We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifes special birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wifes special birthday”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

As a birthday surprise my wife has always wanted to visit the Spanish riding school in Vienna. When looking for a hotel I needed something central, easily accessible for public transport and stylish.
I can honestly say the Hotel Am provided all these and a bit more.
The reception staff spoke impeccable English and were very helpful with everything we requested of them.
The rooms were of a good size, we had one looking over the Cathedral which gave an extra special ambience to the room. The beds provided one of the best “Hotel” night’s sleep I have had.
The restaurant was nicely laid out and although we only used it for breakfast was a good experience. Breakfast menu was varied and of good quality.
The only small criticism was that the bar (incorporated in the restraint closed early and it would have been nice to have a drink overlooking the Cathedral at night time.
All in all a wonderful Viennese experience.

Room Tip: HAve one over looking the Cathedral to make it extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveu1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We are very happy to have made your holidays and your wife´s birthday special a memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,627
    410
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
418
1,032
156
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bochum, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We spent five days over Easter in the Austrian capital, and as we had a 13-month-old baby with us, chose a hotel in the very epicentre of the city.
The Hotel am Stephansplatz did not disappoint. The location - only yards from the massive and impressive Stephansdom - was a dream, as were the two rooms we had. My advice: spend that little bit extra and go for a room with a view of the cathedral, and especially a room with floor to ceiling windows (ours was room 506).You won't regret it. The double glazed windows keep out any noise should you be a light sleeper.
The front-of-house staff were exceptionally helpful with every enquiry, recommendations, restaurant reservations etc..
Breakfast was very acceptable for this standard of hotel, although occasionally a little more variety would not go amiss. My one minor gripe: the bar in the evening was merely the breakfast space, but with drinks. It does overlook the cathedral, which is splendid but we would have liked other seating and not the breakfast tables; this could surely be organised.
Overall, a great experience, and we would definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the cathedral and one with full-length, floor-to-ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john12p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and also for your comments concerning our bar area.
We surely will discuss this point within our next manager meeting.

We are very glad to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 8 days in Vienna; the location and appearance of the hotel are excellent, the rooms well-maintained. There are well over a dozen restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff were universally helpful, and well-informed. They seemed to be delighted to help out with such things as discovering train schedules.

My only reservation is that the restaurant is over-loaded, as are the wait staff. Items exhausted from the breakfast buffet were not promptly replaced. I would suggest closing down the (hardly used) smoking breakfast room and reopening it as a general breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you want to face the church, you must sleep with your windows tight shut at all times, since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your nice review and also for your constructive criticism concerning our breakfast. Please be sure that we will discuss this topic in our upcoming operations meeting as it´s always very important to us to keep a high service standard and offer perfect quality at all points.

We are very happy to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I were only going to spend one night in Vienna, this was the perfect place to splurge on a hotel. There is nothing like coming into the room and opening the drapes to see that fantastic cathedral within spitting distance. I loved that one of the windows opened so you could literally hang out of it and watch everyone in the square. I could barely tear myself away to go sightseeing. I spent a lot of time meditating in the cathedral itself. It was Palm Sunday and stalls were set up outside selling pussy willow branches. Then I was able to participate in a procession through the streets with the Cardinal, priest in their vestments and the crowd of children and adults.

The service at the hotel was very good as was the restaurant where I had my free breakfast and my free cake and coffee the night before. You can use the computer in the lobby to print out boarding passes. As has been mentioned the location is perfect, close to the underground and many nice little places within walking distances. I needed a couple to extra hours before my flight and had to pay extra to extend my checkout. Most hotels would do that for no extra charge if the hotel is not full. That is my only complaint. Otherwise, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank maggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved everything about the hotel. Perfect for the sightseeing, next to the gorgeous cathedral, Xmas markets at every step, walking distance to the main attractions, quite cheap taxi fares to more distant ones (like Belvedere).
Very good breakfast, nice receptionist who made reservations for dinners on Xmas eve and Xmas day at lovely restaurants.
No need to go any further when looking for your perfect hotel in Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusLadyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We are very happy to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The second we walked in to the hotel I knew the stay would be excellent. And it was. The staff in reception was so friendly and helpful. Rooms we had were opposite to the cathedral and they were good in size and very clean, bathrooms with shower and tub - thats so nice! Beds were so good that it's hard to sleep in my own now. You couldn't here any noice from the square or from other rooms and I'm easy to wake at noice.
Breakfast was varied, even kids found so much to eat there! We had dinner in the bar and it was also very good. Nothing special but good enough.
And the location, it is absolutely fantastic! If we ever go back to Vienna, and I'm pretty sure we will, we are definitely staying in this hotel!

Room Tip: opposite to the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strictlytraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to have made your familiy´s holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location right opposite the cathedral. Rooms we're clean and comfortable with great amenities. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and high quality and desk staff very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for your very nice review.

We are very happy to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.
At this point we would also like to thank you for your nice comment concerning our new guest amenities - we give a high focus on fair trade and sustainability.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,306 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing