We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortably old fashioned hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cordial Theaterhotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Ranked #167 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortably old fashioned hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

You can walk to all the main Viennese attractions, cathedral museums etc in about 15 mins from this hotel but also the No 2 Tram passes the door and the U2 underground is minutes away at the end of the road. At the same time this is a real residential area with 2 supermarkets virtually next door and some excellent local restaurants. The English speaking receptionists are exceptionally helpful in making bookings and conjured up a taxi in minutes when a thunderstorm broke. Our room had bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and kitchenette with minibar and nespresso machine.English tea bags were provided on request. Wifi, nominally chargeable, was provided free. Only the breakfast is to be avoided, expensive and better alternatives available all around

Room Tip: We changed hotels at the last minute and think we got a superior room cheap because there was nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldAnglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    147
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
79
128
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here over New Year 2014. Very close to centre - 300m - and excellent for the festivities.
Very helpful staff; rooms not modern but clean and very comfortable. Next to a theatre and decor reflects this.
Handy for all shops, with supermarkets within 100m for all supplies. We were upgraded and had a kitchenette.
In house restaurant looked good but not used.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 208JEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here in May 2013 during a multi-city European vacation. Our room was very clean (Vienna is VERY clean), comfortable and well-appointed. Location is within easy walk to old Vienna and it is convenient to the trolley line. We were traveling during low season, so rates were very good even for Vienna where tourists are always in abundance. Staff was courteous and provided excellent dining recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyAnn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here in a suite during a businesstrip. There are a lot of reasons I do not think this hotel deserve the four stars:

- The design is really ugly and outdated. If I payed full price (which we didn't) and expected a luxurious stay in a nice 4-star hotel I would be very disappointed. It may have been ok at some point in the 70s, but the style and very obvious wear and tear of the interior is disappointing for the kind of prices I have seen that they charge here.

- Not one single room in the whole hotel has a shower without a bathtub. For people with just a slight bodily issue, like dizzyness, it is hard to keep hygiene ok. We stayed for 4 days and showered only once, because it was just too dangerous for us.

- There are hardly any sockets for charging your phone/ipad etc. One in the hallway, but none in the bedroom. And since all electricity goes out when you leave the room, your iPad will not be charged when you get back.

- WIFI is a disaster and also expensive. You are lucky if you are able to get online at all, and only one of the guests can be online at a time. The internet keeps falling out, and is very, very slow when it works. We talked to the staff about it and they kind of shrugged and said "this is normal here". So don't expect to be able to to business online from this hotel.

- Checkout is already at 11 on the day of departure.

- And last, what really kicked my nerve was the constant playing of Wiener Walzes in the public areas of the hotel.

But the staff were really nice, the room was clean, it was even cleaned on sunday. If I was the owner of this hotel, I'd do some serious renovations and stay in business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MalinK502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had the Johann Strauss suite on the 2nd floor, amazing value and large. Beds comfortable, air conditioning, fridge, flat screen TV. Arrived after midnight in the rain, the staff were fantastic and could not do enough to help. Location is 5 min walk from the Ring and on Tram 2 route. Maid service was brilliant, they tidied things that I did not realise were not tidy! The feel of the hotel is very friendly and totally customer focused. I would use again without hesitation. Did not use the restaurant but did not hear any complaints.

Room Tip: Get a suite or get upgraded if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great hotel and great staff who were always very accommodating. True the hotel is a bit outdated but this adds to its charm. Use of internet and cooking stove is against payment. Room had 2 a/cs and was always clean. All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malteser1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Were three adults and a child. We lived in a two-room suite with balcony
Breakfast didn't take(it seemed expensive)
From the pleasant things, is the availability of coffee machines
___________________________________________
Little troubles that are somewhat overshadowed by:
1. Presented in the room a electric stove, but for the use of, need to pay 3 euro per day
2. Internet had only in the lobby, and costs 3 euro per 2 hours (don't understand this!)
3. The ventilation in the bathroom is very weak (or rather, doesn't work)
___________________________________________
But by and large, good location (3 minutes walk to the Rathaus) and good service allows me to give 90 points out of 100.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ussmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#95 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#163 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Atlantis Vienna
#166 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#94 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Theaterhotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Theaterhotel Wien

Property: Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Address: Josefstaedter Strasse 22, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Theaterhotel Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordial Theatre Hotel Vienna is a stylish, comfortable 4-star hotel situated practically in the centre of the city. Right next door you'll find the famous Theater in der Josefstadt, the oldest theatre in Vienna. The hotel's central location lets you walk to the Old Town to see the Stephansdom and the stately buildings of the Ringstrasse in just a few minutes. The CORDIAL Theatre Hotel Vienna has 54 comfortable studios and suites, each equipped with a flat-screen TV, telephone, radio and minibar. Some have a kitchenette. Elegance and cosiness has been skilfully combined. For your health and wellbeing, we also offer massages and cosmetic treatments on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Cordial Theaterhotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Vienna
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing