We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent privately run hotel in a brilliant location – literally about one minute’s walk from the Stephansplaz U-Bahn entrance. We stayed for one night en route to Bad Blumau (there was no availability for our return journey which was a shame). We had two double rooms (one for use as a single) both with a view of Stephansdom. The rooms were well appointed and very quiet despite the central location and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The breakfast selection was really good with the opportunity to squeeze your own fresh orange juice, or make up other veg/juice mixes with the fresh produce available. We ate in the bar on the evening we arrived and can recommend the simple and tasty dishes available. We shall certainly use this hotel again when we are in Vienna.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

we appreciate you taking the time for a review on Tripadvisor.

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make it a memorable one.

We hope you had a safe trip home and would be pleased to welcome you back as guests in the heart of Vienna.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,627
    410
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
418
1,032
156
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I chose this hotel from tripadvisor reviews and its location. I was on business and needed a location near the underground. My wife joined me on this trip and needed to be central for sightseeing. The Stephansplatz met these location needs perfectly.
We were fortunate to be given a room immediately in front of the Cathedral. I was concerned that the noise of the bells might be a problems but the glazing was virtually soundproof. I did not even need to close the outer electrically controlled shutters to prevent the noise from disturbing me.
The room was spacious and clean. It was well designed and clearly used modern building technology to achieve a comfortable environment. Breakfast was good. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. It does not have all the unnecessary glitz of a five star hotel but does have all that is needed for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: seventh floor with a balcony facing the cathedral is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guests,

we appreciate you taking the time for a review on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make it a comfortable one.

We hope you had a safe journey home and would be pleased to welcome you back at Vienna's most central.

With kind regards
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I spent four nights in this hotel. It is honestly one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had and I travel extensively. The friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency of every person I came into contact with, from the reception, the restaurant and the even the cleaning departments, was absolutely firsts rate! I was given the most beautiful room, spacious and clean, nicely decorated with a lovely new bathroom. Breakfast was brilliant! It may not be the cheapest option, but it is exceptional value for money. To add to the superlatives, the location is the BEST you will find in Vienna - so close to the metro and all the amazing sights Vienna has to offer. Well done hotel Am Stephansplatz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for feedback and sharing your impressions with us and other travellers.

We are delighted to have made your stay a special and memorable one.

We hope you had a safe trip home and would be pleased to welcome you back as guests in the heart of Vienna.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's a nice hotel with the best view in the world, on the greatest location you can possibly imagine in Vienna, but... What about the beds? It's hard to understand why would you possibly put such cheap, twin beds, with a hole in between... in a hotel with such a great potential? And I know it+s not a five star hotel, but staff could also smile and say hi every now and then. And one more thing: rooms are clean, but cleaning lady could be cleaner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matija B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and sharing your impressions with us.

We thank you for pointing out the great location and view of our hotel. The more we regret that you were not satisfied with the quality of our beds. The beds are custom made by a carpenter for the hotel. You are absolutely right about friendliness; this is something that is not dependent on stars or prices. Therefore we are sorry that you were disappointed. Being a private hotel we have high ambitions making our guests feel welcome and at home. However we can always improve and do even better in the future.

We still hope that you enjoyed your days in Vienna and had a safe trip home.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

For the second time the whole family have been in this hotel. Beautiful and clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, smiling staff. Between 5 and 15 minute walk is all that you can see in Vienna. Beautiful designer restaurant with the best drinks. Every morning you wake up with a majestic bell of St. Stephan's Cathedral. Walk along Kartnershtrase with charming Viennese konditoreis and shops for the fashion world. 7 minutes walk to the Opera and the best Viennese restaurants with spare ribs and unfiltered beer.
And it's all around you! Amazing!!!
In addition - the care of all staff and the smiles that you get everywhere they make always go back to this hotel. You really have to experience it. This is my hotel and while buy my own home in Vienna will just stay there - in hotel am Stephanplatz!
Congratulations and thanks again to the front office team (especially to Denise :)), to the management team and to the owners.
Yours
George Siarov and family

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George_Siarov2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Family Siarov,

we thank you for your review and taking the time to share your experiences.
We are thrilled and happy that we made your second stay a beautiful one and make our home your home.
We hope to welcome you back soon at Vienna’s most central.

With warm regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

When I was in Vienna the first time, I noticed that this hotel must have the best location in town. Hence, I chose to stay her during my second visit to Vienna. To my surprise, the hotel was both nice and reasonably priced. Add the superb location, and this will be my preferred hotel if I ever are to return to Vienna.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank InformatJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear InformatJon,

we appreciate your review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to have convinced you of our excellent location, facilities and feel-at home concept.
We hope you had a safe trip home and would be happy to welcome you back at Vienna’s most central.

With kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice room for the family - two separate bedrooms. Friendly staff, good sauna, breakfast with sparkling wine. The best location you can imagine. Everything is close. The view to the Cathedral is very romantic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guests,

we appreciate you taking the time for a review on Tripadvisor.

We are happy we could make your stay a comfortable one and that you and your family felt at home.

We hope you had a safe trip home and would be pleased to welcome you back as guests in the heart of Vienna.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,305 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing