We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel - Great service & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Modern hotel - Great service & breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Excellent hotel. At walking distance from Vienna's Opernhouse. Nice room, modern, clean and large. Excellent service, and superior breakfast. I would recommend it for sure.

  • Liked — Service, Clean Rooms, Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joe42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    455
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
235
377
82
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

This Holiday Inn was very clean and the staff was excellent and very helpful.
There a number of nice places to eat right near the hotel.
It is about a 15 minute walk to the center of the tourist attractions.
The Ubahn station is about 5 minutes walk.

Helpful?
Thank John73D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
111 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

Stayed one night on a business trip in this hotel. It is located not far away from the town center of Vienna (~20 minutes by feet).
Rooms are standard ones, maybe a little bit small compared to other hotels of this category.
Breakfast is served in a room on the ground floor ; there is a small meeting area near the lobby.
Staff is friendly and serviceable (accepted to keep my luggages for free in their safe during the day after I quit the hotel so that I did not have to carry them all around).
So not an exceptional location, but no bad surprises to expect.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tarik80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

My husband I just got back from staying 3 night at Holiday Inn in Vienna City. The hotel is about 10 minute walk to the state opera house. At first I was disappointed that the hotel was not closer to the center of the city but it turned out to be better. The streets were quiet so we were able to take a nap (jet-lag) during the day and sleep through the night.

We had breakfast at the hotel every morning and even though the menu didn't change, there were enough varieties to eat different food every morning. The hotel also has a little garden in the middle of the complex. It was a nice area to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee.

There are also many local pubs, restaurants and supermarkets within 3-4 block radius of the hotel. This was very convenient because the prices of food was cheaper near the hotel than the city center. For example, 1.5 liter water bottle was 0.45 euros in the supermarket whereas the same bottle of water was 2.50 euros in the city center. We had a nice dinner on our last night at the italian restaurant (Margarete) 3 blocks downs. Their seafood spaghetti was sooooo good.

We took the metro to the hotel and after getting pointed in the right direction, it was only 2-3 blocks to the hotel (depending on the street you choose to walk on). The closest metro station (Kenttenbruckengasse) is also the start of the Naschmarkt, Vienna's biggest, most colorful market. It runs from Kettenbruckengasse station to Karlsplatz station.

There are only few minor things that were we didn't like about the hotel. (1) We booked a twin room and the staff was able to push the beds together however, the beds were pushed apart and separated by the middle of the night. (2) The maid service came knocking on our door every morning at 8:30 am - one morning we were trying to sleep in (due to jet-lag) but were unable to after they came in. (3) The room we got was so small - I think the bathroom was half the size of the room (I may be exaggerating a bit). Most importantly, remember to bring your own shampoo and conditioner.

Overall, I would go back there again if we ever go back to Vienna.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeyMitDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

Pros:
1. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. For English speakers, they are fluent and have no problem assisting you.

2. The hotel rooms and bathrooms are clean and beautiful.

3. The location is great - just two blocks from the Naschtmarket, and about a 5 minute walk to the Belvedere Palace, and another 5 minutes to Karlsplatz.

Cons:
1. The windows are extremely thin. This caused a problem because our room faced the main street, which has a pub across the way. Numerous nights were wakened by singing and yelling drunks. Early in the morning we were wakened by honking and screeching traffic. We got very little sleep because of this.

2. There is no thermostat control for the rooms. We could only open one window and at that - it would only crack open 2-3 inches. They had put a security lock on it, so that it wouldn't open all the way. The room got rather stuffy.

3. The breakfast buffet is way overpriced - 15 Euros a person per day. We did not get it. Instead, we walk about 5 minutes to Orange Blue - a bagel place that severed breakfast and lunch sandwiches with great coffee for a fraction of the price.

Overall Opinion:
To be fair, this hotel is a beautiful, clean, up-to-date, place to stay in the city. It's got great location and very helpful/friendly staff. However, we were unfortunate to get a room that faced the main street, which caused us to lose sleep every night we were there. And the main reason for us to stay in a hotel is to get a good night's sleep. So, I would recommend this hotel ONLY if you request a room that doesn't face the main street. Make sure you request a room that is quiet.

  • Liked — The helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Paper thin windows that let in too much street noise.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

In between two weeks working abroad I stayed here.
The location quite good, about 20 mins walk from the Ring. The hotel looks as if a shop or house has been pulled down and the hotel squeezed in. It is very new and clean, though the rooms have no shelves or drawers for storage, only a walk-in cupboard to hang things in. What's happened is they've used the cupboard for a minibar to increase sales, and put a tea tray and kettle on the shelf underneath.

The tray turned into a problem: the kettle was plugged into the back of the cupboard, so you had to pull the tray forward to get it out and fill it. You had to boil it in the cupboard. I was making hot chocolate, and was pouring the boiling water into the mug on the front of the tray when the tray overbalanced, the mug and chocolate going all over the floor, and the tray hitting the kettle and making me pour boiling water all over my left hand. Luckily I got it under cold water fast enough and haven't any lasting damage. I don't know whether this was el cheapo room which made the installation stupid. Reception immediately got a burn spray out and the manager sent up a bottle of qualitatswein after he spoke to me about it. (Is that good or average for Austria: do they have AOC/DOC?)
Room service did a good job of cleaning up the carpet the next day though.
There aren't any facilities here, eg fitness room or pool, but they have a discount arrangement with a local fitness centre: 15 eur instead of 19. Still not cheap for a daily swim.
Breakfast had quite a good selection, but hot food not very nice and not cheap. I ate elsewhere after that.

Would stay there again if needed, but I think there are better deals around.

  • Liked — Nice and clean, good location for the price
  • Disliked — storage for clothes and facilties
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

This nice 6 story hotel is in a relatively quiet area an easy 3 block walk to the subway. All attractions were easy to reach. We did not eat in the hotel, but it was easy to find spots for lunch and supper nearby. We grabbed breakfast rolls in the grocery store a block down. We liked the in-room electric teapot for hot chocolate after sightseeing in the snow. A good value for the winter holiday week.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Only one pillow
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing