We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel let down by buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel let down by buffet breakfast”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

On arrival reception was friendly and efficient and we were given room 506 which had a great view of the Cathedral. Room was big enough - modern, light wood with lemon/yellow the predominant colours. Bed was 2 singles put together ( a common occurrence in Europe) but it was very comfortable. We could hear a bit of noise outside during the night but not enough to keep you awake.There was plenty of cupboard space and had a safe for valuables. Also in the room was a round table and 2 sofa chairs. Bathroom was good - washbasin & toiletries ( although get annoyed when they go skimpy and give you a body soap and hair shampoo combined), shower and separate bath & toilet. They had heating bars for hanging/drying clothes but could not get it to work. The adjustable air-con. worked fine.
We note they have a small gym at the hotel but feel not enough thought put into the limited equipment they did have in it - the 4 machines all related to legs. Maybe get rid of the table/chair and nicnacks in their and maybe have some free weights.
The Buffet Breakfast area is obviously excellent because of the view afforded and the service was good.They have a fair selection of cold meats and cheeses, cereals and yoghurt. Fruit salad seemed to be from cans although they did have pineapple.Have juices and you can make your own orange or carrot juice. Hot food, they only had sausages wrapped in bacon (no change) - did not realize until second morning you can order omelettes (not noted anywhere that I could see). Coffee and tea available ( to order). Breads and pastries were available but disappointed with quality as Vienna is renowned for it's breads and pastries!
If they improved these small areas you could not go past this hotel with the added bonus of it's position.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!
Please be assure that we will disuss your mentioned comments within our next management meeting.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    405
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
400
1,016
153
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Centrally located hotel overlooking St Stephan's Cathedral.
Breakfast was a nice selection of Eastern european delicacies.
Friendly staffed. Room was a good size and view of Cathedral was magnificent. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had admired the location of the hotel, directly opposite St Stephen's Cathedral, on previous visits to Vienna, so booked a superior suite to ensure that we had a cathedral view.

The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, and we were very pleased with the facilities - very attractive decor, free coffee and cakes all day for guests, a lovely suite with two extra beds in the lounge and a shower room separate to the main bathroom. The buffet breakfast was also excellent.

The main attraction was the cathedral view from both our suite, and the breakfast room.

The only area for improvement was that we couldn't find a price list for the mini bar and assumed some items were complimentary, which they weren't.

Overall we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in August with a total of 13 people. Wonderful rooms (some with a great view if the cathedral). Very helpful staff (we're great about dealing with some phone chargers we forgot). Convenient for all the central Vienna sights. Subway station next to the hotel (subway was easy to use and we used it quite a bit to get around). Breakfast was good. Would recommend for anyone visiting.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Room size was very large for European hotel. Love all the artwork. You're in the centre of everything. Only criticism is that the registration desk double as the concierge, so they're less knowledgeable about good restaurants to go to (they recommend very touristy places).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travellingamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review and for your comments.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special one!
Please be assure that we will discuss your mentioned comments within our next management meeting.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

It's impossible to have a better location - our room looked out directly at the cathedral. The spa and relaxation room was a nice place to rest after a long journey, and the included breakfast buffet was outstanding. Free no-hassle WiFi was a welcome feature.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Perfect view and room decoration, the staff was very polite, not to mention the perfect location. I really can't find anything that didn't like! The breakfast was also very good with a great variety of things to choose! Well done "Hotel am Stephanplatz" people!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeminaEfst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Semina,

thank you very much for wonderful review!

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,404 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,226 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing