We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice if reception service gets improved”
Review of Hotel Papageno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Papageno
Ranked #221 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A good choice if reception service gets improved”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in Papageno for 4 nights between Christmas and New Year's Eve. We selected a family package, which included B&B, Vienna 72-hour transportation cards for the family members, tickets for the Riesenrad Wheel in Prater, tickets for the zoo, as well as free snacks, coffee and non-alcoholic drinks for the kids. We were offered two inter-connected twin rooms, which were cleaned daily and heated well. Breakfast with numerous choices was above average. Also, our email requests for reserving a visit to Salzburg in advance as well as for reserving a table in a restaurant were satisfied on the spot. Internet access is provided on a daily basis by asking WiFi user credentials from the reception - not very convenient.

Better organization is needed in the reception with regards to what is included or not in the family package. The package is offered by the hotel and what is included was crystal clear in my correspondence with the hotel. The package details are also detailed in hotel web site. Although this was the case, whenever I asked for a non-alcoholic drink for the children (remember these were free) from the reception, I had to explain each time why I should not be charged. It happened 4 times with different people in the reception. The hotel should know who is offered what and not expect from the customers to remind and explain.

Now, there was a case which I have to describe as I never had a similar incident in any hotel so far, and I can say that I have traveled a lot around the world. The last night I asked from the reception guy - it was the first time I saw that guy in the hotel - a Pepsi and an apple juice - until then we had 3 drinks (!) in total (remember these should be offered for free). The receptionist asked for the room number to charge the drinks. I told him the number and explained again why the drinks should not be charged. Once he heard so and without absolutely ANY reason he started a talking regarding the number of the drinks that we can have, that they cannot be unlimited, that we were offered so much in the package already, describing the free tickets, etc (remember until then we only had 3 drinks). The guy made an issue out of the blue for a pepsi and an apple juice !!! He expressed himself in slight irony that I found totally unacceptable for a professional in Hotel service. I told him that I did not ask for a barrel of apple juice and that in this way the hotel makes customers feeling guilty for asking what they have paid for. The guy asked me how many children I had, I told him two, and then he brought me two small chocolates, two apple juices, instead of one and a Pepsi - for myself "not feeling guilty" as he said !!! To my understanding his point was that the Pepsi I asked was not intended for the children, so he brought two apple juices for the children !!! I took the drinks and left without saying anything more as I did not want to destroy further my vacations.

It is quite a pity as the city is magnificent and the hotel can be a good choice. In my personal opinion when you offer a service you should try to make your best to make the customer happy. The customer will recognize and not only will come back but also will tell to others to visit the hotel. In Papageno, people behavior - with one or two exceptions maybe - was quite formal, was not warm, was not characterized by a personal touch and we did not make us feel at home. The incident above was totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klara W, Manager at Hotel Papageno, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your long comment and the good review of our Hotel Papageno.
We appreciate your good ratings on our rooms, breakfast and central location.

Regarding the organisation of the drinks (included in the family package), we apologize for all the inconvenience this was causing you and will definitely work on this matter. We would like to point out though that during your stay we had a high turnover of staff in the reception due to vacation days. That was the main reason why the receptionist on duty always asked you for your room number as we had also other families in the hotel (without the family package). One member of the staff who asked you for example was the vice-director who usually works in the back office, and therefore was not familiar with your booking. However we apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding this situation was creating you.

Concerning your critique on one of our receptionists we deeply regret the situation. You are completely right that this kind of behavior is not professional and absolutely unacceptable. We take your feedback very seriously and we already forwarded it to the mentioned receptionist.

We thank you again for your feedback and we will continue our efforts to offer an excellent service.

Looking forward to welcoming you any other time at the Papageno!

Best regards,
Klara Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    183
    82
    26
    18
See reviews for
81
151
44
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Its been 7 years since our last visit to this great hotel and we were not disappointed on our return. Its in such a good location, a short stroll to Stephansplatz and all the main sites. Easy links to the airport, tram and underground if you need it. We stayed for 6 nights in a lovely large upper room with roof top views. Very comfortable beds. Fabulous bathroom. Cosy and welcoming hotel. Fabulous buffet breakfast with extensive range of goodies. The staff is great and incredibly helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely return in the future. Vienna in December is heavenly.

Room Tip: The rooms are triple gazed so imagine all are quiet considering proximity to road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hist0ryFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Good location, excellent room and bed, WIFI, flat TV, good breakfast.
Close to main attractions, tram stop very close to hotel, (less than 2 minutes walking) subway is close (less than 10 minutes walking) subway has airport connection to airport, there are 2 types of trains to aiport: express which cost about 11 euros or regular which cost 2 euros ( I took the regular ones and it takes less than 25 minutes.
Buy the 4 days vienna pass or ticket (at the subway information center) to use no limit tram, buses and subway for the 4 days

Room Tip: Excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent two nights in this hotel and can only recommend it. The rooms are very comfortable and designed by artists. The body care products used in the bathrooms were from L'Occitane which is better than other hotels I know. The use of the internet was free. There are different price categories of rooms, so you have a very good choice depending on your budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girne, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Kind people at reception welcome you with coffee and a delicious cake. My room was a single one, it was small but it was enough for me. Although there is no air conditioning, I feel very comfortable . My couple friends room was fantastic... and very big. If I go to Vienna again, I'd like to stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice hotel, not too far from the city centre. Clean and nicely furnished. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#49 of 360 in Vienna
927 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#119 of 360 in Vienna
419 reviews
Arthotel ANA Westbahn
#308 of 360 in Vienna
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#101 of 360 in Vienna
292 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Carlton Opera
Hotel Carlton Opera
#181 of 360 in Vienna
367 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#183 of 360 in Vienna
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papageno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papageno

Property: Hotel Papageno
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 23-25, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#115 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papageno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Papageno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Vienna
Vienna Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing