We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problems in Regina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #104 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Prague
1 review
“No problems in Regina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I slept in this hotel only one night , location is nice almost in the center of Wienna, the public transportation - underground and trams are 50m in front of the hotel, parking available in underground garage. Little bit crowdy in the evening and in the morning on breakfast room. Friendly personnel. Everything OK for short business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank PETR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest Petre M,

thank you very much for taking the time to comment your stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and liked the location!

Hope to see you soon again,

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    311
    123
    53
    41
See reviews for
149
228
55
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This ain't the Ritz - although from the street the hotel looks just as impressive, and is clean and well-run inside. Its location just near Vienna's famed Ring is convenient for seeing much of Vienna. For example, Sigmund Freud's house is only a couple of streets away. Getting to and from the airport is a little complex - but Vienna's public transport system does eventually connect. The family that has owned and run this hotel for a very long time has much to be proud of. I stayed in a single room at the back that was quiet, had air-conditioning and had good access to the hotel's small but functional lift. Breakfast was efficient, freshly prepared and with helpful, non-intrusive service in a pleasant restaurant overlooking the street. Check in and check out were efficient and pleasant. For visitors to Vienna looking to stay in a hotel with character and old-fashioned charm, I would highly recommend the Regina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear FrequentFrier,

it was a great pleasure for us to read your comments on tripadvisor!
We thank you for these very kind and pleasant words.
Thank you also very much for your positive feedback concerning our staff and our breakfast! It is nice to read that we suceeded in providing a good service to you!
Our family leads the Hotel since 1896 so we are in fact prideful of our traditional hotel.
As a family run business we are proud of our mostly long-serving employees and we know how important it is to be able to rely on them.
Upon your next stay we will be happy to organise an aiport transfer for you!

We hope you visit us soon again!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from Vienna where we were unable to find any rooms in the hotels we usually stay at because of a large oncology congress with 16.000 participants...
We settled for the Regina which is supposed to be a 4 stars hotel and booked a double and a single room for 3 nights at quite an expensive rate for what was later offered....
The single room was no more than 12 square meters, long in a corridor shape, more like a prison cell than a room; the tub was prewar style and very difficult to get in even for a young person, which was the case...one tiny soap and one bottle of shampoo/hair/body for the whole stay???the bath towel was simply forgotten the last night;
The double room's size was all right, and again two tiny soaps and two bottles of shampoo which were never replenished during the 4 days. I had to ask for a shower cap. The towels extremely thin and worn out.
It just felt like a rip off, considering the steep rate we paid.
Breakfast was average, service inexistant, and noone ever asked you your room number?
A guest of ours who came to pick us up every morning could have very well had his breakfast for free....
Would not recommend this hotel with this stingy policy...definitely not a 4 stars hotel...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie77Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest Sophie77Brussels,

first of all thank you for taking your time to infom us about your experience during your stay at our Hotel Regina.
We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations! We take your comments very serious, to improve our service and quality in the hotel.
You had already mentioned that at this time there was a big congress in the city.
Regarding the room shortage in Vienna, every hotel raised the rates.
Also the Hotel Regina was fully booked, so we just could offer you these 2 rooms.
We know that the single room is small and we are sorry for the inconvenience!
We want to point out, that all our rooms (even the smallest one) respect the strict guidelines for 4* hotels.
If we had known that you would have liked more bottles of shampoo and soap we had brought you more up to your room!
I am really sorry for the service quality, I can assure you it is not out standard.
Please apologize for the inconvenience, we hope you give us another chance in the future!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a nineteenth century hotel with a splendid facade. The rooms are also nineteenth century, though with double glazing, and have different shapes and sizes. The big drawback with the rooms is lack of air conditioning. My room was at 25oC and opening the window seemed to have little effect. In any case, the window had to be shut at night because of traffic noise outside.
On the plus side, the staff were very helpful and nice, breakfast was included and was good. The restaurant is fairly basic, but the food in the evening was tasty. Best of all, there is an outdoor eating/smoking area underneath the arches at the front of the hotel, providing excellent cover and extending the restaurant seating area by about 100%. Smoking rooms are also available.
The nearest U-bahn station is about 250m away and tram stops are even nearer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest Mikemin,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with the Tripadvisor community.

We are happy that you liked the style of our Hotel Regina. As you know the Hotel dates back from the last century and we constantly seek to satisfy all needs.
We are glad to know that our guests value the old Viennese flair.

Regarding your comment to the room, we also have rooms with air condition.
Unfortunately we did not know that you wanted one, if we had known we would have provided a room according to your wishes. Please let us know immediately if we could improve your stay upon your next visit.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and you felt well cared.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

No AC. Rooms are very hot despite windows
Supply in room for 2 persons were
One pillow, had to ask for second pillow, no wash towels, bare minimum towel supply and minimal soap provided one thin soap and one bath shower shampoo combo, 30ml
TV is very small 20 inch, size, not a flat screen, old style from the 80's

carpet is very dirty, stair rails dirty and sticky, single room is very small, like a cell.

Room Tip: Rooms are dated, dingy and old,also the tv n furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest Gina S,

we are very sorry that you could not enjoy your stay at our hotel.
Our hotel is a traditional Viennese Hotel and some do not like the traditional outfit.
All of our Kremslehner hotels are 4*hotels, they are all tested annualy by the hotel organization in Austria.
We also have bigger rooms with air condition, if we had known about your wishes during your stay, we would have provided a rooms according to your wishes.

We know about the problem with the TV and we can assure you that we modernise the TV in the near future.
We hope we can prove our professionalism upon your next visit.

Best regards,

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here for a week in August of 2012. The hotel has benefited from a major, recent renovation, yet maintains historic charm. For an inner city hotel, my room was good size.
Sound insulation seems above average, as are elevator access (3 fairly quick elevators) and bathroom fixtures. Breakfast is buffet style with more choices than usual and with some variation from day to day. One can take this meal inside or, as I did on every day, outside on the terrace nearly in the shadow of the twin-towers of the neighboring Votive Church. Service was consistently professional, friendly ad first-rate. The location is very convenient, being walking distance to such landmarks as the Rathaus and the historic center. A short walk through the park in front of the hotel takes you to the public transport station with connection to several buses and trams as well as the U2.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC-NY-CT-PA-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We came yesterday night, drove from Italy, Venice and arrived at midnight. I will tell that the night staff did an excelent job. Helped us with the laggage, parking my car and doing their best to give us the best available rooms for my two children and me and my wife. The breakfast was very good. The location is excellent. Hotel is in old stile but very clean and friendly.

I WILL RECOMEND TO HAVE THIS HOTEL.

God bless you.

Bagrat Bekchyan

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bagrat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#116 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#72 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Rooseveltplatz 15 | 1090 Vienna, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#115 Business Hotel in Vienna
#121 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Vienna
Regina Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing