We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and clean place”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel close to the city. The rooms are small, but very clean. Bathroom has everything you need. Breakfast wasn't included and very expensive, another reason to visit the famous cafes in vienna. We would go there again and can recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    460
    111
    23
    15
See reviews for
240
381
83
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed there for three nights.Superb hotel. The receptionist was extremely polite and helpful. The room was great especially when i was travelling with my wife and kid. Slightly away from the opera house and stephenplatz but there were good bus connections. The breakfast was modest and the staff very helpful. Strongly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my first time at this hotel for 4 nights in March. Front staff very helpful with anything you need and restaurant was good, however, I only saw one woman working & I think she was literally doing everything form room service to the dining room and she was great. This location was good if you don't mind about an 8 minute walk to the train and about a 15 minute walk to some sights which to me in a nice walk. They have umbrellas available in the lobby if it is raining. Overall, I can only say that I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,549 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This Hotel is simply Superb! The staff, were just so considerate and friendly, and incredibly helpful, recommending restaurants, the best sights and booking various tours, they are Hospitality Ambassadors for the IHG chain and they have a genuine passion for the needs and comfort of their guests. when we would come in, or asked any question it was all answered with warm smiles. They speak English very well. I felt very welcome, comfortable and there was a great positive vibe.

Our room was Wonderful, large, there not all large but ours was, and very functional and clean. I often say it takes a combination of many things to make a great hotel, well here nearly every box is ticked. There's tea and coffee making facilities, lovely bathroom with Laura Hutton amenities, bar fridge, plenty of hangers and enclosed wardrobes, and spare pillows, with the wonderful Holiday Inn pillow selection you will find the type you like, and if not ring housekeeping and its delivered with a smile. A quite air conditioning keeps every ambient and good sized flat screened tv's. All the staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast staff very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very good. The food from the restaurant and room service were all delicious, and very reasonably priced.

Free WiFi is also available in 1 hour sessions. The really great advantage of this hotel is its location only one underground stop from Karlsplatz which is a real transfer point for the whole of Vienna's transport system. But we walked a few times from the Schöenburg Palace and from the Opera House, they are easy and pleasant walks. Another pleasant walk gets you right into the city centre, we found no need to use the public transport, and it is only a five minutes walk to the Naschmarkt a marvelous outdoor market area with an array of different foods from all over the world, and some nice diverse restaurants that have some very tasty and inexpensive food.

I am a Platinum Ambassador with this Hotels chain loyalty program, and needless to say am very well travelled and have stayed in many of their properties, I rank this amongst the Very Best. I will recommend this to family and friends to get the best experience and highly recommend it for the leisure or business travelers alike, as its rather peaceful to.

This year in June 2013 the Priority Rewards club gets a revamp, a new name and new benefits, with some better reward opportunities and will be called the IHG Rewards Club, so look out for those exciting changes. As an IHG Platinum Elite Ambassador, for ten years, I can recommend this Hotel and the free rewards program.

Room Tip: For the most peaceful rooms request a court yard inner facing, though the outer facing road rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was an adequate and clean hotel with a restaurant. The breakfast for an extra charge was very nice. Room service was okay, don't order the Pizza they have no clue how to make one.

If your a friends of Dorothy person you will like this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatleyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear hatleyde,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pizza selection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The service was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful reception staff.The location was great and within five minutes you are at the nearest train station and within no time you can reach all Viennas tourist attractions. I had a great time in Vienna and would like to say thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinne1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Holiday Inn Vienna City: Margaretenstrasse street is a charming and good to go. Many bars close, I recommend John's pub. Perfectly located. Breakfast is sensational. I traveled to Vienna in March 2012 and was very well attended there. The rooms are great and warm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucasIak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#43 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing