We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Vienna-like”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #95 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The place is rather old and has a long history. It faces the University of Vienna and is near The Votive Kirche. The hotel is within 5 minutes' walk from the Rathaus. The place is quite with many parks around and the Ring. The hotel is very conservative in the best of senses. You feel that you live in a historic building. Breakfast is delicious and very generous even for Austria with the best breakfasts in Europe long with Germany. The staff provides high-standard service. Rooms are not very big but comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Lila R,

thank you for your nice review amd the friendly comments regarding our employees.
We will pass on the comments to our employees.
It is a pleasure for me and my family that you enjoyed the historical ambience of our hotel.
Thank you again for your very kind words it was really a pleasure to read your comment!
Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 846 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is supposed to be four star...what a joke. I am not sure who would rate it as such. I don't like writing bad reviews, but feel I have to be honest, so let me explain. From check in, the service was at best unfriendly, often much worse. The room had no floor coverings, just wooden pieces that lifted and moved as you stepped on them to reveal the filth beneath. We stayed three nights, the floors weren't cleaned once. In fact, there was mess on both floors when we arrived and it was all still there when we left. The room cleaning (which I witnessed), involved only refolding bed coverings, replacing towels and a cursory wipe of the basin. We received one new small piece of soap over the whole stay. I would't have thought that you would need to ask for soap, they apparently think you do? The hotel was very noisy and even though we we booked on a non smoking floor (the signs at least were there) the smoke odour was unbelievable. Breakfast was really a lack lustre affair with little care or pride taken with very limited options. To me, this hotel felt more like a guest house. I have seen responses to previous reviews stating that the hotel is furnished and fitted in the old Viennese style. There is a difference between antique or period pieces and old, cheap, tired and just plain broken. The line has well and truly been crossed here. I have stayed in many "old" hotels across the globe, many older than this one, and none have been at this standard. The location is ok, but there are many options located better. This is probably our most unpleasant travel experience and my worst review anywhere, anytime. Sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear CaptainTurtle,

we are totally sorry and want to apologize sincerely for the inconveniences and the problems caused to you!

I can assure you the unkindliness of our staff is absolutely not within our standards and absolutely inacceptable for me, I am really sorry for that!
We know about the problem with the soaps, so we changed our system for the future completely.
All our hotels are 4*hotels and all our rooms (even the smallest one) respect the strict guidelines for 4* hotels.

Let me assure you that our housekeeping clean the rooms every day and also the floors! It might be that they were not as thoroughly as usual. We apologize for that.

The Hotel Regina is completely a non smoking hotel and we are sorry if the floor had a smell of smoke, but if a guest smokes in the room we cannot do anything.

Again I am really sorry for the problems and that you did not enjoy your stay with us!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is not a 4* hotel. Period. It's quite central, walking distance of the historic centre of Vienna, it has confortable beds, it's clean, has nice breakfast, free wifi internet. And the staff was very polite, helpful, and always smiling. But a combination of cheap and tacky plaster tries to make it look luxurious still don't make it 4*. My room was quite tiny, with a small coffee table and chair difficult to use for my computer (yes, a nice pice of woodwork, but not practical at all), a tiny bathroom, with shower (having the most ordinary plastic door), only a piece of soap and a small bottle of shower gel. 3* is the correct classification and I would have rated it higher if correctly classified.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest Ontheroadsrl,

thank you very much for this very informative comments regarding your stay at our Hotel Regina.
First of all, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna.
We are sorry for the inconvinences caused with the size of the room, but we want to point out, that all of our Kremslehner hotels are 4* hotels, they are checked annually by the camber of the hotel association.
If we would have known that you felt that your room was too small we could have offered a room change. But we are happy to inform you that we will change the tables to writing desks soon. Best regards your Kremslehner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

In spite of its grand appearence this is charmingly worn, low-budget, slightly old-fashioned, clean, usefull hotel; with friendly staff and good basic service. Very useful if you have work to do at the University Hospital.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregorCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Gregor,
thank you for your revierw -we appreciate your feedback about your stay at our property.
The kindness of our staff is very important for us, all the more we are happy about your comment.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Your Kremslehner Family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Like many previous reviewers, I do not consider this to be a 4 star hotel. It fares very poorly compared to other 4 star hotels I have stayed at.
The good points: It is very well located centrally and there is a subway station within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. It is an easy walk to the historic centre of Vienna. Just outside the hotel is the iconic Votive church. My room had a good view of the church. The staff were helpful and they gave me useful information about Vienna.
The bad points: The hotel feels old and tired. The carpets are worn. The room size is OK but the furnishings are also tired looking. There is a small old stlye (CRT) TV perched on a table. The towels are threadbare. There is very little in the way of toiletries supplied. You do not get any lotion, cotton buds, shower cap, dressing gown, slippers, etc that one associates with four star hotels. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
The bathroom was very small with only a shower (no bath tub). My pet hate (stray hairs) were evident in the shower cubicle.
Breakfast was a buffet with a rather limited choice especially of hot food. The restaurant has a good view of Vienna passing by but can get quite crowded.
Overall, this hotel is much too “tired” to compete favourably as a 4 star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3outof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear 3outof5,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
The Hotel Regina is one of the oldest hotels in Vienna and furnished in traditional Viennese style - using many antiques - which maybe seemed a little bit old to you, but it is a part of the charm of our hotel.
We know that an old house like the Hotel Regina needs a little updading from time to time and we can assure you that we are constantly refurbishing our rooms. Actually the room, which has been assigned to you is a total new room, so we do not really understand why you did not feel comfortable in it. We are very sorry for the problems with the towels and the shower facilities, I assure you we will talk to our housekeeping to avoid such incidents in the future!
We are happy that you liked the location and also the view over the city.
It is very important to us that our guest feel comfortable during their stay, so we want to apologize once again and hope you will give us a second chance to prove our professionalism ! Best regards your Kremslehner family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I slept in this hotel only one night , location is nice almost in the center of Wienna, the public transportation - underground and trams are 50m in front of the hotel, parking available in underground garage. Little bit crowdy in the evening and in the morning on breakfast room. Friendly personnel. Everything OK for short business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank PETR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest Petre M,

thank you very much for taking the time to comment your stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location!

Hope to see you soon again,

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This ain't the Ritz - although from the street the hotel looks just as impressive, and is clean and well-run inside. Its location just near Vienna's famed Ring is convenient for seeing much of Vienna. For example, Sigmund Freud's house is only a couple of streets away. Getting to and from the airport is a little complex - but Vienna's public transport system does eventually connect. The family that has owned and run this hotel for a very long time has much to be proud of. I stayed in a single room at the back that was quiet, had air-conditioning and had good access to the hotel's small but functional lift. Breakfast was efficient, freshly prepared and with helpful, non-intrusive service in a pleasant restaurant overlooking the street. Check in and check out were efficient and pleasant. For visitors to Vienna looking to stay in a hotel with character and old-fashioned charm, I would highly recommend the Regina.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear FrequentFrier,

it was a great pleasure for us to read your comments on tripadvisor!
We thank you for these very kind and pleasant words.
Thank you also very much for your positive feedback concerning our staff and our breakfast! It is nice to read that we suceeded in providing a good service to you!
Our family leads the Hotel since 1896 so we are in fact prideful of our traditional hotel.
As a family run business we are proud of our mostly long-serving employees and we know how important it is to be able to rely on them.
Upon your next stay we will be happy to organise an aiport transfer for you!

We hope you visit us soon again!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
643 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#111 of 358 in Vienna
443 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#109 of 358 in Vienna
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Rooseveltplatz 15 | 1090 Vienna, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#114 Business Hotel in Vienna
#120 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $102 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Vienna
Regina Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing