We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Johann Strauss
Ranked #112 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Located right next to the underground station and within walking distance to the city centre, parks, museums, and shopping it is a perfect place to stay in Vienna.

The price is reasonable and the breakfast, included with the room, is very good. It is also the first of several places we have stayed that actually has a bed for the 3rd adult in the room. Very comfortable.

The staff are fantastic and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank Juanita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest Juanita,

we are really glad to read that you were satisfied with our service and that you had a nice time in Vienna.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback concerning our staff and our breakfast! It is nice to read that we suceeded in providing a good service to you!
As a family run business we are proud of our mostly long-serving employees and we know how important it is to be able to rely on them.

It would be a pleasure for me, if I could assist you personally with your next booking

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

It was a pleasure for us having you as a guest and hope to welcome you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 439 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel as single female traveller. The purpose of my trip was business. I was given a single room on the first floor. However, the first floor was rather more a mezzanine, not a full floor. There was one small window in the room squeezed in the corner of the room since one half of the window served as window for the neighbouring room. The window had bars and sat on top of the entry to an underground garage. All very depressing. The room interior was adequate and clean but certainly not at 4 star level - at best 2.5 stars. The minibar was poorly stocked. The breakfast room was in the basement with no windows just vents. The breakfast buffet attempted to offer the now popular European variety but did not meet the standard. The staff at the desk was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, it could not make up for the poor standard of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms on the so-called 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annelie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest Annelie W,

thank you very much for sharing your comments on tripadvisor.com.

We are sorry that your stay at our property did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, you did not mention a single word at reception that you did not like the room. It would have been no problem to change to a room on another floor.

Please tell us during your next visit immediately if we can do anything to improve your stay.
Kindly be assured that the wellbeing of our guests is always of first priority to us.

We hope to show you our professionalism during your next stay.

Best Regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is classed as 4*, which seems overblown for what is a pleasant but relatively simple and old-fashioned hotel with limited facilities. However, it was an excellent value for a hotel only a short walk from the city center.

Rooms were simple and clean. There is free wifi. The breakfast buffet was generous - and being Vienna - heavy on pastry and cake! (There's plenty of other choices) Service was pleasant and old-fashioned - this is the sort of place where you leave your key at the front desk when you go out.

Certainly not a bad hotel, but don't go expecting a true 4* experience. If you're looking for a central location at a good price, consider it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyBalletGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Manager at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear FlyBalletGuy,
thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com.

We are really glad to read that you were satisfied with our service and that you had a nice time in Vienna.
We would like to inform you that we forwarded your feedback to our team as such a positive comment motivates all of us to continue on this way.

We hope we can offer you soon again our hospitality and would be more than happy to assisit you personally with your reservation.

Best Regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Walkable in 10 minutes to the city centre, clean, very friendly professional staff where nothing is too much trouble, decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank umberto t
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Johann Strauss`name takes your mind into a music land which you expect also from this hotel ,but...
Is a nice place to stay for a week-end, esspecially `cose is not far from the old city.The breakfast is very good and nobody should complain ,contains almost everything for a good start of the day. The room was clean but very cold and old (not in the good way). What I really liked was the staff`s nice attitude, they were very polite and kind and speaking fluently english which made everything much easier.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihacom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This hotel is very well-located in the South of Vienna, but still close to the city center. The subway station is just 20 meters away, from which you can reach every relevant location in Vienna. The hotel is located on a busy road and is not modern but you can imagine, that they renovate it continuously. The style of the hotel might be considered Austrian-classic.

The rooms are ok. The single bedroom features a comfortable bed (approx. 1,20m width). Some ppl might feel that the TV is a bit old fashioned (no-flatscreen). Most importantly, the hotel provides free wifi with sufficient wifi.

The breakfast was also ok, but I missed some things which are common for 4-star hotels (broader selection of ham, cheese, salmon)...

Unfortunately in the particular time frame, they did over-night renovations across the street on the opposite fasade. This was really (partially) noisy during the night and the hotel just left a short note, that they apologized but cannot do anything about it. A different room (not facing the street) or a discount/free drinks on the hotel were not offered. It might be that this is a real exception case and probably should not bother somebody. But still, if your sleep is easily influenced by crowded and noisy night activities, this might not be your hotel (due to the busy road at least).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaiRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#49 of 358 in Vienna
1,018 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#97 of 358 in Vienna
836 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#143 of 358 in Vienna
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#102 of 358 in Vienna
414 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#91 of 358 in Vienna
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Johann Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann Strauss

Address: Favoritenstrasse 12 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#109 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $98 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johann Strauss 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Johann Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Strauss Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing