We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I knew it was going to be good because of all the great reviews on tripadvisor but it was even better than i expected. The photos do not do the rooms justice. The location could not have been better, the rooms were huge, modern and clean with an amazing view. And the breakfast.... i would just go back for the breakfast.. It was amazing... You would be silly not to stay here..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMcClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your positive feedback!

We are delighted to read that you were fully satisfied and well serviced. These reviews let us keep on track and try our best every day.

We hope to welcome you back in the centre of Vienna.

Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,521
    390
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
377
977
151
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

What could I say?! It's opposite to the St. Stephen's Church!!!!!!! It explains it all!
Anyway, despite being centrally located, it's really quiet inside the hotel, breakfast is nice, with view over St.Stephen's. There is freshly squeezed orange juice, which I first encountered outside hotels in Southeast Asia.
Rooms are very clean, staff are reasonably helpful.
One main problem is the bed, it's really small and the duvet is really small, merely enough to cover myself, considering myself being UK size 8-10 only.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A wonderful experience. The hotel was right in front of St Stephen cathedral and is at the crossroads of several pedestrian walkways. Subway station (U bahn) is around the corner from the hotel's entrance. Breakfast was also great and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatajelud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

1. Very convenience. It's just right at the exit of the Stephansplatz metro station.The metro station is the interchange between 2 Metro lines U1 and U3, 5-6 stops from West Bahnhof (Train station) and 2 stops to Wien Mitte ( further Train to Airport).

2. The hotel is central. All the must-see attractions are in walking distance from 3-15 minutes by walk. Brand names and shopping are around the area as well.

3. The hotel is very clean and lively. The room looks new. Nice coffee shop where you can take breakfast in the morning as well. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

4. It's worth to pay a little bit more for getting a bigger room and getting the room facing the Church.

5. The hotel is totally in non smoking property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We are just reaching the end of a four-night stay over Christmas. We couldn't have asked for more on our first trip to this beautiful city (even in cold rain and mist). Friendly, helpful staff organised an affordable pick-up service from the airport, and Christmas dinner at a really good local restaurant. There is a big bath to revive in at the end of active days and the quality of the breakfast beats anything we've had so far, and keeps you going until dinner! Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but apart from that, the comfort and perfect location have made our stay great value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bronlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel was right in front of St Stephen.
We had 2 rooms - a family room on the 4th floor and a suite (due to a free upgrade) on the 7th floor. The 7th floor suite faces St Stephen and had a large balcony with wonderful views.
Breakfast was also great, where you can actually order eggs (omelette, sunny side, etc) and even an orange press for fresh juice.
The bathroom floor was heated and the kids loved that in the cold weather.
A wonderful experience for the family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TehTorng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Absolutely perfect location in the center of Vienna. The hotel is in front of St. Stephansplatz cathedral and is at the crossroads of several pedestrian walkways including the Graben, Kartnerstrasse with elegant shops, and a short walk from Kohlmarkt. The Ubahn subway station is around the corner from the hotel's entrance, but you can easily walk everywhere within the Innere Stadt old section of the city.

The hotel itself if small, contemporary and artistic. It felt new & had a feng shui feel to it. They even smudge the rooms with sage sticks from time to time & keep the positive energies flowing. We stayed in a Superior room which was super clean with hardwood floors, flat screen TV, floor to ceiling windows that open to face St. Stephans cathedral, fluffy duvets, heated towel rack in bathroom, separate glass enclosed shower and deep bathtub, and more. The amenities include bathrobes, slippers, hair dryer, mini-bar and nice shampoos/bath salts/shower gels. An added bonus is that the hotel uses filtered water which tastes divine (like Evian) so you can safely drink great-tasting, healthy water from the tap and save on buying bottled water.

Breakfast is included and is served in a lovely breakfast area with one wall of windows facing the cathedral. The breakfast is buffet-style with table service for coffee, tea and made-to-order items like omelets, pancakes, etc.

There is a small gym with equipment adjacent to the amazing sauna! In the sauna area, there is a relaxation room decorated in soft orange colors, showers and a changing area. The sauna was a life-saver after walking all day in the winter. A perfect way to end the day!

Staff was friendly and helpful. I can't say enough great things about this hotel & would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Very pleased with the Superior room. Book early & pre-pay (non-refundable) for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
751 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
2,034 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing