We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn was an easy walk from public transportation, clean and quite comfortable. Our room overlooked the courtyard so it was very quiet. AC in room 800 worked splendidly. The check in and out process went smoothly and staff were helpful. Some good restaurants around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tekko1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    449
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
374
82
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

As a small business hotel located in the centre of Vienna this Holiday Inn receives excellent marks from me. Reasons why? See below:

- Friendly staff in reception, bar - very helpful.
- Smartly designed rooms which work, even if they are on the small side. Comfortable, and functional. Clean, with minibars well stocked.
- Location is excellent, very close to all sights.

I liked this small business hotel, better than your average holiday inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mijansso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We found the Vienna City to live up to the majority of the previous reviews on this site. The hotel is quite small but beautifully decorated in a modern style, almost boutique, and to quite a high standard. We were there during the August heatwave (3rd-8th) and the air-con managed quite well. We left our second key-card in the electricity slot in the room before going out for the day hoping it would be left in by the chamber maid and it was thank heavens. We were in the main part of the hotel - there are only 6 rooms per floor up to the 6/7th floor - overlooking the main road and found very little intrusion from traffic noise. The hotel offers a variety of pillow types, e.g. soft, medium, firm, synthetic, feather etc. and were delivered to the room within minutes of being requested. One negative concerns the wardrobe; hangers are provided but they fit into a grooved bar and there is no way to suspend ones own hangers over this bar which is fitted flush with the ceiling of the wardrobe so additional hangers have to be hung off the hangers.
The courtyard/garden area was delightful despite the intense heat. We had breakfast at the hotel on our first and last mornings and while the room is quite small we had no problem getting a table (for two) and the range and quality of food was extremely good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. On the other days we breakfasted in a couple of nearby cafes of which there are plenty, indeed there is a little cafe directly opposite the hotel (it only opens at 9 o'clock so if you want an earlier start there is one just a minutes stroll to the left as you leave the hotel which opens earlier).
The staff are really friendly and speak good English, although some of the desk staff weren't as accurate with their visitor help as they might be.
The nearest underground is as described by other reviewers only a 5 minute walk away and the trains are frequent so getting into the old part of Vienna takes no time.
Some earlier reviews give conflicting accounts of the wifi facilities and it does appear some require payment but there is a free option which worked okay for us.
All in all a great hotel which I can readily recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 503 which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebeltebels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casatenovo, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
225 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Holiday Inn confirms being one my favourite Hotel chain and this hotel in Vienna is not an exception. Perfect location, very close to city downtown: in bit more than 10 minutes walking you can reach Augustina Platz. Garage is not too big but the rate for car parking is reasonable: 17 euro per day. Breakfast is expensive but it is normal for this kind of hotels and it is not a major issue, for sure not in this city.
Considering the location, room is not too small and the bathroom as well, having a window to outer space, not common and highly appreciated.
Appreciated as well the availability of complimentary coffee and tee (chocolate as well) inside the room thanks to a water boiler.
Internet is free for first hour, better than nothing and the quality of Wifi signal available inside the room is fair.
I have been here not for job but for pleasure and, all in all. the opinion on this hotel is quite good for both purposes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Custanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is very good hotel fully compliant with Holiday Inn standard. Good location (5 minutes to the metro station, around 10 minutes by foot to very center of the city). Newly furnished with most of the standard amenities, adequately spacious rooms, very helpful and decent staff. Extremely clean and quite. I would surely recommend this hotel anyone who is looking for moderately priced good quality hotel near the city center of Vienna. Thank you, again, Holiday Inn for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jejky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I totally agree with the previous comment made by 0033CC. They security deposit policy is redicilous and makes you feel you are a hostage, not a guest at the hotel. We also still wait for the refund to be made.
I also didn't like the receptionists - all three were cold and didn't even smile. My husband is a member of their Priority Club - they didn't mention it all, although I understood earlier that there is a kind of hotel policy about it. One of the receptionists also offered us to park outside and to repark every two hrs as if we came to Vienna to sit in our car instead of enjoying the sightseeing. She evenutally gave us a parking place in the hotel garage, but I couldn't help myslef feeling it was unwilling from her side.
We also had a problem with our room card. It was too old and scrached so we couldn't eneter our room twice in two days untill they changed it.
The location was good.
The breakfast too expensive and not that diverse.
The internet too slow and chargeable.

We (a family of four) left the hotel really disappointed. The worst hotel we stayed on our three weeks long trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OdohVideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiLienz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear OdohVideh,
Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused.
As far as the security deposit is concerned it is a global standard for hotels to pull an authorization including extras. The amount we authorize is not different from most other hotels. At check-out we automatically delete the authorization via the systems and in addition we call our provider to speed up the process. This is the maximum we can do. After this we cannot influence the process anymore as it is up to the client’s bank. It is a pity that some banks need a lot of time.
I will also make sure that we check our key cards to eliminate any worn cards which may have been overseen during our regular checks.
Our basic internet access (suitable for emails, skype and regular surfing) is free of charge and can be renewed every 59 minutes.
Concerning the breakfast I am firmly convinced that our offer is good if you like to have an extensive breakfast. We have compared the costs with other hotels as well as popular coffee houses in Vienna. Our buffet offers a large variety and the possibility to refill your plates more than once. However if you only want to have a cup of coffee and piece of bread it is certainly cheaper to get it at a bakery nearby.
It surprised me though to hear that you perceived our staff members at the front desk as not friendly as I hear so many positive feedbacks about friendliness. I will discuss this with them to make sure that we do everything possible from our side to prevent this from happening again.
Dear guest, I feel sorry that we were not able to see you leave our property with a positive impression. I would very much like to convince you to have another try and please contact me personally in advance so that I can make sure that all goes well. I know we can take care of you in a better way.
Thank you very much and best regards,
Andrej Wimmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night a couple of weeks ago. The room was clean and the A/C worked (though not as cool as I would have liked). The staff and service was good. The breakfast is way overpriced..but other then that, I would highly recommend staying here.

It is walking distance to the museums, markets, subway, shops, etc. I loved the neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florinedemosthene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing