We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for tourism or shoping in nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Graf Stadion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Graf Stadion
Ranked #63 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel for tourism or shoping in nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

Very good and nice hotel near from historical center(~ 20 min not hard walking). Good breakfast, good service friendly personal, I was here in 2008 year in march, and stay in this hotel for 3 days. I think it's very good hotel for tourism or shopping or traveling. Near from hotel place tube station and tram stop, already near from hotel you can arrive to City town hall

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya_kowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    186
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
73
156
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, sometimes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

The Graf Stadion has the size and feel of a family-run hotel, which I imagine it once was (I've no idea how it's managed or owned now.) It's had grander days and I imagine the streets around it have changed somewhat since it was built in the late 19th century. It's well-located near the Rathaus and hence the museums, parliament building, etc and with tram 2 and U2 being only 1 or 2 minutes walk away. The side street it is in is relatively quiet, but at present (September 2010) there's major building works taking place at the end of it which means quite a bit of noise at street level from 7am or earlier with trucks and materials moving in and out. It looks as though this work is near completion, and I think it is only likely to be really noticeable for the 2 front-facing ground floor rooms (12 and 13.)

The rooms vary, but are typically spacious for a hotel of this age. The beds are quite small, though, and the room I stayed in (12) has three single beds and a shower but no bath. Breakfast is a typical continental buffet - better than many I've seen but not extravagant. Tasty bread, great coffee and very fast service.

Reception isn't open all day - if you arrive very early or late you'll find a note on the door and your key waiting for you at a hotel down the road. There's no bar, but apparently you can get a drink from reception when it is open (0700-2230) although I've no idea what the range is. There's internet, but it's not included and is fairly basic, although fast when I used it. You buy access in 1 or 6 hour slots from reception (1 euro = 1hr, 5euro = 6 hours) which gets you a piece of paper with a password to use when you want. So, no internet for late arrivals until reception opens again in the morning.

The bathroom provisions are basic but adequate, and my room had some armchairs as well as an upright chair for the desk. It was good value compared to many others nearby, but somewhat spartan.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cziwkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
251 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

This is a nice old hotel close to the Rathaus where the Christmas Market takes place. We chose a superior room and there was plenty of space for a family with a child. The old elevator still functions! The only problem was that we had to cross 3-4 doors with door-steps while getting to our room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nagytibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

The location of the hotel was much better than we originally thought. It's very close to an Underground station, and within walking distance of a nice opera, city hall (rathaus) and the parliament. The hotel is not on a main road but near one, so it's quiet but close enough to a few facilities.

Our price included breakfast which isn't something to write home about but quite sufficient and in a lovely room. The staff kept refilling everything that was running out immediately so you could just sit there and relax.

We got the superior room which is a huge room with what seemed at first like a big double bed, but turned out to be two singles stuck together. I'd much prefered a double bed, seeing that was basically the reason I picked the superior room over the standard one. The room and bathroom was tidy and clean, nothing fancy, but thoughthully laid out and comfortable. There's also an extra bed in there, which I believe you need to pay extra for.

The one thing that I was a bit disappointed about was the lack of Wireless internet access. There IS free internet access available, via cable, so if you have your own laptop, you can connect for free. There is no wifi though, which I can't really understand, it's a standard (and simple) thing to have, why not include it?

Staff was extremely helpful and very very kind. Overall the hotel was a very good experience and I would definitely recommend it to others. I would consider it again, if I could score around 20% lower price than what I paid (116euro).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeusalmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus/LImassol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Location is exelent 2 min walk form Uban and tram(ring). I received a free upgrade of the room however i staid for 7 days. I then returned for 1 more day after a week time and they offered me the "upgraded" room for the price of the normal room. Everything was perfect. Even if you are ariving adn night time when reception os close they leave you a message, which helps you very easy to check in by youself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir3555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

I stayed at the Graf Stadion hotel a weekend in february. The hotel is pretty old and the rooms are pretty small but the location is excellent en the rooms are very clean.
A good advice for people who visit Vienna is CAT/CAB, it is a train which rides from the airport to the centre of the city and there you can take a taxi to your hotel and this for 24 euro (and this for 1 until 4 persons - if you are 4, you pay 6 euro per person)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

Great location! 2 minutes walk to the metro station. The hotel staff was friendly, breakfast was nice. the rooms were clean, but the bathroom seemed old and sometimes had a strange smell...

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AthensDimitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#93 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Josefstadt
Pension Wild
Pension Wild
#118 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#58 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#101 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Graf Stadion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Graf Stadion

Property: Hotel Graf Stadion
Address: Buchfeldgasse 5, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#112 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Graf Stadion 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Vienna The ecologically friendly Hotel Graf Stadion is situated in the district of Josefstadt, only 250 metres from the Rathaus Underground Station and within walking distance of Vienna's Town Hall, the Burg Theatre, the Parliament, and the Hofburg Palace. Free WiFi is available. All en suite rooms have a flat-screen TV with satellite channels and are anti-allergenic with parquet flooring, down-free pillows and blankets. The breakfast buffet is served in the elegant breakfast room on the ground floor. Built in Biedermeier style, Hotel Graf Stadion is a protected historic building, and one of the lifts has been reliably operating since 1913. The Theater in der Josefstadt Bus Stop (lines 13A and N71) can be reached within a 2-minute walk. A tram stop (line 2) is 200 metres away. 08. Josefstadt is a great choice for travellers interested in culture, art and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Graf Stadion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graf Stadion Hotel
Graf Stadion Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing