sink had a drain that could close. The location couldn't be better, just steps away from St. Stephens and the metro. Everything you want to see in Vienna is within walking distance and if you care to venture further out or even take an excursion out of Vienna they can set you up with that as well. You can also line up airport transportation through them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2012_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked this hotel based on previous reviews. I can't say enough about the helpful front staff, no request was too small. After travelling for 3 weeks in Austria this was one of the best breakfast buffets I experienced. Location is fabulous and I never heard one street noise, except the bells from St. Stephens Cathedral. I used the computers in the front lobby and had no problems. Would definitely stay here again, a 4 star hotel at 4 star pricing.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside court room quiet and a nice view of St. Stephens Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfer1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Loved the history, the spacious room & bathroom. Average breakfast. Friendly staff? Depends on who's at the desk.

Wifi nearly non existent. None in the room and very weak in the lobby.

Strongly recommend. Hope Internet access problem resolved when we visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#15 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Property: Kaiserin Elisabeth
Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#28 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing