We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fin de siècle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #203 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fin de siècle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

From airport to city center with train, an easy walk over to U-bahn and then 3-5 minutes to Friedensbrücke. From there another 4-5 minutes pleasant walk on a wide sidewalk to Hotel Bellevue, next to Franz Josef Railway Station. But, also next to it, Viennese streetcar passing the hotel with a direct line to the famous Grinzing / "Heurigen", etc. I discovered that the location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic due to the easy access to the whole of Wien by public transport.

The hotel has a rather discreet outside architecture, in line with its surroundings. That may very well be the reason why I was so extremely pleasantly surprised when, for the first time, I stepped inside the hotel, with a small restaurant/bar on right side and the lobby to the left. It was like I was thrown more than 100 years back in time with its beautiful furniture, the high ceiling a.o. My first thought was actually; the hotel must be the definition of the “Le fin de siècle”-expression. (learning afterwards that Bellevue actually was built to serve the World Exhibition 1873 I Wien). And just the same feeling of well-being I had when entering my room in 2nd floor. Large, well equipped, modern but at the same time "old". The large nice white, clean and shining bathroom, however, was of a modern style. Exactly the way I want it to be. Just the same as the free wi-fi that is offered in every room. Highly appreciated! Working on the PC, I still had the the nice feeling of mind drifting back more than a century in time when observing details ( the nhigh celing, long curtains etc) in the room.

A few words of advice; take some extra time at the breakfast table in the morning. It’s worth it, especially if you enjoy really “gooood” tasting fresh baked bread in the morning… and coffee with “heisse Milch”.. aah!

Like Arnold Schwarzenegger says; “I’ll be back”!

However, unlike Arnold, in my case only for pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oystein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    258
    152
    39
    32
See reviews for
73
259
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in twin share as part of a contiki group. Room was very spacious. Great air con. Great bathroom. Amazing breakfast. Good location only a 7 euro taxi ride from nightlife area. Nice staff. Wifi was absolute rubbish though. Lucky I was on a tour and didn't really need to research things because it was near impossible to stay connected.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eliseaashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest,

You made my day. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our HOTEL BELLEVUE
and I really do hope to welcome you soon again. Wifi should work then without any problems
Yours sincerely,
Ingrid Zingrsoch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The breakfast buffet is superlative and you should include it in your room price: everything from salmon to eggs to great breads to Krapfen (donuts) to fresh fruit and cereals and the famed "multivitamin" juice. The front desk has been overwhelmed for several years by the fact that wifi was only free in the lobby for 30 minutes, and most people couldn't figure out how to log on and were super crabby. As of November 1, the wifi is free even in the rooms, so the front desk will have a thankless task off their hands. Some of the rooms have not been updated, indeed, so ask for one that has been. The restaurant in the hotel is fine if you are too tired to go out, and the location is great. It's also near the Augarten Park and the subway & tram & grocery * laundry. For the price, it's great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

While the price, breakfast, and location were exceptional (it's right by the D-line that takes you to the Inner City and many important sites), there is little else to recommend it. The staff was anything but friendly - down right rude and unhelpful. The rooms really need to be refurbished. The carpet and upholstery were frayed at the edges, and you could see dust around the baseboards. Dirty glasses weren't changed when the room was cleaned, and the Wi-Fi left much to be desired. I would think there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDRca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations
and promise that I will take care of all the points you mentioned. Furthermore I am very happy to tell, that since Nov 1st 2013 Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel.
I would very much appreciate to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely, Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Eastern USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

In Fall 2013, I stayed at the Bellevue for 10 nights and found it a well situated hotel with very good service and an outstanding breakfast buffet. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from a supermarket and drug store. A tram that stops in central Vienna (all the major tourist and cultural sites) is just around the corner in front of a McDonald's that offers fine Viennese pastries and delicious hot drinks.

At the time I stayed, the hotel was not offering unlimited Wifi, but hopefully that will change in the future. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Not a very good selection of TV channels, but if you come to Vienna to watch TV, you have a problem!

The staff were courteous and responded immediately to questions and concerns. I would definitely stay at the Bellevue again and recommend it to others visiting this great city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarsupialSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 2 separate nights whilst in Vienna. Upon arrival at the hotel, the service staff were not friendly and welcoming. Instead it felt more like we were disturbing them when we asked to check in and ask for further information such as a map and how to get to the train station. Over the days, the service did not improved. Not even a smile was given to us when we went up to the counter to ask them for something.

The rooms were spacious and had a classic feel but could tell it was also a bit old. The bathrooms were nice and looked newly refurnished with a modern look. The beds were comfy and the room was nice and warm during this period. However, it was hard to handle the lifts as you had to open a door and push all your luggage into the lift whilst holding open the door.

Breakfast had a good range.

The hotel is a little inconspicuous and a bit further out of town. There isn't much to see around the hotel but there's a supermarket and McDonalds across the road and some restaurants around. It is near to the train station U4 which takes about 5-10 mins to get into the city and about half an hour to get to Shonbrunn Palace. It is quiet at night to walk back.

Overall, it did not impress us and the next time we are in Vienna, we might stay at a hotel closer to the city sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetuniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is located well for sightseeing and access, being close to U4 station. However the wifi in lobby which is free for 30 min is extremely slow and difficult.
The rooms are spacious but some of them do not have direct access to lifts so be careful if you have heavy luggage and get one of these rooms. This part is not explained well at all in booking process.
The staff are ok but some can be grumpy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leisure1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
#123 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#195 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Hotel Mozart
#330 of 367 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Property: Bellevue Hotel
Address: Althanstrasse 5, Vienna 1090, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Hotel, located near Franz Joseph station, convenient to West Bahnhof station; 3 km to West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing