We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent two nights in the Holiday Inn just before Christmas. We arrived in the very early hours of the morning and the night porter, who’s English was excellent, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He even arranged for an alternative room so we could check -in immediately.

Our room was spotlessly clean and more spacious than expected.

There were enough breakfast options to ensure a choice for all. The staff are very courteous and helpful with an excellent command of English.

The hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the impressive Nacht Market (which is well worth a visit) and about a 20 minute walk into the city and shopping centre.

The Viennese Christmas atmosphere generated by the music, decorations and a sprinkling of snow was fabulous but be aware it's very cold at around -10C!!

This was our first visit to Vienna and overall we were very impressed with both Vienna itself and the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    471
    112
    23
    15
See reviews for
243
387
83
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice renovated hotel

Negative sides:
- a little bit outside out of the Ring, but just 2 stations from StefanPlatz . you need to walk 10 min to the nearest Ubahn station
- internet was free for 1h, with limited data cap. after you have to reconnect
- my room was not really 100% noise proof and the cleaning staff, activating from 8am, was noticable. i wake up early but could have bothered me
- area perfectly safe but somewhat dead at night apart one pub near

Price paid , by prepayment : 90 eur

Positive side
- they recongnized the platinum status with an upgraded room which was nice
- the receptionist was good and efficient even not overly warm. the Austrian way so
- Breakfast: did not take it , but seemed plenty. the usual fare


All in all , very standard for an holiday inn in Central europe!
did the job, but iam not sure i would come back, whatever in business or solo

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisBebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador de Jujuy, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Spent 5 nights there. Comfortable place. Breakfast is pretty varied and the room was clean every evening when I got back. I've had a nice time there. ;) The only thing that I didn't like and could not believe was that there was not wireless service :(. I didn't need to use it, of course. But I would have liked visiting my facebook and twitter...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall stars - 4 of 5

Hotel staff - 4 of 5
Restaurant staff - did not use
Room service staff - did not use, they charge for bucket of ice
Housekeeping staff - 4 of 5
Room - 4 of 5

Bed comfortable rating - 4 out of 5,.

Room size – medium (upgraded due to Priority Club platinum member)

Restaurant / breakfast - did not use

WIFI - did not use, chargeable

Location - 1 or 2 blocks from Kettenbruckengasse metro (Kettenbruckengasse metro is right next to Naschmarkt which has plenty of food and dining and some gourmet shopping). Plenty of restaurants outside the hotel, also 2 Billa supermarkets (1 at hotel's exit to the left and 1 near the metro) around.

Attractions / Sights - Easy to take metro to Schönbrunn Palace and to Innere Stadt and get around to other places.

Free shuttle - no

Spa - no
Room Tip - ask for courtyard room is you can

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room if you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, AR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for two days on this hotel which is very close to the Opera House and the main Vienna Commercial Street. It has very good communication with Wien-Meidling Train Station as you can take bus 59A from the Station and leaves you at two blocks from the hotel. You can also take the same bus to go to the opera house or just walk. It has a good breakfast that you can opt to take at a price of 15 Euros. The only drawback is that when you ask for a king bed you get to small beds joined. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel as we booked a superior room with a 'seperate' bedroom for our 2 kids. The room was not very large, but is was very clean with good beds and everything you needed was available... We had a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a nice location and the hotel is quiet comfortable. The rooms are small but the designers did a great job in having every thing you need within this space. The staff is nice and helpful.
In the surrounding area you can find nice restaurants for nice dinners and so on. You can book the hotel room without breakfast and try the verity offered in the neighbourhood. next to the train station there is the "Cortez" caffè and restaurants that offers large portions for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: you can book without breakfast and add it later on for 15 Euro (per person) later on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#45 of 360 in Vienna
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing