We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in an unbeatable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an unbeatable location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in September of 2012; we thought the hotel was great, as is its central location.The U-Bahn is just steps from the hotel, and in addition you can walk to all central points of interest in Vienna very easily.The Opera, for example, is just a 10-minute walk away, something I had not appreciated when looking at a map of Vienna before the trip.We made a point of asking for a top-floor room facing the Cathedral and were glad we did.The room we had (704) was very spacious, with a great bathroom.This not only had a bathtub with shower, but a separate shower cubicle, so in fact it had two showers, most unusual; the WC was completely separate.The room has a good-sized balcony overlooking the Cathedral, and yet is very quiet, the thick glazing (probably at least triple) keeping out all external noise.The buffet breakfast is plentiful, with great choices.I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We loved our room (704); I would certainly select this hotel and that top-floor room facing the Cath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    390
    48
    7
    8
See reviews for
378
980
151
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here in sept. for 5 nights and this is no way a 4 star - doesn't even have a kettle or iron in the room one english cnn channel rubbish pillows unfriendly receptionist when asking for a kettle toilletries they provide very poor only hot buffet food in the mornings were scrambled eggs but the later you ate tat breakfast time the sausages would appear would never stay here again in a million years only good thing is location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonamadLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephansplatz, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear BarcelonamadLizzie,

we appreciate that you took some time and informed us on your (sadly bad) experiences.

It is very important for us to read guest reviews, as we take these very serious and see it as chance to keep up quality standards as well as improvements.

Regarding your comment on missing kettle or iron – yes that is right. Kindly note that it is prohibited by law to use electric appliances of your own (water boiler, immersion heater) heating and warm keeping appliances, iron etc. Due to safety reasons all our rooms are not equipped with heating devices. However we are always willing to serve hot water in the room upon request.

As for your disappointment at breakfast time we would like to advise that all egg dishes can be ordered fresh à la Carte without any surcharge. We are sorry that you were not informed on this service. We will make sure to inform guests better on this breakfast offer.

As for your sleep comfort we regret that you did not find our pillows satisfying. We have special mattresses with newly developed breathable, moisture-foam that offer special body support combined with allergic free bedclothes.

Reading your review we realised that most of the critic points could have been removed during your stay. We are really sorry for not being attentive and helpful enough. This is something we will certainly work on.

With best regards from Vienna,
Angelina Eggl, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

After 5 days in Paris, got in Vienna this Feb ,stayed 3 days in this hotel.Great location and view in some special rooms in the front of the platz like mine.Easily reached by Metro from the airport.
The room was very Clean.But i think they could be better in service .A little boring atmosphere specially if you are traveling alone .I cant say its just a matter about the hotel, you feel like that all in Vienna in winter

Room Tip: Consider the exceptional view of the platz in some special rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foroutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in a superior room overlooking the cathedral. The room was spotlessly clean and spacious – I have never seen a bathroom with such gleaming taps and shower screen! The only drawback with our room was it was very noisy at night from people shouting in the square below – Not the hotel’s fault, but something that should be weighed up when choosing a room (view or peace & quiet). The only other slight negatives during our stay were that the shower wasn’t very powerful and it leaked very badly onto the bathroom floor during use. Also we came back early on the Saturday night wanting to have a drink in the hotel bar but were turned away due to a private function – the member of staff was apologetic and said he could serve us drinks in the lounge, but this area is not very pleasant being small, smoky and without windows/a view and lacking atmosphere so we declined and went elsewhere. Having said that I would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The room was clean, the breakfast excellent, the service indifferent, but nothing matters if you get a room on a higher floor, facing the cathedral. Magical is the only word that I can use.

As stated, the room was immaculate and the bathroom large and luxurious.

The breakfast was excellent, with fresh squeezed orange juice and lots of choice. The scrambled eggs were actually not bad. Not good, but not bad. The view from the breakfast room, that is also the bar, is great. After a day of serious tourist exertions, sitting at a window table and having an excellent beer is a wonderful experience.

The service from the front desk staff is very inconsistent. It ranged from one pleasant person, to one rude and dismissive person. Very odd. They seem incapable of assisting with even the simplest request, like extra towels, and be really cautious about believing their directions. The location is so ideal, that you will likely not need many directions.

But who cares if you are on an upper floor, facing the cathedral. You are so close, you can see the expression on the gargoyles' faces. The sounds of the square are delightful, especially if a choir decides to sing. Magical. And when it is time to sleep, close the windows and the shutters and your room is dark and silent.

If you can avoiding dealing with the front desk staff, your experience will be unforgettable.

Room Tip: Upper floor, facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macintosh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Totally central location, unless you're phobic about hordes of tourists, or touts dressed as Mozart trying to drum up business for various concerts. Easy walk to the Opera, Sacher, and the main shopping areas. Close to a stop for the famous horse drawn carriages, hop-on, hop-off buses, Segway city tours, and of course the spectacular Dome, Jewish Museum, many gorgeous churches and the cafes of Vienna. I had a single room, which was modern, functional, and extremely clean. Friendly and efficient reception staff, and a good breakfast buffet with loose leaf teas and an orange press. A car with a charming driver was pre-ordered for us for the return trip to the airport - a comfortable Mercedes only a fraction more expensive than the taxi from the airport into the center.

We did not manage to recoup the cost of the Vienna Card, which is recommended in many of the tourist guides.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel: right beside the Stephansdom, and maybe 10 minutes ambling to the Hofburg and Spanish Riding School. The breakfast room is a little bit small (at least at the 9 a.m. rush), but it offers a lovely panoramic view. Staff were friendly, fluent in English, and very helpful. This is certainly the first place we'll check the next time we're coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, as they seem to click loudly every time they start moving, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulB106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing