We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I strongly recommend it to everybody, just excellent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Allegro
Ranked #257 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I strongly recommend it to everybody, just excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fair prices, excellent location next to train station but without any disturbance because of the trains, 4 stops from Vienna centre, excellent personnel, especially the Greek-Brazilian receptionist with the black hair, comfortable rooms, very clean with terrific breakfast. I strongly recommend it for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foreign L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Foreign L,

wow, just wow! Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We will forward your compliments to our receptionist. Great that you also enjoyed our very large rooms. Hope to welcome you soon here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City. Best regards from VIenna, Team Allegro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    102
    67
    30
    18
See reviews for
62
100
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is in perfect location if your arrive by train to wein meilding. You only have to catch the S train back one station and the hotel is right across the street. If you have a eurail you ride the S train for free which is awesome as well. The hotel rooms were a great size and we had great internet connection. The only issue we had was that our shower flooded so we had to change rooms and there wasn't really nice hot water in either shower. The staff were really nice and gave us great directions to the city center. We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Director of Sales at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear SK,

many thanks for your wonderful review. Hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Allegro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had originally planned to spend all 4 nights at this hotel but before I could confirm my booking , the hotel was already fully booked . I am glad that I did not stay at the hotel .However I spent my last night on my return trip to South Africa .Although the hotel is across from the metro station , it is not within easy access to the Vienna central station . I did not notice any trams close by . The hotel is clean and tidy but you feel as though you are entering a dormitory . it is not located in the best part of Vienna if one looks at all the graffiti outside . Rooms are large - we got no coffee / tea or any toiletries and fortunately I carried my own soap . There was no bar fridge and the safe did not lock properly to my shock . Although we got a warm welcome , the rooms were a disappointment . My son became ill and we tried to access his room using the key given to us by the hotel at 11.50
am . However we were barred from entering the room as the key was disarmed . My daughter and I had to plead with the receptionist to l grant us access to his room . Both my husband and I are lawyers which made us feel extremely upset .. What is worse is that we had prepaid for the room in full through our travel agent . I am unsure if this hotel has problems with guests
checking out but a nice touch might be to get some information about your guests before you start classifying them - through small talk or a little survey form . We were allocated 2 standard rooms at the very corner of a large un- carpeted passage . It appeared as though the room was
not properly prepared for us as there was no liquid soap in the containers .Guests should be informed in advance to carry toiletries .The standard fare in many 3 stars is to give you basic toiletries- soap , shampoo , toilet rolls and shower gel and you can assume that this hotel will also give you complementary toiletries .Breakfast was just ok . The lifts were
smelly . We have travelled extensively throughout the world this is not a hotel recommended for a family or any professional on business ..Might suit a backpacking student or an overnight stay if you are in transit to another country .

The room was so cold and there were no additional blankets. We literally slept with a jersey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shama188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Minsk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

As for the rooms they were pretty comfortable. The staff was affable too. But I was told there was wi-fi connection, but was some reasons i could find it nowhere (i had explored the whole hotel, trust me). Also there were some problems of finding parking and getting to the nearest subway station (although there was a tram stop nearby). There was some noise outside because of the nearest tram tracks, but it's just my opinion. Anyway, the price for staying was not very expensive.

Room Tip: You had better stay in the new corps (the rooms are much more comfortable there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallaboutann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi there,

Quite a good response :) Sorry about the WiFi - we have no idea why it did not work for you, we haven't heard any other complaints. The free WiFi is available in the entire hotel. In addition we give out free iPads at the reception for the use of our guests. Anyway sorry about that. We look forwward to welcoming you soon again at the hotel. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

As the title suggests, the Hotel Allegro is in need of a makeover; paint, carpets and possibly even the bed are a bit worn but surprisingly this was not so distracting. A good friend stayed with me in one of the rooms for 4 nights in September 2013. The check in was delightful in that the desk staff was able to accommodate our special needs. The breakfast was one of the best with a large variety of cold cuts, cereals, yogurts and fruit and oh, on demand espresso coffee drinks. It was perfect. The location was also a bonus, 1 minute walk away from Sbahn, directly across the street. This provided easy access to the whole city and in 10 min we were in the city center. What makes this place worth it is the staff. Even though its run down a bit, the price point was about right, positive helpful staff made up for the difference.

Room Tip: It wouldn't hurt to take a look at a few rooms before accepting what you request. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harmonyeternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Harmonyeternal, thanks very much for your positive comments, we truly appreciate it. In regards to the worn down interior etc. yes we are going to renew the whole FF&E in the rooms by 2014, hence providing our guests a modern and more design-orientated atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the hotel. Many greetings from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent 4 nights with a friend. At first sight it looks as it is in a bad shape, 20 meters from S Bahn station Matzleinsdorfer. But it is clean, with very polite personnel, ready to help you at all times. Very good quality of the breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious, but the whole hotel needs renovation to improve. In general it is a hotel I would recommend. It might not be down town, but it definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Konstantinos P,

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. You are absolutely right, the hotel needs refurbishment - and we are working on it. We are just about to finalize our plans, and start taking action toward refurbishing and relaunching this hotel as an urban-lifestyle-design type of hotel. When you come back next time, which we hope, you will be positively surprised. But do expect to pay a bit more as well... ;) Many greetings to Greece!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We came from Tallinn, Estonia, to visit Vienna. We stayed at the hotel Allegro in a double room for three nights in September 2013. The hotel’s location is good and it is situated at the square Matzleinsdorfer Platz, just opposite a number of underground tram stops. The tram lines in Vienna provide a convenient way to get around. For example, trams 6 and 18 go to the railway station Westbahnhof. Tram 1 drives to the hictorical center (incl. State Opera, Parliament Building and Town Hall). The hotel room was large, comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty good, with a large selection to choose from. In my opinion it is a good and decent hotel. If we had to visit Vienna again, we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curioustraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank Curioustraveler81, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon again at the hotel. Many greetings to Tallin, one of the most gogeaous small cities in the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#152 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#256 of 368 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#195 of 368 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Wieden
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
AllYouNeed Hotel Vienna 4
#225 of 368 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro

Property: Hotel Allegro
Address: Matzleinsdorfer Platz 1, Vienna 1050, Austria (Formerly Amarante Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allegro 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Austrian Hospitality at its best in this ideally situated eco-friendly hotel in Vienna. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City features 72 extra SPACIOUS, lovingly appointed rooms with free High-Speed W-LAN for multiple devices. All rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower/bath, toilet (mostly separate), flat-screen satellite TV and aircondition. In addition to the spacious rooms with free W-LAN Hotel Allegro offers spacious apartments, some of which are two-storied with terrace and a wonderful view out across Vienna. The breakfast is prepared with love to the local organic fresh products, freshly brewed espresso, and great variety of pastry and other delicassies. Not to forget a selection of healthy specialities. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City is the first hotel in Vienna to use eco-friendly Öko-Strom electricity in the hotel. This is one of the few measuirements the hotel has taken in order to be more sustainable.Families love the hotel due to the extra spacious rooms and kids-friendly staff. We plan to add some toys in the rooms in the near future so come back and see. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City offers naturally a 24-hour friendly service and strives to showcase real authentic Austrian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Allegro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing