We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the centre of Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Johann Strauss
Ranked #118 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had to spend one night in Vienna lately and looked for a place close to the centre and the technical university. The Johann Strauss hotel met my requirements. It is a somewhat old fashioned hotel in 1960 style, but perfectly well maintained; like much of the centre of Vienna in fact. It was 10 minutes walking from my destination. Price was 87 € for a single room all included. Free internet provided.
In short: a charming hotel serving a very generous breakfast and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefaan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Stefaan t,

thank you very much for letting us know about your stay at our Hotel Johann Strauss.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accomplish your requirements.
Thank you again for your great ranking, we hope you had a good return journey!
Your Kremslehner family and the Johann Strauss Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 435 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights. The hotel is in a really good location. Karlsplatz is a short walk away and there is a U Bahn station just outside the hotel.

The hotel was very nice and had lots of positive features. The reception staff were very helpful and were able to recommend some good bars nearby. The rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was really good. A wide range of foods were available at the breakfast buffet. The free wifi was very welcome.

There are some areas for improvement. The hotel looks slightly dated. There were no electronic door keys for the bedrooms. The rooms could also benefit from coffee and tea making facilities.

In summary, a comfortable hotel in a good location but definitely not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Yoztravel,

thank you very much for your positive feedback concerning our staff and our breakfast! It is nice to read that we suceeded in providing a good service to you!
As a family run business we are proud of our mostly long-serving employees and we know how important it is to be able to rely on them.
All our Hotels are furnished in a traditional way and we are sorry to hear that this seemed old fashioned to you!
Best regards from Vienna, Your Kremslehner family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights for a work conference. It is ideally situated near an underground station and the front desk staff were extremely helpful. However, the hotel itself is really very dated and the room was small and sadly could only be described as distinctly average. It was looking out onto a back street with passers by able to see in quite clearly.

The breakfasts were definitely good - a whole smorgasbord of options....and the only luxurious thing about the hotel..champagne on offer for breakfast. But overall it felt overpriced for what it was, particularly given the wealth of nice hotels in Vienna.

It wasn't my idea at all of a 4 star hotel. Sorry.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank sausagefiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear sausagefiend,

thank you very much for your opinion - we appreciate your feedback, it greatly helps us to improve our level of service and standard.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us! The rooms on our first floor are facing a quiet side street and are normally very popular among our guests.
Thank you again for your positive feedback regarding our front office team and our breakfast - we hope to see you soon again in our Hotel Johann Strauss.
Your family Kremslehner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While the decor of the hotel is a bit dated and the breakfast room sits in the cellar without any natural light, the friendly and efficient staff make up for it and give this hotel its soecial character. A solid choice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Member_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest profAZ,

we are happy that you felt at home with us and that you enjoyed your stay.
We are doing our best that all our guests leave with a smile in their face and we are happy that we succeeded again this time!
Please do not hesitate to contact me upon your next reservation, I will be happy to assist you personally.

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good hotel with fantastic breakfast. Great breakfast room (basement) and wider breakfast selection than normal. The subway is just around the corner or 30 minute walk to center of town. The room was big and the front desk service was always friendly. Needs updating (especially carpets) but you can reframe and see it as old world charm and keeps the price down. Very safe location. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest profAZ,

it was really nice to read your comment, thank you very much for that!
Our Hotel Johann Strauss is getting refurbished constantly, so please give us a little more time to present our Hotel Johann Strauss anew!
I am happy that you liked our breakfast and you felt comfortable at our hotel!
Thank you also for the compliment about our front desk service, I will forward it to our employees.
We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Very good hotel clean and warm! We stayed for one week - it was an extremely pleasant week. Unfortunately It was really windy and cold outside :(( but It's near the metro and the train stations. We would stay in Johann Strauss Hotel when we visit Vienna again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ondin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Guest Ondin,

thank you for your kind words.
It nice to read that you felt at home with us and that you will visit us again in the near future.
Seeing you soon again,

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here in October 2011, partly business (my husband), partly turist (me); location of the hotel is great, two subway stations from the heart of Wienna, easily in walking distance. Considering that, hotel is not very expensive, but is also far from 4 stars. It would be a very nice hotel with some renovation. Room was spacious though, bathroom also, toilet was separate from bathroom, but decor is poor, not renovated in 30 years and also a room could be cleaner.
Hotel has its own garage around the corner, it is steep and small, but doorman, who showed and opened it, was exceptionaly nice and helpfull.
All in all it is good value for money and would stay here again if I needed a central location.
Staff was very helpfull and kind, ladies at the front desk and as I said the doorman, who helped me with the garage and the luggage (I think he said he was from South America), compensated for the tired look of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoisonIvy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest PoidonIvy25,

thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences with the tirpadvisor community.

The Hotel Johann Strauss, is the newest addition to the Kremslehner Hotels Group - since 1st of October 2011, it is a traditional Viennese hotel, located in a historic building in Wieden.

Since October we are constantly upgrading our rooms and redecorate the hotel so that we can offer our guests a nice traditional Viennese hotel.

We regret that your room did from that respect not meet with your expectations.

Your feedback helps us to improve our service and offerings. We know that a traditional hotel needs to develop further in order to remain attractive.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again, to show you the hotel Johann Strauss from his new site.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#53 of 359 in Vienna
999 reviews
Wieden
Pakat City Hotel
Pakat City Hotel
#208 of 359 in Vienna
149 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#109 of 359 in Vienna
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#173 of 359 in Vienna
382 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#93 of 359 in Vienna
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann Strauss

Address: Favoritenstrasse 12 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#110 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $111 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johann Strauss 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Johann Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Strauss Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing