We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun/ informative stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good fun/ informative stay”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Last month we (2 couples) stayed at this hotel. It is modern, well appointed and very comfortable, with very friendly and welcoming staff, which makes all the difference. The best was Allan Knauter on reception: he went out of his way to be helpful. The hotel does a great breakfast (important for us Brits!). It is very central so you can walk everywhere...no cars or taxis required. Vienna is a fantastic city with an amazing history. Get there soon! Max Stewart.

Room Tip: Good rooms over looking the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,591
    405
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
400
1,016
153
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location was the one huge advantage od the hotel . Pretty cosy rooms. I spent there 2 nights but I did not find anything special in the service or offer that will differentiate hotel vs others. Room was enough big, window view on catedral and Stephenplaz. Nice view but quite laudly. In front of window the entrance to subway. Average bathroom. Clean room. No free water but free wifi. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarsawExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephansplatz, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests

we appreciate that you took some time and informed us on your good as well as your (sadly) bad experiences in our hotel.

It is very important for us to read guest reviews, as we take these very serious and see it as chance to keep up quality standards as well as improvements.

We are looking forward to see you again in Vienna sometime.

With best regards,
Angelina Eggl,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

An excellent hotel- in very centre of Vienna,U Bahn station a few yards away.Hotel very clean,friendly and helpful staff.We stayed in room 306,direct unobstructed view across to the cathedral. Wonderful base for exploring Vienna. Highly recommended.Breakfast buffet superb-good selection of hot and cold foot. Excellent coffee.

Room Tip: Room 306 -direct unobstructed view across to the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richardfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I can recommend this hotel, it is just on the front of Dom. We had a corner apartma with two rooms on the 6th floor, I appreciated comfortable beds and big the bathroom with deep bathtube and with separate shower. Our breakfast was served in the restaurant on the 1st floor and with view at the Cathedral - nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect location; bar/breakfast area looks straight out on to the front of the cathedral, most sites are within easy walking distance and an underground station is right outside the door. The room was well equipped and very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. Our only complaint relates to the price of drinks in the bar. We thought we'd have a drink there before going out one evening. Had previously had beer; don't remember the price but it wasn't exorbitant. On this occasion arrived intending to have a cocktail, but found no staff around and no menus on the tables. The barman appeared after about 5 minutes and produced menus from behind the bar, but we were already getting bored of waiting and ordered two (single) gin and tonics without bothering to look. We were then truly horrified to be charged E19.00. We could have got the same for half the price at any one of dozens of bars within a couple of hundred yards. A pity, as it slightly soured what would otherwise have been an almost perfect city hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephansplatz, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some time and informed us on your good as well as your (sadly) bad experiences in our hotel.

It is very important for us to read guest reviews, as we take these very serious and see it as chance to keep up quality standards as well as improvements.

As for your disappointment during the happy hour time we will have a meeting with the responsible staff to train them to do better in the future. This is something we will certainly work on. We hope you accept our apologize.

We are looking forward to see you again in Vienna sometime.

With best regards,
Angelina Eggl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in early October. It was a wonderful hotel. The location is right in the center of things with the cathedral across the street and public transportation very nearby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant recommendations were outstanding. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite which had a bath and a half, living rm, bedroom and two balconies. It was definiely big enough for 2 couples or a small family. The room was spotless and bathrooms had plenty of storage space. The breakfast buffet was delicious and never seemed overly crowded. This is a wonderful hotel because of the friendly and helpful staff, unbeatable location, great breakfast and nice rooms

Room Tip: Choose a room with a cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank formerstew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephansplatz, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests.

thanks a lot for your delightful feedback. We are very thankful that you took some time to inform us about the impressions und experiences which made your superior during her stay with us.
Of course I will inform my employees about your pleasant remarks.

We are looking forward to wellcome you again in our hotel,
Angelina Eggl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hotel Am Stephansplatz have the finest staff. Rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is superb. AND the location to sites and metro cannot be beat.
The front desk staff are 24/7 and the front doors are locked late at night but with a door bell and immediate service.
Sercurity/Front Desk staff definitely keep an eye on who uses the elevators.

Room Tip: Actually no pool, but who cares with the city right out the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,067 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,408 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 360 in Vienna
2,233 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing