We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien
Ranked #266 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very loud room”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel itself (rooms, bathroom) and the service were fine, but due to its location right next to the train station it was extremely noisy at night, the trains woke us up several times during the night!
Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel because of the noise; if you are looking for a relaxing stay in Vienna, this is not the hotel for you. Maybe it's more quiet if you have a room facing away from the train station, but I wouldn't bet on it. Also, in my opinion, the hotel is not up to a 4-Star Standard, they don't even offer free Wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, take a room facing away from the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlemissstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    129
    124
    53
    31
See reviews for
67
133
36
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights as part of our Cosmos tour. The hotel was clean, tidy but showing signs of its age. The staff were helpful and polite and delivered our bags promptly. It's a bit out of town and in a very worn down part of the city, which was a bit of a surprise to us, and we didn't feel safe running the streets early in the morning before the streets wake up for the day. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Kavalier Hotel is located a few kilometres from central Vienna.I arrived after a long coach journey from Salzburg.At check in I was allocated a room on the 3rd floor.The room was large with two single beds,an old fashioned box TV and a safety deposit box.Unfortunately,there was no Coffee/Tea making facility.
The En-Suite bathroom was a good size with a Bath/Shower and a good supply of clean towels.
I needed to get some clothes ironed and there is a services area on the -1 floor where there is an Iron and board,there is also a Sauna in the area as well.You have to obtain a swipe key card from reception for access to the services area.
There is railway lines to the rear of the hotel but the trains posed no noise problems for me.
Breakfast buffet was in the restaurant on the ground floor where a good choice of food was available.
My two problems with the Kavalier hotel were the lack of any reasonable restaurants/cafes or bars nearby and it's location.I stayed at the hotel for two nights and was reasonably satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrinus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 awful nights on route from Prague to Frankfurt, I have stayed in many hotels in many parts of the world, but never one like this. Understaffed and very rude staff, for a 4* I would expect a kettle at least in room, nothing, I asked if I could hire one (which I was prepared to pay for) a curt no was the response. food was something else, everything was inedible. Bad area out of town. 4* I would say 2* and that is being generous. Our party included some vegetarians they were told to sit together away from non vegetarians, Barbaric. be warned do not use this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Two nights experience in this standard hotel that was located on a quiet residential area with trams/street car passed by. It was not close yet not too far from the Palace of Schonbrunn. A city map and direction was given by the reception desk on the first night so we had a little adventure by taking the tram No.52 (2.20 euro) to the subway station and tried to make a transfer there to go to the city center, but the strong wind and heavy rain changed our plan and we ended up exploring the neighborhood of the subway, did some indoor window shopping, and managed to find a restaurant for dinner before we found our way to get on the right tram to return to the hotel.

The window of our room faced the street and we heard the trams, but not too bad. The weather was cool so we closed the window by the time we went to bed and noise was not a major issue. Everything in the room was old fashion yet well kept and clean. I liked the space saving desk-top which was designed fit for work. The super old TV with failing sound system was the biggest disappointment. The other unforgettable item in the room was the ageing pillow that you felt the clusters of cotton…The bathroom was spacious, clean but dated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights & chose the hotel as our son's school tour group were staying here. But it's too far out of town, in an average area. Internet access was only in the lobby with an antiquated log in for 30 min system ( based around bits of paper- get with 2013). Staff were minimally helpful but room was comfortable good bed & even a bath. Think hard before you commit to being so far from the action!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceal0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have been on coach holidays for over forty years but never experienced anything like this hotel.
The meals were a disgace.
First course one night was some lettuce on a plate.How they had the nerve to serve it was beyond all in our party.
Main courses included fish that had so many bones it was inedible and another was cold pasta.
The atitude of those serving was off hand, rude and could not wait to take the plates off the table to get us all out. If they do not want groups there they should not book them.
Travelling individually you may get treated differently, but if in a group do not take a trip that includes this hotel.
Also location is very poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hillinger
#326 of 361 in Vienna
89 reviews
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#193 of 361 in Vienna
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#49 of 361 in Vienna
599 reviews
Leopoldstadt
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 2
#214 of 361 in Vienna
302 reviews
Hotel Mozart
#329 of 361 in Vienna
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien

Property: Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien
Address: Linzer Strasse 165, Vienna 1140, Austria (Formerly Kavalier Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Novum Hotel Kavalier in Vienna offers a perfect accommodation in a quiet location in the green outskirts of Vienna, not only for business travelers. Viennese sights such as the Schonbrunn Palace and the famous Wiener Tierpark are within easy reach. All our rooms are equipped with bath or shower and WC as well as air conditioning, a workplace and satellite TV. Guests can relax in the sauna or at the hotel's bar, where also small snacks are available. For meetings or events, the hotel offers three meeting rooms and guests are free to use the WiFi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalier Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing