We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Nearby Hotels
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$131
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$372
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna(Vienna)
$583
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,179 results
Traveler rating
494
527
119
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
527
119
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomminute walkhotel is locatedwalking distanceopera housefamily roomquiet locationbreakfast buffet isbusiness tripmetro stationvery nice hotelschonbrunn palacerooms are smallmini baru bahnyogurtnaschmarkt
Filter
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 1,179 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May. We had the garden view rooms. The rooms were nice and clean. Above all, the service was one of the best we have experienced to date. Marina, Frederide and Julia were excellent. The entire staff at the hotel including the team in the restaurant and breakfast room were very good. They were all very pleasant, helpful and customer oriented. They made our stay extremely pleasant and enjoyable. Thank you to the entire team at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the garden view room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rc6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The good: The hotel was clean, the room spacious and the staff are charming and helpful.

The bad: Holiday Inn charged nearly €6,000 on my card for a €2,000 stay.

I'm not new to hotel deposits but this is an obscene amount. Initially they took a deposit equal to the value of the stay plus €600. Then a few nights later when I ordered an €8 bowl of pasta they deducted a further €1,100 for good measure. Neither deposit was authorised by me and only detected when my card was rejected at a down town restaurant.

At this point I said enough was enough. The Holiday Inn staff were apologetic and agreed to refund the deposits if I paid for the room in full, ahead of check-out. However this payment went out as another charge, rather than a deduction from the deposit. So at this point the charges to my card was €3,700 in various deposits plus €2,000 for the stay.

Contrary to other comments here on Trip Advisor WiFi is not free. It is charged at €6 an hour or €18 a day. Of all the things to do in Vienna with €216 Euros, paying for hotel WiFi should not be in the top ten. Instead get a 3G SIM card from Drei on nearby Mariahilfer Straße for €15 (10GB) and plug into you tablet or get a USB stick for your laptop.

So in conclusion - lovely hotel, but my Vienna trip took a slight downer by The Holiday Inn taking every cent I had.

Now a week later - still waiting for the refund of the initial deposit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0033CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear 0033CC,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the billing policies of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Holiday Inn, Vienna City is a cozy hotel, slightly away from the hustle & bustle of the city centre. A small, unpretentious entrance & a amll lobby. Rooms are clean, well appointed with decent washrooms. clean linen. The restaurant on ground floor serves good, sumptuous breakfast, as also items & lunch and dinner. What takes the cake is the attentive, extremely helpful staff. The front-desk staff is knowledgeable. The U4 metro is reasonably close by, which can take you to the fabulous Schonbrunne Palace & city centre. A small courtyard adds to the charm of this hotel.
Will definitely stay here if I visit the city again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAUSTUBH V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a very good hotel, all departments that I had contact with were very efficient, especially the front desk. I was on a four-night business trip and was very pleased. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the nearest Metro, which could be a nuisance to some people, but didn't give me any problem. There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area.

Room Tip: I'm a Platinum Priority Club member, which helps with room upgrades.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May 2013.

Got a very warm welcome from the receptionist who very helpfully supplied lots of Information - maps etc. very much appreciated the room upgrade and the free wifi.

The room was large, with lots of seating space and very clean.

The Hotel situated not far from the City Centre - 5 mins walk to nearest underground station then only a couple of stops from there.

Breakfast was standard for Holiday Inn but one regret - no mushrooms!

A very big plus for this Hotel is the staff - every member of staff we encountered couldn'd have been more helpful (reception, restaurant & bar) and nothing was a bother to them.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews