We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #57 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location, very close to Naschmarkt and max 10 min walking distance to the subway station. Got a room with inner yard view so it was very quiet and without any traffic noise. Room was very big with an additional seating area completely separated from the bed area which is a very nice idea. The room was very clean and there was enough natural light coming through the windows that can be opened. WIFI worked fine and there are 2 LCD TV's in the room.
The hallways and lobby look a bit outdated but who cares as long as the room is more than okay... :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper level, facing the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Holiday Inn Vienna City is located just outside the ring road making it a good location to get to all the local attractions. You also get Holiday Inn points if you are a Priority Club Member. The neighborhood has some shops, several grocery stores, an ATM and lots of different types of restaurants very near by. We stayed in the least expensive room which had two comfortable twin beds, included breakfast and was non-smoking. Although the room was small it was immaculately clean and quite comfortable. The pillows were kind of flat but that wasn't a big deal, just folded them in half. We had everything we needed including a small refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, and tourist and weather info. (in English) on the TV. Two stations, BBC and CNN were in English. The bathroom was a shower/tub combination with nice amenities. In additional to the usual soap which was liquid in a dispenser there was a little box that contained a sewing kit, nail file, cotton balls, shower cap, etc. and it was replenished each day. There was also a powerful hairdryer mounted on the wall. The best part of this hotel was the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Barbara a waitress at the morning buffet always greeted us with a big smile and a pot of coffee. The breakfast buffet was good and contained, cereals, pasties, assorted breads, cold meats & cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted juices and hot items such as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. You were promptly greeted each morning and given your own pot of coffee and tea was also available. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel. We had apple strudel one night and it was yummy. If the weather is nice there is a pretty courtyard in the center of the hotel that the bar area looks out on. Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard garden rather than the street but you may have to pay more. The location was perfect for seeing all the major sights. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Opera House to catch the hop-on-hop-off tour busses and other tour departures. The hotel location was very convenient. We walked to most of the major sights including the Hofburg, Belevdere Palace, Opera House, Tourist Office, and the pedestrian shopping streets. When walking pay attention that you don’t walk in the bike lane. It is really important that you pay attention to where walkers are supposed to walk and where the bike paths are especially at intersections. There are lots of bikers and many ride very fast and you could get hit if you don’t pay attention. The paths are clearly marked. The hotel is located between Kleine Neugasse and Krongasse on Margaretenstrasse. It is a short walk to either the Karlsplatz or Kettenbruckengasse U-Bahn 4 stations. We walked to the Kettenbruckengasse station and 5 stops later we were at the Schonbrunn Palace. Next to the Kettenbruckengasse station is the Naschmarkt with all kinds of food stalls and restaurants. We purchased olives, bread, cheese, olive oil and wine and had that for dinner one night, wonderful. We also ate at a very good casual Italian restaurant in the Naschmarkt called Piccola Italia. The homemade pasta was great. A block away from the hotel heading toward the Opera House is the Blue Lagoon Italian restaurant that was inexpensive with good food. The cute Austrian restaurant directly across the street was charming with good inexpensive food. The hotel will also give you a list of restaurants and shops and some give hotel guests discounts. The only negative of this hotel was there were a couple of steps from the lobby and near the entrance to the rooms. You had to lift your bags up the couple of steps but there was a ramp, very steep, near the entrance to the rooms. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiLienz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time and write such an extensive review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are indeed happy to be able to offer such a wide range of excellent restaurants nearby. Be it the traditional Viennese "Altes Fassl", the "Haas Beisl", "Rudi's Beisl" or the new "Weinschenke" offering food you would not expect once you enter the restaurant leaving you with a pleasant surprise. With the Austrian Gourmet Restaurant "Tancredi", "Entler's" or the Asian Gourmet Restaurant "ON" we have even more (but still not all) options for you to discover. And all of them have one thing in common: good value for money.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon and to eventually make you discover some of the options in our neighbourhood.

Yours sincerely,
Andrej Wimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here whilst attending a conference in Vienna. I didnt really get to use all of the hotel facilities but enjoyed what i did.

Very nice welcome and efficient check in. Nice room with good toiletries.

Hotel is close to a U-Bahn station on U4 and 15 minute walk to Karlplatz (key transport hub).

Would definitely stay again if i ever go back to Vienna.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spend 5 nights at this hotel. The price was OK, but the value was not. First the rooms are stifling hot and if you open the window the noise and smoke from outside was terrible.

It is a smoking hotel and the smell is everywhere. The rooms are small and pillows tiny. Has 3 english news channels.

The U-Bahn is a 10 minute walk and very useful. Taxi stand right outside.

Service was friendly and efficient.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High room with courtyard views to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter-Mckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

within the 4 nights stay in Vienna, holiday inn city hotel was the place to get back after a long day exploring the city.. very comfortable, clean hotel with the a small sized room yet has the intimate atmosphere, its 10 minutes walking to reach the metro station where you can travel where ever you want through the city.. a good breakfast with fresh items. the staff were very helpful and with a very good knowledge of the city's landmarks with the smile on their faces

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Shhaltough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In our 4 night stay we enjoy the very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very nice and clean but little bit small. Breakfast very good and fresh. A small hotel but with the standards of the brand name. The city center is a two stops bus ride (opera, karlsplatz) and the bus stop is on the next block.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMaslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Very comfortable, quiet and air conditioned. Staff are more than helpful and are more than happy to help with whatever your problem is. Not in the main part of town, but the public transport is very good and taxi drivers are very obliging. Breakfast is more than adequate and has many choices to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvester j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#67 of 359 in Vienna
1,192 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#56 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $84 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing