We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Am Stephansplatz Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Am Stephansplatz Vienna”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We completely enjoyed our stay at Hotel Am Stephansplatz. We had 8 people (4 rooms) and the accommodations were excellent, including the breakfast buffet. In addition, you cannot beat the location as you are downtown in the old town across from the Cathedral. If driving to the hotel, call ahead to ask for the address to put into the GPS as the regular address won't get you to the front of the hotel by car using the GPS. The staff was very helpful in making excellent suggestions for great places to eat dinner, including making the reservations for the 8 of us. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely staff here again when returning to Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Densch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and sharing your opinion with other travellers.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our service and amenities.

We hope you took home lovely Vienna memories and would be delighted to welcome you back as guests at our hotel.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    395
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
384
992
152
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are currently at the hotel. I am thrilled that I chose this place. Location couldn't be better. The rooms are well appointed and clean. Breakfast is included and very good. They will even make you an espresso. It is served until 11:00 AM. Beds are comfortable. What more could one ask?

Room Tip: If you want a good view, choose a more expensive room. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your feedback!

Glad you enjoyed your stay in the heart of Vienna.

We hope you had a safe journey home and would be pleased to welcome you back as guests.

With kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a night in a junior suite overlooking the cathedral, the view was magnificent! Breakfast buffet was incredible, service was attentive, without being pushy. The location is incredible, smack down in the middle of things, the room was extremely convenient with great shower amenities my wife enjoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the church, obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled by your kind words and happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We offer fair trade products in our bathrooms and are glad you appreciated this high quality choice.

We would be delighted to welcome you back as guests at your next planned trip to Vienna and remain

with kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boeblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

One of my recent business assignments led me a couple of times to Vienna. The Hotel am Stephansplatz was always my first choice for accommodation, for it is perfectly situated in the center of the city.
The rooms have been renovated only recently and are sufficiently dimensioned. The rooms of the category one level above basic, offer a separate bath tub and shower cabin. The design is unostentatious, all materials convey a sense of value. The hotel offers a gym facility, though I never used it. Located on the first floor is a bar, which during Mornings, serves as the breakfast room. Said room is the real highlight of the Hotel. With a glass wall facing Stephansplatz and the Dome, one can have breakfast, enjoying the impeccable view to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe. This said, breakfast buffet offers a great variety, the local bread and rolls are always fresh and tasty. The staff is very friendly and helpful, which can be said without any exception for the entire staff of the Hotel. I advise to book early, as the Hotel is well demanded and the fact that Vienna is one of Europe's hot spots for congresses and fairs does not improve the capacity situation either, no availability of rooms is not an uncommon situation, unfortunately even for frequent patrons. Though, apart from this rather Vienna-typical booking issue, the Hotel is a clear recommendation.

Room Tip: Opt for a room situated, facing the dome. If available, try to get one on the 12th floor, it comes w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.

We are thrilled by your kind words and recommendation to other travellers. We are happy that we could make your stay a comfortable one and that you enjoyed the privileges of our private hotel in the heart of Vienna.

We look forward to your next visit to Vienna and remain

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a fabulous location. The staff were fantastic. The rooms were great. The beds very comfortable and the pillows amazing. The price was also excellent for a city-centre hotel. So what were the problems?
We stayed 4 nights. The "view" from the first room we were given was a brick wall, other windows and a metal railing and gantry. Simply awful and claustrophobic! We were in there 2 nights and I was going crazy. To be fair we were given a free upgrade to a room with a fantastic view of St Stephans - and a shower that leaked so badly it flooded the whole bathroom!
I also thought that breakfast was chaotic. Eggs and other hot food was not replenished quickly and food ordered took ages. However, the food was good.
My usual test is asking myself would I go back. The answer in this case is yes, but I am not sure we will go back to Vienna.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room, as opposed to an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kas647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your kind feedback!

We appreciate your open words and input on improvements for our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your days in Vienna.

We hope you took home lovely memories of our city and would be happy to welcome you back as guests in the heart of Vienna.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in a Superior Double Room with Cathedral view and just to wake-up in the morning and look out the window to see the ornate Spire and magical roof of St.Stephans Cathedral ,only a matter of 30 meters away,made staying at this Hotel worthwhile.
The Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room had air conditioning which was just as well as it was mid-20'sC when we were there.It had a bar fridge but no Iron or Tea/Coffee making facilities. The buffet breakfast had all you could possibly need for a hearty start to the day,particularly good were the cold meats and cheese.
Being so central we could keep coming back during the day to rest and recuperate before venturing out again. The quirky Sculptures and pieces of "Art" around the Hotel were not to our taste but that's very subjective. We loved the Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would choose a room facing the Cathedral. It's not noisy as the windows are triple insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your feedback and sharing your impressions with other Vienna travellers.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were satisfied with our service.
Due to law hotels in the first district are not allowed to have irons in the guest rooms. We offer a exterior wash and ironing service at our hotel.

Glad you enjoyed our breakfast range - we try to keep it versatile and seasonal for our guests.

We hope you had a safe trip home and would be happy to welcome you back at our hotel.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The location is unbeatable! Located right in the thick of it. You can easily walk to any site , take the underground, which is located in front of hotel, or grab a taxi. The staff is very pleasant. Food is good with great selections. Not cheap. But you get what you pay for. This hotel is very worth the money, if you can afford it. Air conditioning is provided and you set the cooling. It was important for us because we had a record heat wave of 39C when we arrived! You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay the extra money for a church view because you are already right there! Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KatherineMVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

Our team is in heaven with such a lovely feedback. We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay and that we could convince you of our friendly service.

We hope you had a safe trip home and remain

with kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#7 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing