We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel With Excellent Travel Connections”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Art Hotel Vienna
Ranked #149 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights (May 19th-24th) which, luckily for us, coincided with Vienna's summer!

A very narrow hotel with very few rooms on each floor. We were in room 412 which looks out onto the road but we never had any problem with noise. Not the largest hotel room we've been in but perfectly adequate. The hotel Wi-Fi was excellent. There is a free room safe which is always a bonus.

The breakfast was amazing. I was anticipating the continental spread we got but not the fried eggs & bacon/sausage that was also available.

The hotel is not far from a very busy shopping area and as other people have said it is in easy reach of the city centre via the 59A bus to the Opera House (beware of lots of people dressed in Mozart clothes trying to sell you concert tickets!!). You can also get the 12A bus to either Pilgrimgasse or Neubaugasse U-Bahn stations. The public transport system is great. We bought weekly tickets which run from 9am Monday to 9am the following Monday and cost 15.80 euros each. They can be used on all of central Vienna's transport. If you are travelling from/to Vienna Airport you also need a single zone ticket (2.20 euros) as the airport is outside the central zone. The whole system is run on trust - we weren't asked for our tickets once during our stay but beware there is a fine of around 100 euros if you are caught without a valid ticket.

We found both people on reception perfectly friendly and the only times I need anything doing (an extra pillow & the room safe opened as it had been left locked by the previous occupants) they were dealt with immediately.

The only reason I haven't rated the hotel excellent is the bar. The only night we decided to have a drink we were disappointed. My wife like Whisky & Ginger or Whisky & Lemonade if there is no ginger. This bar had nothing to mix with Whisky at all. I like Bacardi & Coke but when I asked for it I was told that that counts as 2 drinks.

We certainly wouldn't let the lack of mixers at the bar put us off so I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Vienna Art Hotel if we visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 380 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a wonderful week at this modern hotel, The bedroom was roomy; the staff kept it clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Alastair

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 983Alastair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

It was a really nice and clean hotel, we were traveling with family so we decided to stay in a apartment instead hotel.
The apartments are really big ans really clean. I did really enjoy the huge rooms and all the facilities.
The only bad point was a guy in reception. It was a misunderstanding, but the receptionist had a go to us, which wasnt nice at all. Besides this, everything was really nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eiforina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was our second stay at the hotel and, if anything, it was better than the first time. While a bit off the beaten path, the hotel is close to public transportation. The room was clean and up-to-date. The breakfast buffet was good. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and provided a world of ideas for exploring.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Art Hotel is not in the centre of Vienna (and the prices reflect this) but the transport options are very good and meant that I never felt very far from the centre at all. The staff recommend you use bus 59A to get into the centre of town (stops by the Opera House). The journey takes around 10 mins and I never had to wait more then four minutes for a bus (they have very accurate signs at each bus stop, telling you how long before the next bus arrives!).

The hotel itself was very good value indeed. I had a single room (616) which had a lot of space and was very clean and tidy and included a small balcony with a large door that opened right up into the room. Loads of light and space, it was very pleasant. The decor was slightly dated, but it was in very good condition so didn't really matter. The bathroom was very clean and modern and was a good size. The only (minor) issue was that the bed (a single) was quite soft and the sole pillow was very thin. But I still slept pretty well.

There isn't much to do in the local area in terms of sight seeing, but the excellent bus connection will have you into the centre without too much fuss (last bus back at night goes around midnight). There are some restaurants and bars right near the hotel, so plenty of places to eat and drink if you want to do so locally. There's also a Billa supermarket which was very useful.

The woman who staffs reception in the morning was extremely helpful and friendly with lots of good tips about how to get around, what to see and the cheapest way to do it all.

A great little hotel, would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have little balconies that open up - really nice in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 107kazbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A cute small hotel
Got a large very comfortable room with a balcony on the 5th floor.modern ,
Peaceful and very clean...very knowledgable and professional staff..
The price was great too ,via venere booking site
The frequent buses to the center were very useful

Room Tip: 5th floor room was great
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Atravelerisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I went to Vienna for a series of meetings and an interview and needed, quite literally, just a place with running water, internet, and a bed. As Vienna is pricey, I was surprised to find the Art Hotel at an extremely reasonable price and actually preferred the non-touristy location to the headache and crummy touts around the Ringstrasse.

Good breakfast, very clean and quiet rooms, quick wifi, unsure what more you could ask for at this price. Recommended.

All staff friendly, particularly the night staff.

I travel to Vienna frequently for my work and will most definitely check out the Art Hotel for my next stay. If you can find a good rate here, grab it.

One note: if arriving to the Westbahnhof, you can take a tram straight down the Gurtel a few stops and walk to the hotel; this information is not included on their website and it would have made my arrival far easier.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 359 in Vienna
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Art Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art Hotel Vienna

Address: Brandmayergasse 7-9 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Vienna
#135 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $39 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Art Hotel Vienna 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Hotel Vienna is a modern, innovative hotel with very well trained and experienced operators. Our guests appreciate the very family and informal atmosphere and the attention of our team. We have both standard double or single rooms as well as family rooms, studios with kitchenette and fully equipped apartments. Throughout the house you can see that our hotel is dedicated to the painting. On the floors, rooms and public areas hang pictures of different art forms. From time to time, in the lobby, you can watch austrian students at their work and admire the creation of new works of art. We monthly change the pictures in the breakfast and conference room. Also our garage (with 8 parking sites) was elaborately decorated and can be used for a surcharge. Our 24-hour front desk also manages the on-site bar, can be consumed at the round-the-clock beverages. For the smokers among our guests in our hotel lounge invites a wine cellar. The rich breackfast buffet scores with a wide selection, selected tea specialties and excellent coffee machine. Convince yourself! We look forward to you glad to welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Art Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Vienna
Vienna Art Hotel
Golden Tulip Vienna
Vienna Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing