We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd city tour”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #101 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd city tour”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was indeed a very nice hotel to stay in as this was the second city we had stayed in during our prague/vienna tour.
Plenty of assistance on arrival and quickly shown to our room which had everything you needed including a safe in the room .
Breakfast was Very good and I defy anyone to say it wasnt good plenty for everyone with lovely coffee and tea. Evening meal was taken in the Roth ROOM and was very nice as was the chocolate cake.

Room Tip: I would imagine that all rooms would be good as there were no complaints from our party of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidancameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest Aidancameron,

thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are really pleased to read that you and the whole group you travelled with enjoyed the stay at our Hotel Regina, especially the rooms, our Restaurant Roth and the services provided by our staff.

Thank you very much. We would be happy to welcome you again the next time you visit Vienna!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    333
    129
    53
    42
See reviews for
156
243
58
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle,UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a lovely hotel, centrally situated. Excellent food, friendly staff and our room was furnished to a high standard and very comfortable. We expected to find continental breakfast but was pleasantly surprised at the vast array of options, full English breakfast included. The only downside was one of our travelling companion had her handbag stolen whilst in the breakfast room as the doors were open. This was unfortunate and could of happened anywhere. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaapsenooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest Kaapsenooi,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Regina for your recent stay in Vienna.

We really appreciate that you took your time to send your valuable comments about your stay at our Hotel Regina, especially for mentioning our excellent food, the comfortable rooms and our great customer service.

Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. We are sorry to hear about the stolen handbag. This is why we ask our clients never to leave valuables, like keys, handbags or wallets on the table behind as the Hotel is open for the public

Thank you again for your feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

There was nothing really wrong with this hotel and I would have scored it higher but our room was noisy, I may be should have asked to change but the first night it wasn't too bad bad by the end of the noisy second night I was too tired to contemplate changing rooms and we were only staying 3. The noise came from within the hotel and we never really found out what it was. A bit like a rattling washing machine. It started at 5 am and continued at different times throughout the day in short 30 second bouts for about an hour at a time. Otherwise it had a lot going for it especially the friendly staff which is Not a given in Austria. The staff were helpfully and smiled. Breakfast was pretty good and the one evening meal we had in the hotel was the best meal we had. There was no where cosy to sit but that seems usual for Austria. A very efficient bar/ restaurant but not intimate. If I were to go to Vienna again I would consider staying here again but would definitely avoid room 103. The room was small and view not good but very clean and adequate it was only the strange noise that ruined it for me.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 103 mainly because of the noise from with in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guest Cazhad,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Regina for your recent stay in Vienna.

We really appreciate that you took your time to send your valuable comments about your stay at our Hotel Regina, especially for mentioning our great customer service.

We are sorry to hear, that your room was noisy and that you could not rest at night. Unfortunately you did not come to complain at reception, we would have proposed you another room.

Please inform us next time during your visit in Vienna, if we can do anything to improve your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is near the RING, The rooms are old and not been renovated for a long time.
The breakfast is excelent , the staff in the restaurant very friendly. But they try to be very clever:
To charge for a second espresso €3.20 is a bit much and for an extention of 1 hour (checkout time 12 ) to try charge 10€ is impertinent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest Henryschoice,

thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay at our Hotel Regina.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the services provided by our staff as well as our large choice at breakfast and are really sorry that you did not like the traditional style of our hotel.

Unfortunately we cannot grant a late check out free of charge, as we have been fully booked on that day.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope you had a pleasant stay in Vienna

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Classic Old baroc style interior - taste of Vienna vacation. Not for travelers seeking for a modern hotel. Clean hotel, very good service, perfect breakfast and all the goodies u can get from a nice hotel!!!! I have been 6 times in Vienna I think was the 2nd best from the other hotels.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Operator X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your kind review about our Hotel Regina at TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear, that you liked our traditional style. The Hotel Regina has been established in 1877 as a city palace of the Viennese Historism and is since 1896 in property of the Kremslehner family.
We are proud to propose our guest a traditional style combined with all the comfort requested for a 4 star hotel. Thank you again for providing your feedback and recommending our Hotel Regina. We look forward to hosting you the next time you visit Vienna!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My friend and I traveled to Vienna to enjoy the Austrian history and an opera. Hotel Regina is a great historical hotel, located beside the Votive Church. Votive Church has recently gone under a restoration and is a beautiful sight to see especially at night when it is illuminated! One block from the hotel you can access the street car or underground train that takes you all over Vienna (Wein). The staff at hotel Regina are very helpful and friendly. Rooms can be a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is an awesome variety of food to suit any appetite! Hotel Regina has a good restaurant and other places to eat are nearby. I have stayed twice and look forward to staying again!!

Room Tip: If traveling alone and you need a bit of space you may want to request a superior or double room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest Barbara T,

thank you very much for taking the time to come back to us with your nice review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Regina and the services provided by our staff. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were backpacking through Europe looking for a comfortable night's stay without requiring luxury experiences or amenities, and we found the Hotel Regina to suit our needs perfectly. You couldn't ask for a better location; it was within easy walking distance to the train station, bus stops, restaurants and some attractions, yet quiet and somewhat apart from the hustle and bustle. The room itself was quite small, but we were only sleeping there anyways, going out to experience the town during the day and evening. It's an old building, yes, but we found that to be part of its charm, and at least everything was clean and functional--good bathroom and shower, and the internet worked best out of all the places we stayed on our trip. Good breakfast in the morning. The desk clerks seemed a bit brusque and disinterested, which was the only negative thing I could say about this place. Overall, a sufficient stay for us at a reasonable price, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest Moovis,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Hotel Regina.

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our staff.

Please accept our apology, for our desk clerks. They did not mean to be disinterested. We have at the moment a lot of new and young receptionists and sometimes their shyness looks like disinterest. We work hard on it, and hope to convince you upon your next stay about the kindness of each of them!

Sincerely yours

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#112 of 360 in Vienna
419 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#73 of 360 in Vienna
689 reviews
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#100 of 360 in Vienna
796 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#164 of 360 in Vienna
586 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#94 of 360 in Vienna
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Rooseveltplatz 15 | 1090 Vienna, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#115 Business Hotel in Vienna
#121 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Vienna
Regina Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing